We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-Great for backpackers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Derby Florence

Save Saved
You added Hotel Derby Florence to your Saves list
Hotel Derby Florence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Derby Florence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 35, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Superior, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great location-Great for backpackers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Hotel Derby is definatly a backpackers type place. The building is owned by one person. There are several floors that are hostels and the Hotel Derby is one wing of the 3rd floor. The only difference between it and a hostel is that it has private bathrooms. It is a VERY clean hotel. The rooms had A/C and comfortable beds with clean sheets and towels. The bathroom was spacious for Europe. The lobby is on the 5th floor and that is where you get breakfast and your internet service. It is a very appropriate place for backpakcers and budget travellers. The rooftop terrace had beautiful views of all of Florence and was a greta place to have fun, play games and socialize. We met many people here while we stayed here.
The hotel is near several shops and resturants and is two blocks from the main shopping street. It is maybe 6 blocks from the Duomo and all the sites. We walkeed everywhere while in Florence. It is also in a safe, lively area. Almost all of Florence is very safe and the hotel area made it easy to come back late or go out at night.
Overall a fantastic experience and would recommend and stay again should I find myself in Florence in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    9
    7
    19
See reviews for
4
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

we booked 3 nights at this hotel, we were in florence for a wedding.
However when we arrived i had read about the lift being very small but
did not expect it to be as small as it was you can only fit one person with one bag at at time into it.
We were giving room number 9, when we went in i had being expecting it to be old from the reviews but this room was terriable there was ants walking on the table the toilet seat was cracked and the shower was filty. Iwent to the manger and he gave use a different room.
Room 13 this room was even worse the dirt in the shower was so bad that the door would not slide. When you walk into the room you almost fall over the bed and there is now more space in the room to put your luagage down. when i checked the bed the sheets were perfect white and clean but under them was a dirty off white full of dirty fluff blanket.
At this stage my skin was crawling and my stomach turning i could not stay in this so called 2star hotel even if it was free.
We went back to the manger and canceled our reservation. We still had to pay for one night stay which was better than staying in any of his hotel rooms.
On the up side the staff are nice friendly people.
Rachel Dublin

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

The hotel is very nice! But it's rather old.
It is situated just 5 minutes from railway station and 5 minutes walk from the city center. Great location!
Friendly staff, good breakfast for this price!

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This is not a hotel - This is more like a backpackers hostel ! Admittably the room was large and had aircon (altho was old and noisy ) but the room and the bathroom was soooo disgusting and dirty, The lift is a deathtrap and the breakfast was foul ! We arrived to a line-up of backpacker type travellers lining up to check-in. Front desk were friendly enough and offered free internet in the afternoons. If you are looking for something central and not too flash then this is the place to visit however if you are looking for somewhere clean and comfortable I suggest looking elsewhere !

  • Liked — Air Con
  • Disliked — Dirty Room, Dirty Bathroom, Deathtrap Lift !
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Great for the price...comfortable with airconditioning and free internet access (for 30mins). Has a fabulous roof top terrace with great city views. Staff are fantastic and allow you to take own food and drinks to have on the roof top terrace if you want to save some money and not eat out. Well worth staying for a good price.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — nil
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This hotel is very comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but unfortunately the hotel is too far from the centre of town .It probably takes approx 1 hour to walk to the centre.
I will stay here again whenever we visit Florence.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Booked this hotel through our local travel agent. Came home and checked Trip advisor and wondered what on earth we were going to get. I did want to change but glad I didn't. The room was nothing like what other reports had said. It was clean and tidy. As it is an old building some of it looks a bit grotty but at the end of the day its only a place to shower and sleep - obviously the owners have taken note of the previous reports. The hotel is not badly situated and the roof garden had spectacular views of the city. Don't go with great expectations and you won't be disappointed, I expected the worst and was quite surprised.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the tiny lift
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Derby Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby Florence

Address: Via Nazionale 35, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Derby Florence 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Derby Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Derby Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.