We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nizza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nizza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nizza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Giglio, 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 461 hotels in Florence
Burgas, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Central location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Superb location 3min walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station and on the edge of all the tourist attractions. It is a very old but well kept hotel. Thes staff is friendly and helpful and they do speak English! Breakfast is average. Coffee was not at its best quality. We had two nights stay and although on a noisy street we had a god sleep with the shutters and windows closed and a/c on.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    114
    39
    17
    2
See reviews for
40
107
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband, son, and I stayed there on June 14th and 15th, leaving on the morning of the 16th. The hotel is conveniently located by the train station (only 5-6 minutes walking distance) and also located close to many of the main attractions. The breakfast was included, and consisted of breads (with different jellies and spreads), cold cuts, cheese slices, cereal, milk, coffee (not recommended, it was bitter and strong), juices, etc. The location and breakfast were the two strong points.
Note that you are told upon check in that you must leave your key at the front desk each time you exit the hotel for any reason, which is fine unless you return and have to wait for guests checking in before getting your key to go back to your room. Also, during the day the air conditioners in each room are turned off by a universal switch and if you return to your room during the day for a rest, you must go to the front desk and ask that they turn on the air conditioner for your specific room. At night the air conditioner switch is universally turned back on, but it does take a few hours on a hot day to cool down the room. We were lucky because there was a bit of a cool front on the second day and it was not an issue.
Another interesting fact was that on the second morning when our room was cleaned, the towels we had used the night before (which were damp and did not smell so great) were folded up and placed over the towel rack again without being rewashed (still damp and with the same smell and smudges), which was fine except that we didn't know to whom each towel belonged. All in all, if you want a hotel close to the train station and major locations, and will not be staying in your room during the day, and don't mind a no-frills room, this place will be satisfactory.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room, and were pleased, because we were not bothered by any noise, day or night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel Nizza was a lovely hotel located not far from the heart of Firenze. The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. The room though small fit our family of 4's needs exactly. Highly recommended for a 3-4 night stay.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family request the 4 person, everyone gets a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

There appears to be an epidemic on Tripadvisor which causes reviewers to make outlandish claims about their experiences. They'll say it was a nightmare (and that all the staff are essentially evil) or that it's by far the best hotel in the city (how can they even know that).  Although my experience of Hotel Nizza was by no means 'nightmarish', it certainly wasn't dreamy. But I'll try be objective!

- The hotel's best selling point is the relationship between location and price - both of which are attractive, with the hotel a 5 minute walk from SMN station as well as the major city attractions and the price just below its obvious competitors'.
- The guys at the front desk were super-friendly. The one guy joked about the unique spelling of my name. I appreciated the effort.
- Having said that, our room was pretty drab. It looked like it had been cut and paste from a 1990's retirement resort. 
- It even had a bright red alarm chord dangling in the shower, presumably so we could summon a nurse in the event of a fall. 
- Our bed cover completed the picture, patterned with geometric flourishes from a bygone era.  It's not the aesthetics which troubled me. It's more a case of doing the maths and realizing how many guests must've snuggled up against it since its debut as a bed-spread in the '90's.
- The least pleasant aspect of our experience was the noise from the window at night (for which one can't really blame the hotel) - and the exploits of about 4 uncatchable mosquitoes. 
- The result was that we finally fell asleep at about 3am, having finally decided that fresh air from the window was a luxury we could do without - and having come to terms with the fact that feeding our prime tourist bodies to local mozzies was nothing more than our humble role in the great circle of life (cue sweeping Lion King music).
- On the bright side, breakfast was pleasant, although basic. The focal point of the breakfast spread was an automatic Nescafe machine which promised about 8 different drinks. I selected 'cappuccino' but appreciated the machine's generosity all the same.

Overall, not a nightmare - but not exactly a good night's rest either. Not all the hotel's fault though.  But in hindsight I think an extra twenty Euros per night (in the same area) would've spared us from the feeling of being plunged into early retirement in one of Europe's most vibrant cities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Perfect location for city break. Between main station & Duomo. Uffizi gallery 10min walk away. Safe, central & very clean. Great value & highly recommended. Nice staff & decent breakfast. No frills but if your priority is enjoying florence this is a perfect base to explore the compact city centre

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked here because it was close to SMN train station, had breakfast and internet. One out of three were true.
The rooms we had was tiny, dark and depressing. The view was the scaffolding across the street (which i know they cannot control- it just added to our impression). It is terribly noisy with the windows open, and the room was quite hot. Couldn't figure out the ac. Bathroom is tiny.
The location is a quick hop from the train, so if you are in Florence for a short time, this is nice. It is a short walk to markets, SMN, the Duomo, Medici Capella and Accademia.
Breakfast was basic, but machine-made coffee- blech. Breakfast room is very gloomy.
The internet did not work. We had dinner next door at a lovely restaurant, and obtained their wifi code which we used for the next two days.
Staff were nice and speak English.

So if you need an inexpensive place to stay in Florence with no bells or whistles and spend almost no time in your hotel room, this will work for you. Not a bad stay, just not memorable.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor--- go higher for a bit more peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Location: excellent, close to train station and city center.

General: lack of light, no windows in the breakfast room, in the corridors, in the reception. Friendly staff

Room : would need a serious refreshment, electricity is old and bathroom has no ventilation. Furniture is basic but beds and mattress are comfortable.

Internet : The hotel description indicates free WIFI everywhere and it did not work once in our room and even in the corridor we had to use internet from another hotel. I think hotel management knows it is not working and does not do anything to improve its service.

Breakfast: Tasteless and poor choice.

Room Tip: Ask for room with internet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nizza

Address: Via del Giglio, 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nizza 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Nizza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizza Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.