We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel -- Could Not Have Been Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JK Place Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JK Place Firenze to your Saves list
JK Place Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel -- Could Not Have Been Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

This hotel was all-around excellent. First, the look/feel: An elegant design aesthetic to the public rooms, all gracefully furnished with modern pieces/style, but preserving older touches such as coffered ceilings original to the building. Truly lovely. We had friends staying elsewhere and when they came over, they couldn't believe how nice our hotel was.

Hotel was an easy 5 minute walk from train station. We were greeted by the concierge upon our arrival and given a cold drink and relaxed. Our bags were whisked to our room sight unseen.

All day, each day there was a lovely selection of cold drinks and cakes/snacks (complimentary) in the living room. Breakfast was an excellent buffet with yogurt, croissant, smoked salmon and cream cheese, cereals, capuccinos etc made to your order. You could also order omelettes if you wanted, but we found the buffet very nice and completely adequate.

Our room was wonderful -- completely sound-proof (I am somewhat noise sensitive so I really care about this). We stayed in the basic level room that was 350 euro per night including everything -- tax, breakfast, etc. I might upgrade for a higher priced room next time since the room was rather small. However, it was beautifully designed -- clearly by fashionable architect. Excellent bed and bedding, individual climate control, complimentary minibar stocked with cold drinks. Turn down every night. Everything done professionally and with style.

The one thing I will say is that in our room, the bathroom was kind of on an upper level that connected to the main living area of the room with a short staircase. Our first night, I fell coming down the stairs in the night and skinned my knee badly. I'm young and spry so this was not such a big deal, but for an older person, could have been disastrous. People booking might want to ask about whether the bedroom has this loft-style bath set-up if they are at all clumsy at night.

A word about the staff -- The staff here go above and beyond to make your experience wonderful -- the concierges came up with dinner reservations every night that were pretty good despite the fact that a) we were there over a holiday, and much was closed and b) in my opinion, practically everywhere to eat in Florence is a major tourist trap where the restaurants are expensive and they don't really care if you come back or not, so service is crummy. JK staff was just great with any request -- they would find a way to make it work, and were incredibly gracious and friendly.

There is also a hidden gem roof deck where you can lounge with a book and call downstairs for a glass of wine to be brought up to you. The roof deck was just as elegant as the rest of the place and a nice touch.

I should note we were not on our honeymoon/anniversary etc trip so I believe our stay was fairly typical. All in all, this hotel was one of the best I've been to in Europe, and I do a lot of premium business travel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    47
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
54
252
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

I read so much about JK Place I thought would be the best hotel of my trip, but so for it is the worse one.
The place is nice, good locationg, decoration, big rooms.
At night my room was Very cold, I complained lots of time and they keep saying would be better (they were trying to fix it). After 1 (one) hour I aked for a portable hitting, that was very noisy and made the room dry.
Today I woke up and asked what time the Catedral open so that I could go early as there is a bit line and it is ranning. They told it open 8am. I take I taxi go there and it was closed!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

JK Place is a little charming hotel in the heart of Florence. Located in Piazza Santa Maria Novella, you're walking distance from most of the attractions of the city, and just a few minutes from the train station.
The hotel has just 20 rooms but only a few of them have a view, so be prepared to spend a lot of money if you want a room overlooking the square.
Staff is nice and helpful, the decor is classical with a modern twist, rooms are quite spacious and clean (with free mini bar).
I loved JK Place, but probably wouldn't return again on my next trip to Florence.. there are a lot of better value 4 star hotels in the city and JK doesn't worth the extra money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

Beautiful place, great service. Perfect location. Breakfast is a bit spartan, but all other considerations made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Yes the hotel is nice, BUT is massively overpriced. They believe they are something that they are not. The price is way above what they have to offer. Smartly decorated, but lots of rooms have no view as all and whilst are nice, are not worth the special price you have to pay to stay here, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The best bed in all of the hotels we stayed at in Europe!! so comfortable and NOT rock hard.
Loved it. Staff was great. The rooms was quiet with an elegant bath and bathroom. Stocked mini fridge included ( soft drinks only). Fantastic location near the Santa Maria Novella Church. Expensive, but a great splurge. Breakfast was a very nice continental spread.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

the rooms are luxurious and spacious, the common rooms are designer chic stylish with a friendly ambience
The staff is really, really nice and they can perfectly tell you where to go to in the city. The location is also perfect next to the centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JK Place Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JK Place Firenze

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Florence
#7 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JK Place Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, sophistication, style and value right in the heart of Florence. J.K Place has carved out an exceptionally pleasant niche for itself, a niche that’s just seconds from the door of the stunning church of Santa Maria Novella. All the major sites are within easy walking distance. The rooms: Just twenty of them, snazzy, characterful, no two are alike, and all with signature soft furnishings in creams, granges and neutrals offset with contrasting piping in an effortlessly chic Anouska meets Ralph love-in. The glass covered courtyard and roof terrace beckon on warmer days whilst winter afternoons are best spent huddled by the fireplace in the J.K Lounge with a thick slice of cake and a steaming hot cioccolata con panna. Add very friendly, discreet service plus probably the city’s best Concierge and you are just asking for a good time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your JK Place Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jk Place Firenze Florence
Jk Place Firenze Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JK Place Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.