We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay, superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 463 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I spent four nights at this hotel with a friend who has already stayed here before.
The location is truly superb as it's walking distance from the main centre and all the shops.
Staff are friendly, offered us a free upgrade, looked after our luggage for a few hours after we checked out but haven't left the city yet and booked us a cab too when we needed.
Our room was really spacious and clean.
It was good value for money. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    231
    82
    19
    15
See reviews for
92
253
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel that's close to the heart of Florence and has great amenities, this is the place. Having a parking garage on site was a bonus. We were able to walk easily to museums and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helped us with dinner reservations both evenings we were there. I highly recommend Athenaeum!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked our trip thru Groupon so didn't have much say as to our accommodations. Our travel agent asked us if we wanted to "upgrade" but we decided to stick with what was offered. Glad we did. Rooms were more than adequate. Clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast buffet was wonderful and they even packed us a "to go" bag on a day we had an early tour. Bus stop that took us right into the city was just across the street. I'm a little surprised as some of the low ratings. I really thought it was very nice and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I thought it was a very nice hotel, sure it wasn't in the vein of a florentine building, but it was an excellent property. Staff, food facilities, all really very good. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast, by international standards, it was pretty basic. They provided boiled eggs, and anything else was an extra cost, pretty amateurish attitude.
Great location.

Room Tip: All good, given I only stayed in one room, I can't give a tip about which room is better than an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Can't actually believe the below review is writing about this hotel - maybe got hotels mixed up! This hotel is so modern & beautiful (Just take a look at my pictures!), Our room was a great size with sliding doors on to a MASSIVE balcony with small seating area! Balcony overlooked the outside bar area which is beautiful with a small fountain. Our room was at the back of the hotel so no noise what so ever & we drank most nights out in our balcony in complete bliss! Only downfall would be the breakfast - but that goes for all hotels in Italy - wont get a hot breakfast anywhere really - all meats & cheese and sugary buns. About a 10 min walk to the centre of Florence & a very safe walk at that. Also McDonalds is on that route ;) Overall - A great experience & would stay here again!

Room Tip: Room at back of Hotel is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I loved this hotel! Visited this hotel on Spring Break 2014 with a group and stayed for 2 nights. It is in a great location which is within walking distance to a variety of shops, restaurants and beautiful sights in the middle of Florence. The rooms were beautiful with twin beds that could be pushed together for one queen bed. Very clean, comfortable and modern style. This was the only hotel that we visited that provided a little more (eggs and bacon) for continental breakfast than just pastries, bread, meat and cheese. The staff was great and very helpful, there was internet throughout the entire hotel, and the kids had a billard and workout room available to entertain themselves. This hotel made the experience in Florence very relaxing. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is in a great Location in the city. Steps from The Galleria Acadamia, and the Duomo. Rooms are contemporary in style. The hotel offers a great bar for a night cap after a long day , as well as a fantastic restaurant onpropert. Make sure to me Gaetano our Favorite barkeep. He's a great resource for information as to eat where the locals do, as well as guiding you to see the sights many miss. Thisd is our "Official" home in Florence. I wouldnt even consider another property

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.