We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Athenaeum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 461 hotels in Florence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel was central for all tourist attractions friendly staff and a nice room. TV basic only C N English channel. Breakfast good and plenty of it. Would stay there again if visiting Florence again. Parking available at hotel expensive but on par with other hotels .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest
I will be happy to welcome you again when you’ll be back in Florence, your words of appreciation are for us very important to continue to work in this direction. Our goal is to improve our service and facilities and we will take in good consideration your suggestion.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    190
    67
    13
    12
See reviews for
80
203
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It is what it is - very much a basic, no frills business hotel. Service fine, rooms clean and comfortable enough but no character at all. Breakfast functional. 20 minutes walk to the railway station, 10 to the Duomo, but if you want a sense of the magic and romance of Florence then don't stay here. If you just need a base, it's fine

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
your review is very important for us. The Athenaeum hotel has a contemporary style combined with materials taken from the classical florentine tradition such as marble and leather: we are definelly not a rennaissance manour. The hotel is centrally located and it’s very easy to reach all the main attraction from us. I appreciated your observations and advice and assure you that I will make good use of them.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was dirty! The lobby is misleading. Our room was dirty - dead bugs on the walls, black mold in the shower, hair in the bathroom. The shower was broken so it was for someone under 5ft tall. Wifi did not work in our room. When we complained to the front desk the response we received was "there's nothing I can do tonight because I am the only one here." The beds were uncomfortable and the room was very noisy. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, Direttore generale at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
First let me apologize for these inconveniences. You arrived in our hotel very late in the night and the morning after your complaint you have refused to change room. After your report we send our maintenance staff to fix the shower-pole. We changed all the bath-tube gasket and replace with a new one after your departure. Please be sure that after your comments all the appropriate actions has been taken.
Best regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Athenaeum Hotel hit all the marks for our recent trip to Florence. The price was right, the location was ideal (close to the Florence train station, and about a 10 minute walk from the Duomo) and the rooms clean and comfortable. For our first time in Florence it was perfect. They serve an ample breakfast with fruit juices, pastries, meats and cheese. The coffee wasn't that great, but that gave me an excuse to drink multiple Cafe Freddo's throughout the day. The hotel is right on the main street in Florence, Via Cavour, and only a few blocks away from the car free center of the city. There are two TI's on the street, so it was very easy to pick up our Firenze card and hit the ground running.

Was disappointed that they had a lovely outdoor terrace and bar but didn't have a staff ready to serve. My boyfriend and I enjoy a cocktail and this would have been the perfect place to relax, but the bar was empty every time we walked by. In the future I might prefer to stay at a hotel closer to the city center, but for our first time in Florence it was a great decision.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, General Manager at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your fist stay in Florence. I'm happy you had good time and you liked our location little off from the bustling city center but close enough to walk! Good note will be taken for your suggestion about our patio bar considering that our main goal is the guest’s satisfaction.
Best Regards
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked 3 nights here as a sudden last-minute trip and we were very happy with our choice. This hotel is ideal - clean and comfortable, with good reception staff and a decent, speedy breakfast. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the bathroom, though quite small, was absolutely fine. On a visit where most time is spent out and about, this hotel provided all we could want. And the free WiFi worked well.

It is slightly outside the centre, only about 10 minutes walk from the Duomo, but this is actually ideal, as it was peaceful to retreat to after a long day seeing sights. We walked everywhere - the station is about 15 minutes, the river maybe 20-25 mins and the Palazzo Pitti perhaps 40 mins. It may sound a lot of walking, but there is so much to admire every step of the way, that you don't notice these distances.

Florence was so much better than I dared hope. April is a good time to go (we had sunny 23C each day and it is not too crowded). The Firenze card is a must... instead of debating whether to go inside somewhere we were unsure of, we could just go in anyway, with no booking and no queueing and decide whether to spend much time there. If considering a trip, I highly recommend Florence and this hotel as a base.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athenaeumhotel, General Manager at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your words of appreciation, I'm glad that you took advantage of the location that now that the sun starts to shine it's very pleasant! I will be very happy to welcome you again in Florence during your next Holiday and be sure that our aim is to improve our quality and services.
Enrico Pezzano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel was well appointed and very nice. The location is somewhat out of the main area but its still close enough to walk into town. The room was comfortable and the facilities are well kept. The room has a refrigerator which is helpful as well as internet within the rooms. The front staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was situated towards the street ( Cavour ) and it was quite noisy. In fact, we had to keep our windows closed at night because of the constant noise ( this was the only hotel that we had this problem with ).. If you are going to stay at this hotel you may want to request a room in the back away from the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, contemporary and stylish and the staff are very polite, helpful and efficient and speak good English. Our room was stylish, comfortable and clean with a lovely bathroom. The bed was very nice and we slept really well – we couldn’t hear any noise from anywhere. Breakfast was very good too – lots of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cakes, pastries, charcuterie, cheese, rolls and other good things.

Location is also great – it’s only 15 mins or so walk to the main historic areas of Florence, with nice shops and cafes on the way. Plus, the road the hotel is on is quite quiet – so close to everything but not noisy.

We would totally recommend the Firenze card – it got us into heaps of the best museums with no queuing and no booking and also on the bus – the C1 runs from the banks of the Arno near the Uffuzi back close to the hotel. A really great weekend – we would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
0.3 mi away
San Gallo Palace Hotel
San Gallo Palace Hotel
#61 of 461 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel J and J
Hotel J and J
#187 of 461 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#145 of 461 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#108 of 461 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
City Center, Ro...
Show More
1.5 mi away
UNA Hotel Vittoria
UNA Hotel Vittoria
#104 of 461 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#192 of 461 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Address: Via Cavour 88, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#138 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenaeum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.