We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Medford, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We liked our stay here. The location is great, a reasonable walk to all the main sites, plus bus pickup is a few steps down the street. It is a business hotel, but that didn't matter to us as we were gone all day visiting the sites. The breakfast was great, you can ask the waitress for bacon, eggs, ect, and special coffee drinks, along with all the displayed breakfast items. Our bathroom was spotless and good size. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. They took the time to draw me a map for driving to San Gimignano. They also have underground parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks to choose us for your stay in Florence. We are really happy to hear that you enjoy our breakfast and that we have been helpfull in your way to San Giminiano.
We hope to welcome you back in Florence soon.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano - Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    199
    68
    18
    14
See reviews for
84
224
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful, room was great (smallish but clean), location was important as we wanted to be close to public transport as well as walk into the centre of Florence, which we did multiple times. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice. Laundry mat located in a nearby street, 5 min walk. Lots of choice for meals in the surrounding streets - you will need to walk a little however it's all part of the fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your comment.
We hope to see you again in Florence during your next stay.
Enrico Pezzano - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading some reviews we had some reservation about this hotel but it was surprising
We were with a tour so we expected the worst but the check in was quick and organized the room was not that big but modern and clean. We had dinner in the hotel with our group and the 3 course meal was very good the service quick and the staff friendly.location is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently stayed here for a few nights and did not much like this hotel at all. The room was tiny and seemed rather dingy to us. Air conditioner did not cool the room down nearly enough which forced us to leave the windows open at night. As our room looked down on the bar and restaurant, it was pretty noisy at night. Also, we were practically eaten alive by the mosquitos which joined us in our room. There were no electrical outlets by the beds, and the lighting in the room was awful. The staff was not particularly helpful, and just shrugged off our concerns about the stuffiness of the room. The location was okay, but the hotel just didn't have any charm. Also, the restaurant was very overpriced especially considering all the wonderful choices in restaurants just a few minutes away. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here on a recommendation from a friend on our first trip to Florence. The hotel was lovely! Friendly staff, lovely rooms- our room had a private roof terrace, tasty continental style breakfast too. The hotel is under 10minute stroll from The Duomo and 15minute stroll from the train station, shops, uffizi and ponte d vecchio. Highly recommended, I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Athenaeum was a VERY good value. We had stayed a few nights at another, unbearable location and chose the Athenaeum for our final night after the front desk allowed us to view a room.

The room is clean, HAS manual temperature control, and our bathroom was immaculate.

This is exactly what a 3-4 star European/Italian hotel should look like. The lobby is lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic.

Well worth the extra 30-40 Euros/night over the budget places. We learned the hard way.

Grazie, Athenaeum! You made our final night in Florence fantastic, and we'll be staying with you again if we return.

Cheers,

J&K, Chicago, IL

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

the hotel is conveniently located: outside the tourist circle and yet very close (walking distance to any of the atractions). It is a fairly modern hotel and it delivers quite good quality/price relation by Floretine standards. The staff is very friendly and able: I wanted to change my room and they did so very quickly despite of being fully booked. The restaurant in the hotel is also good with a large and different list of wines.

Room Tip: Avoid room 114, it is over the entrance to the garage. I had room 316: big and very quiet (in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#75 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.