We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bellevue House to your Saves list
Bellevue House
via Della Scala 21, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 521 Florence B&B and Inns
Vacaville, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Central and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

New ownership of Bellevue House suits it well. Luciano, his wife Suzy and son Allesandro team up to make the place welcoming, clean and comfortable. Don't hesitate to ring the bell on the ground floor level for help with carrying luggage up to the hotel. We tend to be emailers, made a lot of connections ahead of time with Luciiano who gave lots of info to us despite knowing we'd stayed a full week years ago. Great value and location cannot be beat. These folks are putting money back into the hotel and it shows: new showers among other renovations. Ask to see their newly remodeled (private) kitchen as the owners are proud of it. These folks are well connected for restaurants, and sights and will provide all info you might need. They were very kind to email us re: a forgotten item which we will gladly visit them to reclaim. Morning cappucinos in the next door Bar not spectacular. Otherwise, all was great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of the hall, far from the street and office if you need to sleep in (office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    43
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
103
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked Bellevue House based upon the excellent views it has all over the internet, which its 100% deserves. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotless. The air conditioner unit worked like a charm. The owners are endlessly helpful and kind, and the location is unbeatable. Having stayed at many hotels in Florence throughout the years, I can confidently say that for the price, there is nothing that can match Bellevue House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband, our two sons - 10 and 12, and I stayed at the Bellevue House for four nights, and we were totally thrilled with our experience. From my first email connection with Luciano to Alessandro helping us load our bags into the taxi on our last day, the hosts were amazing - over-the-top helpful and kind. Luciano, Alessandro, and Sue were constantly helping us by booking reservations, making suggestions, calling to verify directions, printing off train schedules...They were totally focused on doing their best to help make our time in Florence wonderful. I loved knowing they were on site all night - especially because we were traveling with our kids. The room for four was huge, comfortable, charming and clean. I always spray any hotel room with disinfecting spray as soon we arrive but woke up on our first morning realizing I'd forgotten because the room just seemed so clean. It was a little dark, but we loved that because it was so peaceful, cool and relaxing after long, hot days of site seeing. Our kids slept in which never happens because it was so dark in the morning. This was a huge bonus because anyone with kids knows it's much more enjoyable to be around kids who are not overtired. The location was great - very close to the train station and close to all major sites. The value was amazing. We just wanted someplace clean and safe to crash after enjoying beautiful Florence and got so much more. I enthusiastically recommend The Bellevue House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As other users have said - don't go here for the view, but if you're here to check out Florence and surrounding, it's SO near the train station and convenient to everywhere.

I had booked this location from the other reviews on here, and was told there were new owners who had taken over. Based on their EXCELLENT communication before booking and prior to check in, I knew they were aiming to please - and they hit their service on the mark.

WHen we arrived a bit late due to rental car issues and figuring out how to drive in Florence (NOT RECOMMENDED - we were just dropping our rental car off), Ale (the son) was waiting for us on the curb and jumped at the chance to help us with our bags, all the way up the stairs. My wife would like to add - all 91 of them! It's at the top of 4 flights of stairs, but this was disclosed prior in their communication, and this didn't bother us anyway - the value was already good enough.

We got upstairs and Ale gave us a map and pointed out EVERYTHING we could possible imagine or want to do in the city. and he made us feel so welcome and that we could ask him anything. We also liked the fact he lived there in case something went wrong. We opted to pay a little extra for the room with its own bathroom, as it was our honeymoon - I'd say this was definitely worth it.

The room itself wasn't anything special, but had a lot of space (the "Caroline Room"), and was good to sleep in. The bathroom was huge - you could tell it USED to be a shared bath that opened to the hallway, but now it was private - all not a big deal.

We were told to ask Luciano (the new owner, and working the desk the next day) if he could help us get tickets to the most popular museums, which he did - and he did have to stay on hold for 25 minutes to get them for us, while we were out. It helped us avoid a rather long line - he did this as a courtesy, where as other hotels it seems charge for this service.

All in all, this is a GREAT value, so long as you don't mind a few steps. Ale and Luciano went way out of their way to accommodate us especially on our honeymoon, and we were so thankful we stayed here.

Room Tip: Make sure you request with the one with an Ensuite bathroom if you want a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night, for our last night in Italy before heading back home to the USA. We picked this hotel because it is very close to the bus station, in order to get to the airport. If you are looking for a place with a view of the bridge, this is not it, but it was not what we were looking for....It was easily within walking distance to all the major sites, and Luciano provided us with a map and highlighted the route we should take to get everywhere. He also made us reservations at the Uffizi and Academia before we arrived, which I HIGHLY recommend you have him do. It was nice to be able to get right in, and not waste time standing in line when you could be seeing other sites. The room had its own bathroom, which was great. And air conditioning, which was also fabulous. Another great thing, a discount for paying cash! Luciano was very helpful, and the room was relaxing and quiet after spending the day exploring. Only downside, no breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was in a great location to walk to all the sites in Florence. The owners were very helpful. Showed me where all the attractions were and best ways to see them. They even came to the train station to give me my credit card when I left it at check out. The room had all the necessary amenities (AC, fridge, etc) and a very strong wifi signal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
up north
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Easy to find, very close to train station and to all major sites with lovely clean rooms, very comfy bed and quality, well thought through, range of bathroom etc products.

Best of all tho was fantastic service - super friendly but still v professional.
Great tips on evening walks, local eateries and things to do to make best use of my brief time in the city. Even better was finding a fab shiatsu practitioner who fixed my poorly back with an early morning session!

Thoroughly recommended :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: via Della Scala 21, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House close to Santa Maria Novella Square opposite the famous Pharmacy-museum. The property is on the last (3rd) floor of a nice 15th Century Palace (Palazzo Riblet). We do not have a lift, but we are always happy to help guests carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. All our rooms are equipped with AC, TVSAT, electronic safe, electric kettle with several types of teas, free WiFi, hairdryer and mini fridge ( not a minibar ) in all rooms. Complimentary mineral water on arrival.First-class linen and quality toiletries in the bathrooms. We can book museums on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House b&b
Bellevue House Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.