We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Bargellino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Bargellino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #52 of 461 hotels in Florence
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Our stay in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I would highly recommend Hotel il Bargellino! It was within walking distance from the train station & near other Florence attractions. Carmel actually helped us get reservations to the Accademia. She & Pino truely made us feel at home. I was impressed from arrival to departure with their service. My husband & I both thoroughly enjoyed the terrace & the conversations with the new people we met there. Stay here! Thank you, Carmel & Pino, for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    53
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
144
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Il Bargellino for two nights in September. It was one of our favorite places in Italy. Pino was a wonderful host. We stayed in Room 1, which is right off the main entrance. We had a private bathroom, which had a great shower with plenty of water pressure and enough hot water. (I can't say that for other places in Italy). We especially liked having our own expresso coffee maker in our room. That was totally unexpected and we loved having it. The terrace/patio up on the second level was delightful. We enjoyed relaxing up there in the evening with a glass of wine. There was also a convenient clothesline for hanging a few small items. There was a common room that had all kinds of travel books that former travelers had left behind for future guests like books about the Uffizi Gallery, Florence, Tuscany, etc. We were sorry that Carmel was in the U.S. while we were there, because we enjoyed talking with Pino so much. He was very gracious to help us plan our time in Tuscany and he even gave us a very nice map of Tuscany because ours was way too big and unwieldy. We would not hesitate to recommend Il Bargellino.

Room Tip: Room 1 was fine, even though it was on the street side. The noise from outside was not bothersome t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stay here! Wonderful hosts, great rooms, lovely outdoor terrace (with a parrot!) very sociable so no hiding in your rooms! But also private if you wish. Close to some very very good resteraunts such as Trattoria "I due G" di Firenze (great Rose wine - Ruffino). Fantastic paintings around the house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel represents good value for your money. I selected it for the following reasons:
1. proximity to the train station (no taxis required)
2. Convenient location to sightseeing destinations
3. Affordable
4. Booking was easy as English was a common language

Upon arrival we were given a clean and spacious room. We bought a bottle of wine and enjoyed the terrace for a pre-dinner drink where we also met and enjoyed our conversation with several of the other guests - an unexpected plus. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. I would recommend this hotel for travelers like us who prefer small and affordable versus, big and lavish.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which potentially could be noisy, but with fan on and windows shut...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel Il Bargellino was perfect for us. We only stayed one night, but it was enough for us to really be impressed with Pino's operation. Very large, clean rooms. Walking distance to the train station and nearly anywhere else in Florence. Pino was an amazing host - even after we got back to our room at 2am and woke him up to open the front door for us! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel or B&B is located close to the train station, which is a plus in any European city. You can go walking to every important attraction in Venice. The owners who live as well in the same B&B are cooperative and decent people.

We had a fridge in the room and prepared a light breakfast every morning, you can take the breakfast with you to an ample and open terrace the hotel has. The room was big and the bathroom small but bigger than in many other places in Italy. they clean the rooms every day. The problem here is privacy, as the rooms have a very high ceiling and practically you can hear everything from everywhere at night, including a parrot the owners have.

Room Tip: choose a room, which opens to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff, and the bathrooms the cleanest ever, nice balcony for everyone to relax after a busy day. Restaurants recommended were very good, as was the laundry service. Convenient to train station and the major tourist sites. Good value for the money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquires to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me though our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Trip Advisor page on the left, our Face Book Page or Skype. Carmel47. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Bargellino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.