We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelt really bad, but nice views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Derby Florence

Hotel Derby Florence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Derby Florence to your Saves list
Hotel Derby Florence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 35, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #393 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Smelt really bad, but nice views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I stayed three nights in Florence, in this hotel. Apon arriving i found it hard to find. I had to ask at another hotel for directions to the hotel i was staying at!

When i found it, i could bearly fit into the elevator with my backpack, but when i got to the front desk i found i had been upgraded to a nicer room, that was very nice of them.

The staff was very nice, helped me when i needed help. I stayed in room 9 (i think) It was small, but i had a huge bed! very comfortable too. The only real problem i had with the room was the smell, it constantly had a faint smell of bleach... it was bearable and with the window opened it went away. The bathroom however! That smell never went away, i had a private bathroom, with no windows and the smell was unbearable! it smelt like mold, damp and bleach, it was terriable, even with the fan on, i tried to hold my breathe everytime i went to the toilet.

I loved the view from the room, it was completely magificant! the best part of my stay!

I also read about the room top terrence online, and was looking forward to eating breakfast there ever since i booked it, sadly i didnt get to even see it! i was quite disapointed.

I would not go there again. and i wouldnt reconmend to a friend.... there was a few nice things about the hotel, but all up i wasnt pleased with my experince.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    9
    7
    19
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada, spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

We arrived at Hotel Derby with the excitement of the Terrace, too bad for us that it was beat up and not very pretty at all, but the view of the duomo is exceptional. The bedroom was really tiny, so not ideal for a young child who needs space to move. On the other hand once we got into bed the room was nice and warm and cozy. Still, the breakfast the next morning was nothing more than a coffee and a slice of break with jam and some cookies, not exactly a well balanced breakfast. Though the attendant was courteous. When i went to pay they told me they only accepted CASH, frustrated by this because i had to walk outside in the rain to the ATM, they apologized but i was still a little annoyed especially since the man made a comment the first night that he assured us we could pay with credit card, and that it would be no problem.

All in all, i would pay 20 euros more and go somewhere else. This place is very much a backpackers hotel/hostel. The only thing nice or exceptional was the man who cleaned our room was very thorough and sweet.

p.s parking down the street is 26 euros a night. and the cheapest closest one is about a 20 min walk and cost 20 a night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Hotel Derby is definatly a backpackers type place. The building is owned by one person. There are several floors that are hostels and the Hotel Derby is one wing of the 3rd floor. The only difference between it and a hostel is that it has private bathrooms. It is a VERY clean hotel. The rooms had A/C and comfortable beds with clean sheets and towels. The bathroom was spacious for Europe. The lobby is on the 5th floor and that is where you get breakfast and your internet service. It is a very appropriate place for backpakcers and budget travellers. The rooftop terrace had beautiful views of all of Florence and was a greta place to have fun, play games and socialize. We met many people here while we stayed here.
The hotel is near several shops and resturants and is two blocks from the main shopping street. It is maybe 6 blocks from the Duomo and all the sites. We walkeed everywhere while in Florence. It is also in a safe, lively area. Almost all of Florence is very safe and the hotel area made it easy to come back late or go out at night.
Overall a fantastic experience and would recommend and stay again should I find myself in Florence in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

we booked 3 nights at this hotel, we were in florence for a wedding.
However when we arrived i had read about the lift being very small but
did not expect it to be as small as it was you can only fit one person with one bag at at time into it.
We were giving room number 9, when we went in i had being expecting it to be old from the reviews but this room was terriable there was ants walking on the table the toilet seat was cracked and the shower was filty. Iwent to the manger and he gave use a different room.
Room 13 this room was even worse the dirt in the shower was so bad that the door would not slide. When you walk into the room you almost fall over the bed and there is now more space in the room to put your luagage down. when i checked the bed the sheets were perfect white and clean but under them was a dirty off white full of dirty fluff blanket.
At this stage my skin was crawling and my stomach turning i could not stay in this so called 2star hotel even if it was free.
We went back to the manger and canceled our reservation. We still had to pay for one night stay which was better than staying in any of his hotel rooms.
On the up side the staff are nice friendly people.
Rachel Dublin

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

The hotel is very nice! But it's rather old.
It is situated just 5 minutes from railway station and 5 minutes walk from the city center. Great location!
Friendly staff, good breakfast for this price!

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This is not a hotel - This is more like a backpackers hostel ! Admittably the room was large and had aircon (altho was old and noisy ) but the room and the bathroom was soooo disgusting and dirty, The lift is a deathtrap and the breakfast was foul ! We arrived to a line-up of backpacker type travellers lining up to check-in. Front desk were friendly enough and offered free internet in the afternoons. If you are looking for something central and not too flash then this is the place to visit however if you are looking for somewhere clean and comfortable I suggest looking elsewhere !

  • Liked — Air Con
  • Disliked — Dirty Room, Dirty Bathroom, Deathtrap Lift !
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Great for the price...comfortable with airconditioning and free internet access (for 30mins). Has a fabulous roof top terrace with great city views. Staff are fantastic and allow you to take own food and drinks to have on the roof top terrace if you want to save some money and not eat out. Well worth staying for a good price.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Derby Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby Florence

Address: Via Nazionale 35, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Derby Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Derby Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Derby Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.