We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could rate JK Place 6 stars!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JK Place Firenze

Save Saved
You added JK Place Firenze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JK Place Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 461 hotels in Florence
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I wish I could rate JK Place 6 stars!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Beautiful and chic decor, staffed by marvelous, warm people this spot goes beyond the definition of hotel. The feel is private city townhouse with your every need anticipated and met with efficiency and good humor. The rooms/bathrooms are lovely, each decorated in serene tones. The simple menu is perfect. Property Manager Claudio is on his game, reception managers Angela and Lorenzo along with Food Manager Matteo are world-class as are their reports and colleagues. After five nights we were truly sad to check out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    40
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
46
220
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

From the unassuming exterior, you would not expect to find such a delightful hotel that feels more like a private villa than a hotel. While there is no formal restaurant, there is a full kitchen with a fabulous menu - the food here was as good or better than anywhere else we ate in Tuscany! The living room is comfortable, surrounded by books and artwork and there is also a lounge with a large TV. The staff is attentive and always friendly. Our room was spacious with a view of the Piazza. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Florence - I will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

In 2008, my wife retired from teaching. To mark her retirement we went on a four week odyssey that started with a week biking in the Loire Valley, followed by stops in Paris, Avignon, Geneva, Rome and then four nights in Florence before we ended our trip with a week in Tuscany, on a walking/cooking tour. The SMN train station in Florence was the starting and ending point for our Tuscan tour and JK Place, being just a few minutes walk to the train station, was our base for the four nights in Florence. We enjoyed our stay at JK Place and Florence itself so much in 2008 that we said we would have to come back to Florence and if we came back, the only place to stay was JK Place. It is now 2010, and, again we are on an odyssey that includes a week in Cornwall, a week in London, nine days in Italy (Milan, Venice and Florence), Paris and then a week in New York. And, Yes, we went back to JK Place.

This time we opted for the package 'A Day at the Market', had a great time exploring the San Lorenzo Market with the Chef, followed by a private cooking lesson at the Florence private chef school where we had had a group lesson back in 2008. It was an absolutely wonderful day, that ended with a walk in the early evening where we ended up at the Accademia and had the unique opportunity to experience Michelangelo's David with no crowds (Accademia open late Tuesday ngihts).

When we return to Florence (and we will), we will come back to JK Place - the staff and their quality of service, the comfort of the rooms, the lounge, the terrace, the location - all the factors that make your stay so enjoyable, are the reasons we keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in JK place and loved everything about it. The concierge was friendly and knowledgable, the location was very convenient, and the whole place is very welcoming. We loved the tastefully decorated library and lounge and the warm ambience. The room is not huge but very comfortable. The mattress was firm and the water pressure strong. It really felt like coming home every night. This will be the hotel we go to when visiting Florence from now on.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We just finished a stay in the JK Florence. We were surprised to arrive and find construction directly in front of the hotel. When we asked about it at check in, the staff was dismissive and said there was no noise on weekends or before 10am. Each morning we woke up to the sound of jackhammering much earlier than 10 (7, 8 am) which lasted throughout the day. It is unclear what is going on in front of the hotel but there is major construction equipment. We overheard another traveler say this has been going on for some time.

After visiting the JK Capri twice, which we ADORE, we were surprised and disappointed by this especially since we had called the hotel to ask about the rooms prior to arrival and asked detailed questions and no one ever mentioned the construction.

Book a room facing the back NOT the Santa Maria Novella square if noise bothers you and be prepared for noise throughout the day with a pause for a long lunch break for the workers. Also, ask hotel when you book if the project is done, as hopefully it will wrap soon. The Penthouse room faces the back and was quieter.

I hope this is helpful, I hate to say anything bad about JK as the Capri hotel is one of my favorites in the world, and Florence is lovely too, aside from the noise which is obviously a city project and not under managements control but nonetheless could affect you.

Also note that there is no gym or spa, whereas the JK Capri has both. We were surprised there was no gym.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is accredited by "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" . It is centrally located from the center of Florence just 2 bridges down from Ponte de Vechio and on a special piazza of its own. The bed was "yummy" comfortable, the furnishings divine, and the care by the staff was stellar. They could not do enough to make you happy. Free refrigerator drinks and chocolates in your room, food in the dining room to enjoy, wonderful greeting when you arrive in a comfortable lounge. It really felt like home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week trip through Italy. We spent our time in Rome, Tuscany, Positano, Capri and Florence. Tuscany and Florence at the top of our list of favorites. We spent three fabulous nights at JK Place, which was one of the highlights of the trip. First of all the hotel is beautiful, great art work and ton's of attention to detail, which we love (Hotel was published in A.D.) ! Staff is 5 star+ & great location. The concierge staff in particular was fabulous, great suggestions and extreamly helpful. The whole vibe of this hotel is very personal, warm and Uber stylish (a great combination, but not easily achievable). We also stayed at the Westin Excelsior one night which was much more expensive and didn't hold a candle to JK Place. Just a great experience all the way around!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JK Place Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JK Place Firenze

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#14 Spa Hotel in Florence
#20 Family Hotel in Florence
#34 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JK Place Firenze 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, sophistication, style and value right in the heart of Florence. J.K Place has carved out an exceptionally pleasant niche for itself, a niche that’s just seconds from the door of the stunning church of Santa Maria Novella. All the major sites are within easy walking distance. The rooms: Just twenty of them, snazzy, characterful, no two are alike, and all with signature soft furnishings in creams, granges and neutrals offset with contrasting piping in an effortlessly chic Anouska meets Ralph love-in. The glass covered courtyard and roof terrace beckon on warmer days whilst winter afternoons are best spent huddled by the fireplace in the J.K Lounge with a thick slice of cake and a steaming hot cioccolata con panna. Add very friendly, discreet service plus probably the city’s best Concierge and you are just asking for a good time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your JK Place Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jk Place Firenze Florence
Jk Place Firenze Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JK Place Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.