We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Stay with Exceptional Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue House

Save Saved
You added Bellevue House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellevue House
via Della Scala 21, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 507 Florence B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Charming Stay with Exceptional Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spending a night in Bellevue house resembles a stay with your family. The owners are so warm and caring that you actually feel at home. The shared hall is well decorated, and it gives the place a great deal of it's charm. The room we stayed in was elegant, spacious and clean. Since it is not in the newest building, the tiles in the room were quite old, which on one hand contributed to the allure of the room, but on the other hand made it feel somewhat less clean (even though it was clean!). We had a comfortable bed and a great private bathroom, both clean and big, and the coffee/tea stand, big closer and mini-fridge in the room were very nice. The location of Bellevue House is very close to the train station, and yet not at all far from all the city's main attractions. In addition, Alessandro recommended us a great local restaurant which was excellent and not expensive that we really liked and probably would not have found otherwise, and they even gave us a free desert for being guests of the Bellevue house, so it was really cool. There is free WiFi in the room, which was very important for us but it could have had a stronger signal. In conclusion, we had a really nice stay. It wasn't so nice dragging the suitcases up the stairs 3 floors but: a) Alessandro offered to carry it for us so I really cant complain, and b) It was stated before we made the resevation so it was clearly our choice. From the value perspective, I think the price was fair, but if it was slightly cheaper it would have been perfect. We will remember the Bellevue house as an excellent experience, and mainly for Luciano and Alessandro, so thanks again guys and we hope to see you soon! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    59
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff at this special place did everything they could to make our stay in Florence wonderful, from the large, clean, well-appointed rooms to providing information about the City and great recommendations on where to eat. They were heavily booked, but managed to find us a room for each of the three nights. It truly was a home away from home and you felt that you had your own little piece of Florence for a few days. Note that it is up a few flights of stairs and there's only one "B" in the "B and B" while we were there, but there were lots of places to grab breakfast nearby. Thanks to Luciano and Alessandro for a great stay.

Room Tip: Go to the fabulous restaurant that they will recommend just a couple of blocks away. The lunch spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here recently in late September 2012. It was just wonderful! The place was not hard to find and in close walking distance to everything -- museums, train station, etc. The place was very well kept and our room was great...it had TV, a wonderful assortment of teas, a very comfy bed and more. Everything was so clean! The bathroom was spotless! The owners were extremely helpful and nice. Their son even recommended many wonderful places to go and eat. After leaving, they noticed I forgot my make-up bag in the room and they called me and texted me several times after I had already left. When I ran back to get it, they were preparing to mail it out to me. They are very sweet nice people and it made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent four nights at Bellevue House, in two different rooms. We spent the first three nights in the spacious Carolina room, then left to travel to the Cinque Terre region and throughout Tuscany. We then returned the night before our flight home and stayed in the (smaller, but perfectly lovely) Manila room. Luciano graciously kept some of the souvenirs we purchased during our first stay, and placed them in our room upon our arrival for our last night in Florence.

This was just one of the many delightful experiences we had with Luciano, however. He gave us maps and great advice on where to go (including a market that happened to be underway during our visit), made restaurant reservations and reserved an early morning taxi. He advised us to eat at L'Osteria di Giovanni for our last night in Florence and it was the best and most memorable meal we had in Italy! But here's the kicker – he got up at 5 am to make sure we were awake to catch our cab to the airport for our very early flight, and then lugged our heaviest bag down three flights of stairs. We had settled our bill the night before, so it certainly wasn't necessary for him to get up with us, let alone haul our luggage! He was also very responsive when we had trouble with the plumbing in our room. And when he learned we would be traveling to the Cinque Terre, he insisted on loaning us an Italian magazine that would show us the dramatic flooding in that area in 2011, and its subsequent recovery efforts.

Staying at Bellevue House was like staying with a family member. We felt welcomed even before we arrived, due to Luciano's friendly and prompt email responses to our inquiries. Bellevue House is very conveniently located near the Santa Maria Novella train station, a gelateria and wine shop, and we easily walked to all the major sites in Florence. There is no elevator, but as Luciano put it, the stairs are "better than a gym." (They are no more difficult than walking through your average Italian hill town.)

Bellevue House was the perfect "home base" for our travels and we could not have asked for a more generous and welcoming host! So happy that we started and ended our dream vacation here!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place had the kindest, most helpful people we encountered on our entire trip. Luciano and his son, Alexandre carried our luggage up and down stairs for us, recommended places to go, helped with directions etc. The rooms were big, the bathrooms were huge. It was just wonderful. Booking direct helps them out. I highly recommend this place that is very close to the train station and some very good places to eat. It is located up a few flights of stairs in a cute older building that does have a courtyard.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter. Streets rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just a quick note to thank Luciano, the owner of this place, who was so helpful and welcoming. He gave me advice on places to see, on restaurants to eat at, and he spoke perfect French as well as English. Luciano's father was French, which explains his last name, Michel. Thank Luciano for all your help and friendliness. Whenever I return to Florence, I will stay at the Bellevue House B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights in Florence and the hotel was just great. It is run by Luciano (spelling) and his family (Susie and Alessandro) who make you feel right at home with great hospitality. In addition to providing us with good travel tips and maps Luciano also made restaurant reservations for us at nice restaurants. The room was really large and very comfortable. The location is very close to the main Firenze SMN station and walking distance from all the historic areas. Thanks for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: via Della Scala 21, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House close to Santa Maria Novella Square opposite the famous Pharmacy-museum. The property is on the last (3rd) floor of a nice 15th Century Palace (Palazzo Riblet). We do not have a lift, but we are always happy to help guests carrying heavy luggage up the stairs. All our rooms are equipped with AC, TVSAT, electronic safe, electric kettle with several types of teas, free WiFi, hairdryer and mini fridge ( not a minibar ) in all rooms. Complimentary mineral water on arrival.First-class linen and quality toiletries in the bathrooms. We can book museums on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue House Hotel Florence
Bellevue House b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.