We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unsure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Bargellino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Bargellino to your Saves list
Hotel Il Bargellino
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€65 (EUR)
Ranked #30 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“unsure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights, would like to thank the honesty of one guest who returned my passport and money. I found the parrot charming and owners helpful and friendly until the last night when we moved to another room. This bathroom was very smelly, and a loud party hosted by the owners changed my opinion entirely. I wish that we had not come back to stay, as we had very little sleep and it put a bad spin on what seemed like a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    55
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
41
155
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I hade the pleasure of staying at Hotel Il Bargellino for 4 nocs October 13-17th. The hotel was clean, welcoming and conveniently located,...a few blocks from the train station,3 blocks to the Duomo, San Lorenzo Market and all historical sights. It felt as if we were at home from the moment we walk through the doors.. We were greeted by Pino who promptly carried our bags upstairs to our room. We stayed in room #8 which was spacious and had french doors leading onto the terrace. Our room was furnished with an Antique desk, head board and spacious amoire. Just beautiful !!! My friend commented the second we walked in the room that "this was what she pictured the feel of Italy would be".. Our private bathroom was immaculate, it appeared to have been recently renovated. Beds were comfy, pillows "just right" and the bedspread charming. In the evenings we sat outside and enjoyed a glass of wine and conversation with other travelers. The terrace is large with several tables and chairs. Plenty of room for everyone. How did we get so lucky !!! Carmel greeted us after we settled in,..she couldn't have been more helpful. She gave directions to all the sights, offered to set up museum tickets, helped with train schedules and made our stay one we will never forget. It was really helpful that she spoke English and Italian. Being able to ask her questions came in handy. She suggested wonderful restaurants for dinners and cafes for my morning cappuccino. Thank you Carmel and Pino,... you both were the perfect hosts and your hotel was the best stop during our visit to Italy. When we return to Florence we will plan on staying with you again....It was truly the "Perfect Find"....Thanks for everything . We had a wonderful time. xoxoxo Marsha +Evie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thanks a million! Your review with photos is worth it! Pino and I hope to have you two back ASAP. That's how much fun it was! Happy Holidays to you and yours, Carmel, Pino and Leo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After staying at this hotel for three nights last weekend, I don't see any reason to look at any other hotels on my next visit. It's close to the train station, the central market, San Lorenzo, Cappelle Medicee, Santa Maria Novella,, and a 10 minute walk to the duomo. Also it's just barely outside of the Limited Traffic Zone with a parking garage a few doors away, so it's perfect if you are driving. It's clean and nice, and they are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much!! I can not tell you how much your kindness means.
Carmel and Pino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Carmel & Pino take pride in their lovely hotel. It's clean, open, and has a beautiful outside rooftop terrace that is a great place to congregate and enjoy the days or evenings.
Our room was nice, tall ceilings and a new bathroom. We had 2 women in one room (2 single beds) and were able to access Wi-Fi directly from our room. Also, our room opened up to the rooftop terrace, which was nice (unless there were people out there late into the evening, which really didn't happen for us). This hotel is located close to the train station and close to the Duomo - the heart of Italy. The only drawbacks I could see for some people would be the fact that there is no lift (for your luggage, you must carry it up one staircase) and that there is no breakfast included. Otherwise, a wonderful gem of a place, and I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I would highly recommend Hotel il Bargellino! It was within walking distance from the train station & near other Florence attractions. Carmel actually helped us get reservations to the Accademia. She & Pino truely made us feel at home. I was impressed from arrival to departure with their service. My husband & I both thoroughly enjoyed the terrace & the conversations with the new people we met there. Stay here! Thank you, Carmel & Pino, for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Il Bargellino for two nights in September. It was one of our favorite places in Italy. Pino was a wonderful host. We stayed in Room 1, which is right off the main entrance. We had a private bathroom, which had a great shower with plenty of water pressure and enough hot water. (I can't say that for other places in Italy). We especially liked having our own expresso coffee maker in our room. That was totally unexpected and we loved having it. The terrace/patio up on the second level was delightful. We enjoyed relaxing up there in the evening with a glass of wine. There was also a convenient clothesline for hanging a few small items. There was a common room that had all kinds of travel books that former travelers had left behind for future guests like books about the Uffizi Gallery, Florence, Tuscany, etc. We were sorry that Carmel was in the U.S. while we were there, because we enjoyed talking with Pino so much. He was very gracious to help us plan our time in Tuscany and he even gave us a very nice map of Tuscany because ours was way too big and unwieldy. We would not hesitate to recommend Il Bargellino.

Room Tip: Room 1 was fine, even though it was on the street side. The noise from outside was not bothersome t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stay here! Wonderful hosts, great rooms, lovely outdoor terrace (with a parrot!) very sociable so no hiding in your rooms! But also private if you wish. Close to some very very good resteraunts such as Trattoria "I due G" di Firenze (great Rose wine - Ruffino). Fantastic paintings around the house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#73 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquires to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me though our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Trip Advisor page on the left, our Face Book Page or Skype. Carmel47. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Bargellino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.