We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Gallo Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Gallo Palace to your Saves list
Hotel San Gallo Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #65 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very helpful and pleasant staff, who handled all our requests with great efficiency. The rooms are relatively spacious, with good quality beds and bathing facilities. We asked for, and got very quickly, extra pillows because those in the room were insufficient. All in all, just what we were looking for on a short visit. Close to the city centre but not at all affected by traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff were very helpful and recommended some very nice eating establishments. we were the victims of a pick pocket in Rome so by the time we reached Florence we were in need of some quiet time. This small hotel was comfortable, great breakfast and very friendly staff. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyG W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

first of all we thank you so much for choosing our hotel and also for taking the time to write this beautiful review !
We always do our best to ensure our guests the best stay possible! Your words tell us that we are doing our job well!


Kind regards,
Oana Stancu
F.O. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the San Gallo for two nights this past week. The hotel is located approx 5-15 minutes from the train station (9 euros) and a nice easy 10 minute stroll into the center of town.

Now to the room...The room was of decent size with a double bed that was as hard as a rock. The pillows were flatter than pancakes. I was better off sleeping on the floor with my sweatshirt as a pillow. I just had to be sure that I had to move the dirty rugs underneath the bed.

The A/C didn't work as it kept turning off but thank heavens that is was cool at night so we just slept with the windows open.

The bathroom was actually very big compared to other hotels in Italy. It appeared as if it was recently renovated. The towels however felt like sandpaper since they have exceeded its life span.

Breakfast was decent. I loved the orange,carrot and lemon juice!! Talk about a good mix.

Overall, the hotel room was just blah. It served its purpose but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nasa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thanking you for taking the time to write the review, we deeply regret that the accommodation in our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations and that the only word to summarize your stay is "Blah".

Thank you to confirm the information about the location of the hotel, as described online on our website, for mentioning that the room and the bathroom size are higher than the standard european hotels.
It was a room with a beautiful parquet floor, perfectly soundproofed, and with a bed mattresses firmed of one of the best quality.
Regarding the pillows, you could have opened the wardrobe where you would have found the second pillow or order by phone the one that you preferred from our special pillows menu located on your room’s desk.

The A/C is working in all the hotel as we are still in October and the weather is nice. If you didn’t succeed to manage it by yourself, you could have called the front desk, on duty 24hrs, to check from the general panel or send an employee in your room to check it.
All this after having verified that the window was closed, since the A/C does not work with the open window and I think that this was your case.

You mentioned also that hotel was recently renovated and we inform you that on 2011 we changed the floor of the rooms with parquet. But the most important is that our hotel is very well maintained and clean, being one of the most appreciated qualities by all our guests.

We are also sorry that you didn’t find time during your stay with us to inform us about these small misunderstandings and in the same time, to give both to you and to us the opportunity for a nice stay.


Best Regards
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

San Gallo Palace is situated a nice walk from central Florence (Duomo, market, Repubblica, Signoria, etc). It is on a bus route and near a lovely Piazza - Piazza de la Liberta. We were thrilled to find that for ~$200 per night we had an amazing suite with a terrace. Beds were super comfortable and there was a bath tub - which given how much we walked was a godsend. The fitness room had three excellent machines and a small space/map for work out - it was just outside our terrace. Breakfasts were lovely - lots of choice - decor was Tuscan. Staff were helpful - I left my sunglasses in rental car and they very quickly contacted, followed up and called us in the room in minutes. They provided good references for restaurants and excellent maps and instructions for our daily outings. Ask for a room with a terrace - they were fabulous!

Room Tip: Room 87 is the BEST! It is a suite with a terrace and an office and a terrific bathroom. We had tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

you can’t say enough good about San Gallo Palace and we can't thank you enough for your words!
We really appreciate the time you have spent for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor users!

We are waiting to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Have just returned from staying here for the past 4 nights. My husband and I were very pleased with every aspect of the hotel and would definately return to it. Annoyed that a lot of the reviews criticise the location - surely if you pick a hotel for a holiday etc you do your research first and choose accordingly so have little sympathy for all those who have moaned about this on the site We liked the fact that it was located away from the city centre and afforded a quiet place to return to in the evening and get a peaceful night's sleep. This is our second stay at the hotel and cannot fault it. We found all the staff to be very helpful in particular Ezzat the barman. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurarDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for taking the time to share your impression about San Gallo Palace with the tripadvisor users and also that you return to us!
Your review was deeply appreciated by all our staff.
We are so glad to know that you have had a great holiday here with us!

We hope to see you again soon!

Have a great day!
Oana Stancu
F.O. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 5 nights at the San Gallo Palace and we were delighted to find such a lovely hotel. The staff were very accomodating and the hotel is very, very clean. We had a good breakfast every morning and enjoyed spending time in the bar in the evening talking with the staff and other travelers. While it is a walk to get to the main sights in Florence, it is certainly not a bad walk and if you get tired it is very inexpensive to take a cab back. I would definitely stay here again should I visit Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kat2spk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanGalloPalaceFi, Direttore at Hotel San Gallo Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choosing our hotel and I'm glad you had a good time here and we really hope you will have the chance to stay with us again in the future!!


Kind regards
Oana Stancu
F.O.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found it very clean and the people very friendly and the in the bar the waiter ezzat was very good and the food was as good in the motel as anywhere else in Florence top notch place would go back great place to stay an visit

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jwp444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#19 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,361 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,488 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#46 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piazzale Michelangelo
Silla Hotel
Silla Hotel
#62 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
#47 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#87 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gallo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gallo Palace

Address: Via Lorenzo Il Magnifico 2, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#43 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gallo Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Low Cost Holidays so you can book your Hotel San Gallo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gallo Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing