We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Gallo Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Gallo Palace Hotel to your Saves list
San Gallo Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean & Efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel was immaculately clean and the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was very quiet and that was probably due to the time of year. The hotel is a pleasant fifteen minute walk to the city centre. The hotel could not be faulted and four stars is about a fair reflection. The television channels on offer could possibly offer more to the British as only news channels on a loop were available.We would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    348
    66
    15
    5
See reviews for
101
483
15
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

By far, this was the nicest hotel on our trip--not to say the other were not nice, but this place was away from the noise, close enough to walk to the main tourist area, and close to the hop-on-hop-off bus. Although I consider it close to the train station, and yes, we did walk, I would not recommend walking from the train to the hotel, as the sidewalks are terrible and much crowed. DO TAKE A TAXI--MEN, LISTEN TO YOUR WIFE/BETTER-HALF ON THIS ONE! The rooms are large, beautiful, and clean, relaxing....need I say more. The price was the best of our 4-city visit and the front desk staff was excellent in setting up a day trip for us. Enjoy the breakfast as it is prepared very nicely and the staff make you feel welcomed. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Florence

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights and every day was enjoyable. The front desk staff were incrediable . They were friendly and eager to help with directions and finding us great places to eat. We enjoyed a nightly drink in the bar with the bartender that made us feel at home with snacks and travel tips . The rooms were clean and very comfortable . The hotel is only a 20 minute walk to the tourist sites and the train station. The breakfast was more than we hoped for - you name it and they had it. We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff was wonderful!! Room was large by even American standards. HUGE bathroom. The breakfast was great. The area had a lot of restaurants - go to Da Tito it looks like it is down a dark alley (and it is) but the food was amazing!! Easy to get to attractions. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room in the front and it was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I and my wife have passed 5 nights in the hotel in Oct. 2012. It's about 15 to 20 minutes to SMN and the church by walk. We like to walk so the location is good for us. There's a small garden and it's beautiful. The bathroom is very good. It's amazing that you even can watch CCTV-9 although it's in English. I only hope the breakfast can be better. I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is not located in the best place but the rooms are spacious. The area does seem to be safe though. However, be forewarned, there are cameras INSIDE the hotel room. I was very disturbed with that since I was traveling with my wife and two young daughters. I would not stay in this hotel in the future given the monitoring that apparently goes on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very helpful and pleasant staff, who handled all our requests with great efficiency. The rooms are relatively spacious, with good quality beds and bathing facilities. We asked for, and got very quickly, extra pillows because those in the room were insufficient. All in all, just what we were looking for on a short visit. Close to the city centre but not at all affected by traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Gallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gallo Palace Hotel

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#40 Business Hotel in Florence
#65 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Gallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence
Hotel San Gallo Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Gallo Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.