We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of the true Italian hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Bargellino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Bargellino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #51 of 461 hotels in Florence
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A taste of the true Italian hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stay here! Wonderful hosts, great rooms, lovely outdoor terrace (with a parrot!) very sociable so no hiding in your rooms! But also private if you wish. Close to some very very good resteraunts such as Trattoria "I due G" di Firenze (great Rose wine - Ruffino). Fantastic paintings around the house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    54
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
142
39
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel represents good value for your money. I selected it for the following reasons:
1. proximity to the train station (no taxis required)
2. Convenient location to sightseeing destinations
3. Affordable
4. Booking was easy as English was a common language

Upon arrival we were given a clean and spacious room. We bought a bottle of wine and enjoyed the terrace for a pre-dinner drink where we also met and enjoyed our conversation with several of the other guests - an unexpected plus. The owners couldn't have been more helpful. I would recommend this hotel for travelers like us who prefer small and affordable versus, big and lavish.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor which potentially could be noisy, but with fan on and windows shut...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hotel Il Bargellino was perfect for us. We only stayed one night, but it was enough for us to really be impressed with Pino's operation. Very large, clean rooms. Walking distance to the train station and nearly anywhere else in Florence. Pino was an amazing host - even after we got back to our room at 2am and woke him up to open the front door for us! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel or B&B is located close to the train station, which is a plus in any European city. You can go walking to every important attraction in Venice. The owners who live as well in the same B&B are cooperative and decent people.

We had a fridge in the room and prepared a light breakfast every morning, you can take the breakfast with you to an ample and open terrace the hotel has. The room was big and the bathroom small but bigger than in many other places in Italy. they clean the rooms every day. The problem here is privacy, as the rooms have a very high ceiling and practically you can hear everything from everywhere at night, including a parrot the owners have.

Room Tip: choose a room, which opens to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Very helpful staff, and the bathrooms the cleanest ever, nice balcony for everyone to relax after a busy day. Restaurants recommended were very good, as was the laundry service. Convenient to train station and the major tourist sites. Good value for the money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Florence! I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Il Bargellino and the host, Pino. The room was large and clean, the location was great and Pino, really made the stay for us. He consistently went out of his way to make sure our visit in Florence was the best it could be. The hotel was also a great value. Thank you Pino for an amazing stay!

Pros:
• Our room was very spacious and immaculately clean with a comfy bed
• The bathroom was clean and big compared to many others that we encountered in Italy
• Pino was by far the best host we had during our travels in Italy (we stayed in 6 different hotels)- he went above and beyond every day to make sure we were having a fantastic visit and was very friendly and helpful
• Great location- walking distance from the train station (5min) and most major attractions (very close to the central market and the duomo)
• Our room also had a door that went out onto a big communal balcony, where we often hung out in the afternoons (I don’t think all rooms were attached to the balcony but they could access it for lounging)
• Free wifi was fast and reliable
• We had a fridge and coffee maker available in our room

Cons:
• Air conditioning costs extra and Florence can get quite hot (it’s worth it to pay a little more if you are visiting in the summer)
• We found Leopaldo charming but if you have an issue with birds, you should be aware that the hosts have a parrot who is often out on the balcony during the day

In response to some bad reviews I read:
1) We had no issues with odours or cleanliness in our room (Pino told us during our stay that he is planning to renovate “room 6” in the near future, which seems to be the focus of the few negative reviews)
2) We did not meet Carmel during our stay since she was travelling, but Pino spoke very comprehensible English and we had no problems communicating with him
3) We had a problem with mosquitoes on our first night at the hotel but after informing Pino, he replaced the tablet of our plug-in repellant device and we didn’t have any further problems after that
4) This is a family run hotel that is clean and simple with fantastic hosts but it is not a 5 star resort (nor does it claim to be), if you want to stay in a fancy hotel then go pay more and stay elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Il Bargellino guests ROCK! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post.
Always much appreciated.
Carmel Coppola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Il Bargellino in Florence for 3 nights in August, 2012. What a terrific little neighborhood hotel! Very easy to find due to Carmel's detailed instructions. She also had booked reservations for us at The Accademia Museum in advance. Large room, very clean, loads of hot water and a fantastic coffee maker in the room (we only wished for more coffee!).
Our room (#9 - which I had requested based on a TA recommendation...) opened onto the second-floor terrace which was a great place to have coffee or wine and antipasto in the evening. It was extremely quiet and no one was ever on the terrace with us, except Pino, tending to his plants or Fernando (his parrot!). The hotel was only a few minutes walk from the train/bus station and since Florence isn't that large and we like to walk, it was very convenient to everything. The hosts live on site and you can come and go as you please, even return very late at night. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat! A breakfast in the morning would have made it even better!

Room Tip: #9 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post on TA. It makes my job easier when prospective guests have a chance to evaluate Il Bargellino before reserving.
Carmel Coppola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Florence
#73 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquires to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me though our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Trip Advisor page on the left, our Face Book Page or Skype. Carmel47. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Bargellino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.