We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in a comfortable home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JK Place Firenze

Save Saved
You added JK Place Firenze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JK Place Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 461 hotels in Florence
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Like being in a comfortable home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is perhaps my favorite hotel in Florence. It's not on the river, nor is it the most luxurious... but it's just so comfortable. You'll see review after review talk about feeling like you're in a "luxury home or apt." And that's so true. After dealing with crowds in Florence, you feel MORE rested knowing you're headed "home" to the JK Place Firenze for the evening.

What makes it feel like a "home?" There are working fireplaces, antiques and collectables - Chinese prints, brass-framed photographs, and neo-classical furniture all tell you you're not in an ordinary "hotel."

And then there's the staff. Angela, Marina, Giovanni, and Lorenzo went above and beyond constantly - and they made some great restaurant recommendations. You almost don't want to leave... it's a great break from the "vacation & hotel" grind.

J.K. Place Firenze is located in Central Florence, close to everything. It's a charming, boutique hotel and well worth a look! It's also a Virtuoso property... so booking through a Virtuoso advisor you can get these complimentary amenities:

- Upgrade on arrival, subject to availability
- Continental or buffet breakfast daily is already included in rates/served in our courtyard breakfast room
- One complimentary luncheon for 2, once during stay (including tax but exclusive of gratuities and alcoholic beverages)
- A J.K. Gift

No doubt my favorite hotel in Florence (I do like the Seasons too, but it;s a different feel). For more information and multiple photos, see http://ow.ly/oPwTG

Room Tip: I like the Double Deluxe Room s. They are a good size: 35 mq (350 sqf) up to 40 mq (400 sqf) and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    39
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
45
218
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here one night on a trip to Florence. The location is excellent with terrific views from the public rooms (and presumably some of the rooms) to Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The hotel's public rooms are comfortable and stylishly appointed. It feels more like staying in someone's luxury home or a B&B than a hotel. The rooms are very nicely decorated as well and the decor is calming shades with modern finishes. The bathroom was spacious and luxurious. The services was outstanding: very charming and friendly hotel staff will go above and beyond to make sure your stay goes well. We got very good restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. During the afternoon, coffee, tea and cake was served. They really do go out of their way to take care of you.

Our room was very quiet, looking out on to the rooftops behind the building. The doors and windows are very thick and provide a very quiet atmosphere.

My only small complaint was that the public rooms were overly saturated with the hotel's signature "scent" via candles and oil pots. We blew out candles nearby but because the service is so good they light them again almost immediately. Seriously, not all guests enjoy these scents. Other than that I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I decided to stay at JK Place based on the wonderful reviews. They turned out to be true. The staff are really what make the place. We went with a two story suite. The room is modern & simple. It was really nice having 2 bathrooms. It was a very nice touch that the mini bar was complementary.

My only complaints are: on every floor of the hotel they have scented candles lit. I am extremely allergic to fragrance. This was a huge flaw in my opinion. The scent was very outdated & unpleasant. I wish other reviews had mentioned this as I would have considered another hotel. I would seriously consider changing to a non-scented candle. It is offensive.

The rooms facing the square are noisy.

The beds are not very comfortable & the sheets are stiff and scratchy.

They have a great menu at the restaurant with fresh & healthy selections.

Overall, it's a great boutique hotel in a decent location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this hotel July 12th through 15th. The moment we walked in the door they treated us so well and welcoming. Our room wasn't quite ready so we sad in a sitting room with beautiful decor, much welcomed air-conditioning and an amazing lunch with a smooth chianti. After traveling by train from Rome, this was a much needed quite respite. As we relaxed, our room became ready and we were escorted upstairs to the second floor. Our room was rather small for a couple of American ladies who overpacked with four pieces of luggage, however, the sheets, duvets, and towels were of the highest quality and soooo comfortable. The room had an unusual terrace with nothing but brick wall and some plants with windows high up that were from the building behind us. Rather odd, but still quaint. We had a very large claw bathtub/shower. The bathroom was beautifully decorated as well. On the desk in the room was fresh fruit snacks left every day. The location of the hotel was fairly central to the hustle and bustle of a very busy Florence. The breakfast each morning was a combination of self serve and you could order almost anything you wanted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We didn't stay here, although it certainly looks a great place, with a stylish reception and lounge area. We had lunch to escape from the heat. Service was impeccable and we would certainly come back here next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon. It was expensive but you only honeymoon once (well, that's the theory!!) so we decided to go for it and my oh my was it worth it! The service you get there is amazing. The staff are so polite, friendly but formal and helpful; they will do anything for you. They booked us a restaurant, got us tickets to the Uffizi and parked our car in a local garage. Also, within the price, which is expensive, everything is included, even the mini bar and snacks downstairs.
It's a small boutique hotel with a very personalised service and if we could afford to (unlikely) we would go there again in a heartbeat!
The only slightly negative thing for me was the linen used on the beds. It felt very hard and papery to the touch and I didn't sleep particularly well for this reason, but it was a minor detail!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

we recently spent 4 nights at JKPlace in Florence. What a magnificent hotel.!!

The accommodation superb.,We were in a stunning suite, beautifully and tastefully decorated in the most exquisite fabrics.There were the most exciting artworks throughout the hotel.What a pleasure to spend time amid such wonderful things.

The service was impeccable. From our arrival until our departure we were made to feel as if we were the most important people in the hotel.

Thank you to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JK Place Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JK Place Firenze

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JK Place Firenze 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, sophistication, style and value right in the heart of Florence. J.K Place has carved out an exceptionally pleasant niche for itself, a niche that’s just seconds from the door of the stunning church of Santa Maria Novella. All the major sites are within easy walking distance. The rooms: Just twenty of them, snazzy, characterful, no two are alike, and all with signature soft furnishings in creams, granges and neutrals offset with contrasting piping in an effortlessly chic Anouska meets Ralph love-in. The glass covered courtyard and roof terrace beckon on warmer days whilst winter afternoons are best spent huddled by the fireplace in the J.K Lounge with a thick slice of cake and a steaming hot cioccolata con panna. Add very friendly, discreet service plus probably the city’s best Concierge and you are just asking for a good time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your JK Place Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jk Place Firenze Florence
Jk Place Firenze Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JK Place Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.