We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to visit Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Bargellino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Bargellino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect to visit Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The place is clean, the staff is nice and speak English.
The terrace is gorgeous. They have a nice parrot that goes around the place. We stayed 3 nights in a room with shared bathroom. It was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It means so much to us that you took the time!
We hope to have you back in the not too distant future,
Carmel and Pino

We'd also like to take this opportunity to say that all of us (Carmel, Pino, Rosita and Leo) here send our thanks to all of you for the overwhelming outpouring of favorable comments for Hotel Il Bargellino. We work hard to ensure every one's stay is comfortable and it's nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    55
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
41
148
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at Hotel IL Bargellino for a night in May. What a beautiful hotel. Our room was number 6 with the newly remodeled bathroom which was huge and beautifully appointed. The room had a queen size bed, desk, refrigerator, LaVazza café maker, and wardrobe. The bathroom had a three-mirrored dressing table and a blow dryer in addition to the normal fixtures. The room had an elegant feel to it with very high ceilings and a chandelier. The room was 90 euro a night and included wi-fi. Some rooms open right out onto the big terrace which has many chairs, lounge chairs, tables, and umbrellas for shade.

One will feel very safe and secure at this hotel. There are security cameras so the proprieters know who belongs at the hotel and who doesn’t. The proprieters live on property and are very helpful. Carmen even helped us get parking for our rental car at a rate of 21 euro for 24 hours, as compared with the SMN train station rate of 72 euro for 24 hours. This hotel is very close to the train station so one could easily walk there if you took the train into Florence. I’d advise anyone to get a really good map of Florence. We walked everywhere from the hotel.

Carmen has done a wonderful job on the hotel’s website, listing many helpful tips. She even assists with advanced reservations so one doesn’t have to wait in line at some of the attractions.

Our only disappointment was that we couldn’t stay longer.

Room Tip: Some rooms open directly to the terrace, but room #6 is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

April 2013, Florence, Italy

For 15 days my mother and I had the pleasure of staying with Carmel and Pino, Owners of Hotel Il Bargellino.

This place is what Italy is all about! Emerged in the heart of Florence, just 15 minute drive from the Airport, with in walking distance of the train station, and close to most all of Florence's historical attractions.

The hotel room was nice, clean, and I especially love the terrace, our room was off the terrace, you just step out of your room and there it was.

Carmel, an American, specks both English and Italian; she helped arrange day trips for us, which was a big help, and had great pointers of what to do around the city. Her and Pino were gracious hosts! Love this place.

I would recommend Hotel Il Bargellino to anyone who wants to experience original Italian cultural.

Can’t wait to visit again…ciao ciao Carmel and Pino.

~Cherie Ridenour

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and really enjoyed our stay at Il Bargellino. Carmel and Pino were very friendly and helpful. My husband loved that Carmel was from Boston. It made him feel more at home, especially since he doesn't speak any Italian. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed using the Lavazza coffee maker every morning. Felt very safe and that we could leave stuff in our room without worrying. That being said, there is a safe you can leave valuables in. Terrace was relaxing and great way to meet other travelers. Well located and on a street that was not very noisy. Easy walk from both train station and to all attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, mo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is my second stay at Il Bargellino, this time with my sister for four nights in May. I love this small hotel. Rooms are comfortable, the building is charming, location is convenient. The hosts, Carmel and Pino, are the best part as they make you so welcome and are so helpful. Carmel made navigating the bus system easy. This was essential as my sister had trouble walking. We were able to use the terrace this trip (first stay was in February several years ago), and enjoyed meeting other guests there and sharing wine in the evening. It comes with a canopy for shade, plenty of seating, sculpture, flowering shrubs - all in all, a lovely spot away from the clamor of the streets. A resident cat and parrot make it feel like home. Cost is very reasonable. I will not stay anywhere else in Florence.

Room Tip: A room off the terrace is ideal, especially during warmer months. Street-side rooms get some traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel Il Bargellino is so conveniently located to the main attractions in Florence that it made our stay very enjoyable. Carmel and Pino are wonderful. Carmel had lots of information to impart that really helped us out, and Pino was a great joy. The rooms were spacious, and clean, and our room had access to the terrace, which was great to sit outside with coffee and a pastry. A great tip is that there is a laundromat across the street. They wash, dry, fold, AND deliver your clothes to the hotel, for a price comparable to doing it on your own. Saved so much time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stay here.

You'll be happy you did.
Everything about this place was great!
Super friendly from the second I walked in the door.
Being a Bostonian, after reading Carmel was from Boston, I instantly felt drawn to stay here.
I was traveling solo on this part of my trip and this place was EXACTLY what I was looking for + more.
Comfortable, clean, inviting, tons of character.

TIP: Hang out on the patio, drink some vino, chat with other travelers, learns some tips, make some friends, relax.

After having such a good stay in at this hotel in Florence, I didn't want to leave and go to my next destination, Venice!

Is it too soon to come back?!
Thanks for everything Pino, couldn't have been a better experience!

You will see me again!

Ciao
ashley

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#63 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquires to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me though our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Trip Advisor page on the left, our Face Book Page or Skype. Carmel47. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Bargellino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.