We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comphy Hotel, great location, perfect for both short and long stays. Gentle and nice personnel,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Athenaeum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comphy Hotel, great location, perfect for both short and long stays. Gentle and nice personnel,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay and i enjoyed every day of it.
The hotel personnel and service was all I needed to tackle my daily challenge. The restaurant is fine ans the personnel very kind and professional.
Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    186
    66
    15
    14
See reviews for
82
209
17
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I spent four nights at this hotel with a friend who has already stayed here before.
The location is truly superb as it's walking distance from the main centre and all the shops.
Staff are friendly, offered us a free upgrade, looked after our luggage for a few hours after we checked out but haven't left the city yet and booked us a cab too when we needed.
Our room was really spacious and clean.
It was good value for money. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel that's close to the heart of Florence and has great amenities, this is the place. Having a parking garage on site was a bonus. We were able to walk easily to museums and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helped us with dinner reservations both evenings we were there. I highly recommend Athenaeum!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked our trip thru Groupon so didn't have much say as to our accommodations. Our travel agent asked us if we wanted to "upgrade" but we decided to stick with what was offered. Glad we did. Rooms were more than adequate. Clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast buffet was wonderful and they even packed us a "to go" bag on a day we had an early tour. Bus stop that took us right into the city was just across the street. I'm a little surprised as some of the low ratings. I really thought it was very nice and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I thought it was a very nice hotel, sure it wasn't in the vein of a florentine building, but it was an excellent property. Staff, food facilities, all really very good. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast, by international standards, it was pretty basic. They provided boiled eggs, and anything else was an extra cost, pretty amateurish attitude.
Great location.

Room Tip: All good, given I only stayed in one room, I can't give a tip about which room is better than an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Can't actually believe the below review is writing about this hotel - maybe got hotels mixed up! This hotel is so modern & beautiful (Just take a look at my pictures!), Our room was a great size with sliding doors on to a MASSIVE balcony with small seating area! Balcony overlooked the outside bar area which is beautiful with a small fountain. Our room was at the back of the hotel so no noise what so ever & we drank most nights out in our balcony in complete bliss! Only downfall would be the breakfast - but that goes for all hotels in Italy - wont get a hot breakfast anywhere really - all meats & cheese and sugary buns. About a 10 min walk to the centre of Florence & a very safe walk at that. Also McDonalds is on that route ;) Overall - A great experience & would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room at back of Hotel is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I loved this hotel! Visited this hotel on Spring Break 2014 with a group and stayed for 2 nights. It is in a great location which is within walking distance to a variety of shops, restaurants and beautiful sights in the middle of Florence. The rooms were beautiful with twin beds that could be pushed together for one queen bed. Very clean, comfortable and modern style. This was the only hotel that we visited that provided a little more (eggs and bacon) for continental breakfast than just pastries, bread, meat and cheese. The staff was great and very helpful, there was internet throughout the entire hotel, and the kids had a billard and workout room available to entertain themselves. This hotel made the experience in Florence very relaxing. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Escapio, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.