We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel, friendly staff and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Athenaeum Hotel to your Saves list
Athenaeum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 461 Hotels in Florence
1 review
“A fantastic hotel, friendly staff and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here on a recommendation from a friend on our first trip to Florence. The hotel was lovely! Friendly staff, lovely rooms- our room had a private roof terrace, tasty continental style breakfast too. The hotel is under 10minute stroll from The Duomo and 15minute stroll from the train station, shops, uffizi and ponte d vecchio. Highly recommended, I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    199
    68
    18
    14
See reviews for
85
224
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Athenaeum was a VERY good value. We had stayed a few nights at another, unbearable location and chose the Athenaeum for our final night after the front desk allowed us to view a room.

The room is clean, HAS manual temperature control, and our bathroom was immaculate.

This is exactly what a 3-4 star European/Italian hotel should look like. The lobby is lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic.

Well worth the extra 30-40 Euros/night over the budget places. We learned the hard way.

Grazie, Athenaeum! You made our final night in Florence fantastic, and we'll be staying with you again if we return.

Cheers,

J&K, Chicago, IL

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

the hotel is conveniently located: outside the tourist circle and yet very close (walking distance to any of the atractions). It is a fairly modern hotel and it delivers quite good quality/price relation by Floretine standards. The staff is very friendly and able: I wanted to change my room and they did so very quickly despite of being fully booked. The restaurant in the hotel is also good with a large and different list of wines.

Room Tip: Avoid room 114, it is over the entrance to the garage. I had room 316: big and very quiet (in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights booked through a well known special offer organisation. Initially in very basic , strongly smelling of smoke, not up to expectation, room. Wrote to organisation and being fair they acted immediately and we were upgraded to a room nearer our expectation.
Hotel is well positioned , 5 min walk to San Marco piazza and literally walking distance to all major tourist areas. Our upgraded room was comfortable, but certainly lacked any luxury. There was a kettle in the room but no milk and calling room service proved futile as it was after 11 and I was told not possible. Equally not able to get any room service prior to 7.30 so no use if need to be at an early meeting point. Breakfast was disappointing tinned fruit , plenty cheeses and meat but choice fresh fruit limited to apples.
Our bathroom was ok, small and water only warm on two occasions. Lots mould on shower door and bath edges.
The free wifi was intermittent at best , only one device per room and max 30 mins in any session managed. Initially told couldn't have 2 connections but this was overturned when we wrote to the organisation.

On the plus side the girls in reception were very friendly but clearly not able to deliver the service that is surely expected in this grade of hotel if no other staff on duty. Would only recommend as a good location to base a stay in this stunning city, but not if looking for any luxury or real comforts.

Room Tip: Doing be afraid to ask for an upgrade if not up to expectations, avoid the corner room on 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel was central for all tourist attractions friendly staff and a nice room. TV basic only C N English channel. Breakfast good and plenty of it. Would stay there again if visiting Florence again. Parking available at hotel expensive but on par with other hotels .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest
I will be happy to welcome you again when you’ll be back in Florence, your words of appreciation are for us very important to continue to work in this direction. Our goal is to improve our service and facilities and we will take in good consideration your suggestion.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is what it is - very much a basic, no frills business hotel. Service fine, rooms clean and comfortable enough but no character at all. Breakfast functional. 20 minutes walk to the railway station, 10 to the Duomo, but if you want a sense of the magic and romance of Florence then don't stay here. If you just need a base, it's fine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
your review is very important for us. The Athenaeum hotel has a contemporary style combined with materials taken from the classical florentine tradition such as marble and leather: we are definelly not a rennaissance manour. The hotel is centrally located and it’s very easy to reach all the main attraction from us. I appreciated your observations and advice and assure you that I will make good use of them.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was dirty! The lobby is misleading. Our room was dirty - dead bugs on the walls, black mold in the shower, hair in the bathroom. The shower was broken so it was for someone under 5ft tall. Wifi did not work in our room. When we complained to the front desk the response we received was "there's nothing I can do tonight because I am the only one here." The beds were uncomfortable and the room was very noisy. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
First let me apologize for these inconveniences. You arrived in our hotel very late in the night and the morning after your complaint you have refused to change room. After your report we send our maintenance staff to fix the shower-pole. We changed all the bath-tube gasket and replace with a new one after your departure. Please be sure that after your comments all the appropriate actions has been taken.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#75 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.