We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very confortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Johlea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Residenza Johlea
Save
You added Residenza Johlea to your Saves list
Via San Gallo 76, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
brazil
1 review
“Very confortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

At first, I had a surprise because the hotel is located in a commercial building, there are many offices in the same building. The lift is very old and strange. But the hotel is very confortable and clean. It has a familiar environment. The staff were vey friendly and help us with all information about the city, transport and leisure. There was free wireless internet. The breakfast was nice and very fresh. Also, they prepared free tea, coffee, water and some cakes to take during all the day. Our balcony was right above a busy street but we never had one problem, the place was very quiet. I travelled with my mother, we stayed 6 nights and we enjoyed a lot the hotel. We had a very good stay and we recommend to any future travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenzajohlea, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johlea, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guests from Brazil,

it's a big pleasure for us reading you wonderful comment!

We are so happy that you could enjoy so much your stay in Florence thanking also our accomodation. We assure you that this is the maximum prize in our work!

Therefore , hoping to see you soon again here, we send you now all the best from Florence, cordially

all the Staff of Residenza Johlea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    156
    25
    9
    1
See reviews for
51
210
26
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

August 2012: Visited with husband and two sons 6 and 8 for 3 nights.
Plus: Very friendly staff, Nicely decorated and very spacious room, good air-conditioning, Computer with internet access available
Minuses: Location not that close to the sightseeing monuments -15 to 20 minutes walk and no bus available (too far of if you travel with children). VERY VERY HARD beds (cannot remember having slept on such a plank) Did not like the tiny (broken) shower especially as it was with a shower curtain and water flowed through the bathroom.
I would not return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenzajohlea, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johlea, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guests from Antwerp,

thank you for your attention writing your opinion on Trip Advisor!

We would like to inform you that our beds are very new! We are always very careful in conserving and improving our accomodation, therefore we are very sorry if you weren't satisfied with your stay.

Finally we inform you that from our Residenza to the city center (10-15 minutes walking) there are also busses as n° C1, 11, 17 people can use.

Anyway thank you again and best regards.

Residenza Johlea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was everything I had hoped for when it came to a bed and breakfast. Although not in a traditional home setting but a large old building, the small feel and wood floors helped turn the building into an intimate setting. We had read that the traffic would be a bit of a bother or that it was a little bit out of the way from the city center but we found both of those things to not be entirely true. Our window was right above a busy street and we never had one problem. They are 5 minutes walking distance from Accediema (statue of David) and about 10 minutes from Duomo. There is a small grocery store down the street if you want to take some refreshments back and a great large market to shop for those souvenirs to take home!

The staff was so sweet to us and was willing to help in every way. Breakfasts is not large but it's enough to get you ready for the day as well as 24/7 tea, coffee, water and pastries. The wifi single isn't strong in the rooms but it was no bother to us to sit out in the dining room to play email catch up or to Skype with our little girl back in the states.

There are only two things you need to be prepared for and one is, if you don't read the fine print you need to know there is no staff from 12:30-4:00. We never had a problem with this but on occasion we would hear the door bell ring and ring. No idea why but I'm assuming it was because someone was trying to check in. And secondly, you can't get a taxi off the street in Florence so you must schedule them in advance. But that wasnt difficult either.

We loved our stay and will recommended to any future travelers :)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenzajohlea, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johlea, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guests from Indiana,

receive please our warmest thanks for your attention writing a so long, detailed, precious review about our accomodation.

We are very happy when people do appreciate all our efforts we put into our work! For arrivals during our lunch-time we always advise our Guests to contact a special mobile number, therefore we are very sorry if you were troubled by the bell.......

Hoping to see you again in one of our properties, cordially from Florence,

all the Staff or Residenza Johlea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I enjoy staying in unique hotels, and Residenza Johlea is unusual and charming. At first my daughter and I thought the taxi driver had left us in the wrong place because the 400-year old building appeared to house law offices and apartments. Once we read the fine print on the brass doorbell plate, we knew we had arrived. The very European-style small self-service elevator prevented our having to lug bags up one flight of marble stairs, and we soon located the small brass plate designating which door belongs to the hotel. Once inside, I felt as though I had entered a friend's home for a visit. The staff members were pleasant and helpful. The entry, dining area, and bedroom were quite nice, interestingly decorated, and very comfortable. During two weeks in Italy, I learned that Italian air conditioners chill the air but don't circulate it very well. This was the only hotel I stayed in that provided an oscillating fan to help. Guests may use the fridge at will, and a selection of beverages and snacks are offered on the honor system. Delicious pastries left over from breakfast remain on the table for guests to finish up during the day. Coffee and espresso machines are also provided 24/7. The small breakfast room is sunny and inviting, and other guests seem to fit right in with the Johlea "family" of travelers. Every place we wanted to visit was within walking distance, and we didn't even bother to get a taxi to the train station upon departure. The 15-minute walk gave us a chance for one last look at Florence.

Room Tip: A family with young children enjoyed using a room with a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenzajohlea, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johlea, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear guest from Dallas,

many many thanks for your kind words and careful attention and charming description.
We are very glad that you immediately felt at home since that our prime purpose and that,
moreover, you felt comfortable and well served.
We wish to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your daughter soon again in our home in Florence and until then we send you our warmest regards

From all the staff of Residenza Johlea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights. a fairly large sized room and we had a toddler (which they had prepared a baby cot for). it was a clean room with a good sized bathroom. the breakfast included different types of bread in the morning and they had water throughout the day with light snacks. the staff was always helpful pointing us to a variety of good restaurants and places to go to. location was great as it was about a 10 min walk to the city centre. the only issue we had was that the wifi signal would stop once we entered our room and i heard that it was an issue for a few other people, but it was fine in the common area. would definitely recommend this b and b again especially for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenzajohlea, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johlea, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guests from Toronto, Canada,

thank you very much for your kind appreciation.
we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here, that you felt comfortable and well served.

As to the WiFi signal, please don't forget that we are in an old "palazzo" which is'nt ideal for modern technology! Indeed, our guests can use their own computers in the common areas or the computer on our desk always at your disposal, without any problems.

Our warmest regards hoping to see you again in Florence
From all the staff of Residenza Johlea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Johlea was charming..that's the best way to describe it!! Just charming!! So central to everything too!! And the staff was great!! They went out of their way, especially for my food allergies!! And gave us lots of tips!! We loved our room, we felt like we were the only one's upstairs!! Nice and quiet!! We would definitly stay at Johlea again!! Thanks for everything!!

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs room...so quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenzajohlea, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Residenza Johlea, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear guests from Newcastle, Canada,

spescial thanks for your wonderful review which gives a spectacular description of our accommodation and service.
It was a real pleasure having you here with us - it felt like family through your kindness and sharing experience and pieces of life.
We are happy that you could enjoy so well your stay in Florence and hope to see you
again soon!

Please recieive our warmest regards
From all the staff of residenza Johlea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have to admit that I had to stay in a few more places in Italy before I could fully appreciate all that Risidenza Johanna had to offer. The room initially appeared a little plain Jane but it did have a colourful artistic quilt cover and the bed was ample and firm. What I didn't realize was that the space was luxuriously large compared to many B&Bs and the shower was quite ample and always well supplied with toiletries. It was cool too during oppressively hot weather. (And always had cold bottles of water, along with other treats, in the honesty fridge) The breakfast was ample and somewhat varied and had the specific tea I need to start my day right. We had free use of the internet. The location is very central. And best of all, all the staff were exceedingly helpful, giving us excellent restaurant suggestions and other guidance that made our stay a true pleasure. I would definitely return here and I consider myself somewhat picky.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Johlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Johlea

Address: Via San Gallo 76, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Residenza Johlea Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Johlea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.