We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, fantastic location, great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine hotel, fantastic location, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a fine hotel located two blocks from the Duomo town center. Everything is well within walking distances. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The shower was a little tight for a broad shouldered man but otherwise, quite efficient. Not being a fan of continental breakfasts, we were disappointed with the breakfast but the servicing staff made up for it-- they were wonderful. The registration/hotel staff were friendly and most helpful. They recommended several restaurants and places to visit including a walk to a fantastic view across the river. In fact, our best meal in a 10 day trip to Italy was in Florence at the staffs recommendation. They even called and made a reservation for us. All in all I would give them a 9 out of 10 stars. We will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    199
    68
    18
    14
See reviews for
84
224
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and it's location was great.The staff was very friendly.The wifi service of hotel was great we had free high speed internet in our room.we had great time in this hotel it's breakfast was good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel was clean and easy to get too. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Our room itself was great but was very noisy. We could hear buses/cars/people talking late at night and early in the morning.

We did enjoy our stay and the location was great, easy to get too from the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is walking distance to all major attractions. Very close to the train station. Pleasant check-in, attendants were very nice and informative. Good and large variety of breakfast selections. Room small, little out-dated, but everything in the room was extremely clean. Two days is enough to see the city.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

After a not-so-good experience at another place in Florence, we happened upon this wonderful oasis of welcome, efficiency, and comfort. We somehow ended up in a suite, which was cheaper than the tiny dump we had just escaped from. A large lounge and dining area and a large bedroom (both with floor to ceiling windows), a balcony, and two large bathrooms. Amazingly huge for Europe. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during a tour. This hotel was the nicest we stayed at. Rooms much larger than most european hotels. Modern hotel with lots of nice amenities. Bathroom is marble and tile with tub as well as shower. Breakfast was very nice with scrambled eggs and bacon served every morning in addition to buffet that included pastries, cold cuts, yogurt, cereal, cheeses, etc. Wireless worked very well in the room, and they also have computers to use. Workout area is small. Great location. It is about a 10 minute walk to the center of town. Nice restaurant in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meina, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

the staff was courteous and helpful.
the rooms were spacious and very clean.
the restaurant food was fantastic.
breakfast was also very good.

I would definitely return

oh, and the hotel was located only a 10 minute walk directly to the duomo and the historic center.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the street. I had one looking directly at the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#75 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.