We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Bargellino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Bargellino to your Saves list
Hotel Il Bargellino
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My GF & I stayed here in late April 2009 (and it's stuck with me, so must've been good, right?), and absolutely loved it. It's a very short walk from the train station, which is nice with luggage.

The room was adequate, but the service of owner Carmen (and husband Pino) was spectacular. Additionally, the rooftop terrace, where all the travelers seemed to congregate after a long day of sightseeing and discuss their trips over many bottles of wine provided a great sense of community.

Of all the wonderful sights in Florence, Carmen & Pino's hotel ranks right up with the best as our favorite memories of Florence (along with the Accademia, Piazzale Michelangelo, and the Duomo). It was definitely a surprise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you so much for writing. It REALLY makes a difference to us and to Trip Advisor readers searching for accommodations in a foreign land. All our best to you and yours for a wonderful holiday filled with all the love and cheer family and friends can bring.
Carmel, Pino and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    57
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
41
157
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cultus Lake, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Il Bargellino for 6 nights. Liked it so much that my spouse and I returned for an additional 2 nights during our stay in Italy. The location to the sights as well as the ease of getting to the train station made it very convenient. Owners Carmel and Pino were so welcoming. Safe, secure and clean. The room was very charming and so comfortable. We especially enjoyed the adjoining terrrace. I would highly recommend and we plan to return.

Room Tip: rooms adjoining the terrace are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We can not thank you enough for your kind works. The simple fact guests like you take the time means so much to us. At times we're truly overwhelmed!
Carmel and Pino (and Leopoldo)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights, would like to thank the honesty of one guest who returned my passport and money. I found the parrot charming and owners helpful and friendly until the last night when we moved to another room. This bathroom was very smelly, and a loud party hosted by the owners changed my opinion entirely. I wish that we had not come back to stay, as we had very little sleep and it put a bad spin on what seemed like a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I hade the pleasure of staying at Hotel Il Bargellino for 4 nocs October 13-17th. The hotel was clean, welcoming and conveniently located,...a few blocks from the train station,3 blocks to the Duomo, San Lorenzo Market and all historical sights. It felt as if we were at home from the moment we walk through the doors.. We were greeted by Pino who promptly carried our bags upstairs to our room. We stayed in room #8 which was spacious and had french doors leading onto the terrace. Our room was furnished with an Antique desk, head board and spacious amoire. Just beautiful !!! My friend commented the second we walked in the room that "this was what she pictured the feel of Italy would be".. Our private bathroom was immaculate, it appeared to have been recently renovated. Beds were comfy, pillows "just right" and the bedspread charming. In the evenings we sat outside and enjoyed a glass of wine and conversation with other travelers. The terrace is large with several tables and chairs. Plenty of room for everyone. How did we get so lucky !!! Carmel greeted us after we settled in,..she couldn't have been more helpful. She gave directions to all the sights, offered to set up museum tickets, helped with train schedules and made our stay one we will never forget. It was really helpful that she spoke English and Italian. Being able to ask her questions came in handy. She suggested wonderful restaurants for dinners and cafes for my morning cappuccino. Thank you Carmel and Pino,... you both were the perfect hosts and your hotel was the best stop during our visit to Italy. When we return to Florence we will plan on staying with you again....It was truly the "Perfect Find"....Thanks for everything . We had a wonderful time. xoxoxo Marsha +Evie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thanks a million! Your review with photos is worth it! Pino and I hope to have you two back ASAP. That's how much fun it was! Happy Holidays to you and yours, Carmel, Pino and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After staying at this hotel for three nights last weekend, I don't see any reason to look at any other hotels on my next visit. It's close to the train station, the central market, San Lorenzo, Cappelle Medicee, Santa Maria Novella,, and a 10 minute walk to the duomo. Also it's just barely outside of the Limited Traffic Zone with a parking garage a few doors away, so it's perfect if you are driving. It's clean and nice, and they are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much!! I can not tell you how much your kindness means.
Carmel and Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Carmel & Pino take pride in their lovely hotel. It's clean, open, and has a beautiful outside rooftop terrace that is a great place to congregate and enjoy the days or evenings.
Our room was nice, tall ceilings and a new bathroom. We had 2 women in one room (2 single beds) and were able to access Wi-Fi directly from our room. Also, our room opened up to the rooftop terrace, which was nice (unless there were people out there late into the evening, which really didn't happen for us). This hotel is located close to the train station and close to the Duomo - the heart of Italy. The only drawbacks I could see for some people would be the fact that there is no lift (for your luggage, you must carry it up one staircase) and that there is no breakfast included. Otherwise, a wonderful gem of a place, and I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I would highly recommend Hotel il Bargellino! It was within walking distance from the train station & near other Florence attractions. Carmel actually helped us get reservations to the Accademia. She & Pino truely made us feel at home. I was impressed from arrival to departure with their service. My husband & I both thoroughly enjoyed the terrace & the conversations with the new people we met there. Stay here! Thank you, Carmel & Pino, for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#78 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquires to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me though our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Trip Advisor page on the left, our Face Book Page or Skype. Carmel47. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Bargellino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.