We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian hospitality at its best….” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bellevue House to your Saves list
Bellevue House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   via Della Scala 21, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
City tax
Ranked #33 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italian hospitality at its best….”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently stayed at Bellevue House based primarily on the great reviews that we had read…our expectations were not only met but exceeded by a lovely family run operation of Luciano, Suzie and Alessandro who are very well suited to the hospitality industry, their service is excellent!
Our room was quite lovely, very large and comfortable and well furnished. Pretty much everything you would need was either in the room or available on request, even the entrance sitting area near the reception area was cosy and inviting. There were maps and tourist information available, books to read and the knowledge of the area that was offered was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble for this family who made you feel very welcome! Luciano, with his knowledge of people in the industry, was even able to assist us with booking other accommodation in Rome.
All the galleries and most things people go to Florence to see are within walking distance and the main train station is just 5 minutes away.
Overall we had a great stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family, and also to all those out there in the TripAdvisor community!
PS: A quick note to remember the 3 flights of stairs, but once again assistance was offered by Alessandro to help carry our bags both on arrival and departure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
115
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Positives
- intro by hosts, showed us a map and highlighted best points in Florence plus restaurants we probably wouldn't have gone to but were the best we'd eaten at
- room was spacious and clean
- easy access from train station and main attractions
- comfortable beds
- functioning wifi

Negatives
- none

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Michel family treated us like their most important guests. Upon arrival Luciano provided us with maps, information on good restaurants nearby, and how everything in the room worked. Our room was very comfortable with a recently refurbished bathroom. We were greeted each time we returned to our room and felt comfortable knowing that one of the family was there to assist us if needed. Allesandro (one of the sons) went above and beyond for us. When we requested a cab to the train station the morning of our departure he insisted on carrying or heavy luggage so we could walk the short distance to the train station instead of spending money on a taxi. This property is a good value and conveniently locate to the train station, shopping, good restaurants and major attractions. One thing to be aware of - although this is called a "Bed and Breakfast" no breakfast is served.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Victoria" room. Quiet - no frontage to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luciano, Proprietario at Bellevue House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your gleaming review. It is always great to receive feedback – be it positive or negative – on our work and your kind words are an incentive to keep improving the quality of our service here at the Bellevue.
I also greatly appreciate your extremely flattering words for my son Alessandro: in keeping with our philosophy at Bellevue House, he always makes a point of treating our guests as best as he possibly can, and that includes giving them helpful tips to save a few bucks and being enthusiastically available to help out with heavy luggage!
However, your enthusiastic and much appreciated comments also give me the opportunity to publicly clarify one important aspect concerning Bellevue House: the fact that we do not serve breakfast.
I would like to point out that our establishment is not licensed to serve breakfast for the simple fact that we do not have a legally appropriate room where such service may be performed.
Our establishment is legally designated with the Italian term affittacamere professionale, which is the Italian equivalent of the English guest house.
Unlike several Italian bed and breakfasts that avail themselves of the title only to inform guests upon arrival that breakfast is to be consumed in a bar close by, we prefer to avoid potential misunderstandings by stating beforehand that we do not serve a proper Italian breakfast but that we are perfectly able to recommend several cafés on our street.
That being said, I would also like to point out that breakfast was not served by the previous ownership but that, since taking over in July 2012, I have equipped each room with a kettle, several teas, and instant coffee.
Thank you again for your excellent review. It is not only proof of the quality of the service offered here at the Bellevue but also an invaluable opportunity to clarify any doubts concerning the absence of breakfast at our establishment.
With warmest regards and genuine gratefulness,
Luciano Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was easily the biggest, most comfortable room we had the entire time we were in Italy. There was one room with the double bed, a second (smaller) room with a single bed, and then the largest bathroom I’ve encountered on this trip! It was huge and very comfortable. The second room with the single bed came in handy as we were both working on the trip and acted as the ‘work’ room. The internet was fast and consistent, which was great.

The B&B has a great location: a short walk from the train/bus stations, close to many restaurants and cafes and also close to the markets. There is no breakfast included with the room, but plenty of options just outside the door, or you can buy bread and cheese from the market and have breakfast in the room.

There is no elevator, but if you pop up to let them know you have a lot of luggage they will come down and help you carry it up. We found the service to be very friendly but perhaps a tad disorganized – we arrived at about 1pm, and were the first there, but then had to wait as the owner took a phone call and then assisted another group of people that arrived while we were waiting. Eventually we just left our bags and headed to the market, and checked in when we got back. That being said, though, everyone that we dealt with was hugely helpful and smiling. Very friendly place.

I would definitely stay here again. Of the two places we stayed in Florence, I preferred the location of this hotel and found the price very reasonable for the size and comfort of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

You can´t get much better than this when it comes to B&Bs.

Great location (walking distance from the train station and major attractions), cleanliness, personal and genuine service/care.

Once you book, you get an email from the owner confirming the reservation and giving directions, but most important, asking if he can be of any help when it comes to reservations, suggestions and so on. Very kind and very nice, a small detail who makes a huge difference.

Take note only that the hotel is located on the third floor on an old building and if you´re carrying lots of heavy luggage that it´s a consirable way to the top (ring the bell for help from the "staff")

Also of note is the fact that like most of the B&Bs, it´s run by the family who owns the place (luciano, his son, his wife and 1 or 2 employees), so if you need to check-in late (after 10 pm, for instance) it´s important that you advise the staff when booking.

The rooms are big and clean, not fancy but get the job done. There are good restaurants nearby, including one in front off the hotel.

We asked Luciano for a suggestion regarding a nice restaurant, but not on the too much expensive side, and he pointed to us Hostaria Giovanni, which was fantastic.

All in all, I´d recommend this hotel if you´re in the B&B business or want a more personal experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Bellevue House isn't a Bed & Breakfast. It is a hotel with clean, quiet rooms, attentive owners (husband, wife, and son), conveniently located less than a 5 minute walk from the bus/train station in old Florence. The bed was comfortable and the room had an updated, modern bathroom, complete with a hair blower.

Our room came with queen bed, writing table, couch, fireplace, water heater for coffee/tea, and a complimentary large bottle of water. WiFi is available.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the hall, right next to the entrance. It is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

From entering the portico and walking up three flights of broad stone stairs, we arrive at a classic Florentine hotel flat. Our grand room overlooked the front street and had four-pane windows, so the street noise was under control. Luciano, Susan and their son Alessandro were graceful and helpful hosts. This section of Florence is crowded, but it is also close to everything which adds to the fun. We would choose this accomodation again. It is small, tasteful, classic, friendly and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: via Della Scala 21, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bellevue House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House close to Santa Maria Novella Square opposite the famous Pharmacy-museum. The property is on the last (3rd) floor of a charming 15th Century Palace (Palazzo Riblet). We do not have a lift, but we are always ready to carry even heavy luggage up the stairs. All our rooms are equipped with A/C, sat TV, safe, kettle with a selection of teas/instant coffee, free wi-fi, hairdryer and small fridge (not minibar). We provide a complimentary bottle of mineral water, and quality linen and environmentally friendly toiletries. We are always happy to book museums upon request. We have "parity rates" with all the online travel agencies we work with, but are happy to offer a discount (5% for one night or 10% for 2 or more nights) if guests decide to book directly with us using our website's Simple Booking reservation platform. We kindly ask potential guests to state in the "Special Requests" field of our official booking platform the status of TripAdvisor user. With the assurance of the best possible treatment during potential stays, Regards, Luciano Michel and family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House b&b
Bellevue House Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.