We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique hotel in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JK Place Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JK Place Firenze to your Saves list
JK Place Firenze
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 463 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Boutique hotel in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago by myself and very much enjoyed it. The design is stunning and it feels like you are staying in a beautiful townhouse of a very rich friend! The concierge was also very good (Claudio)...not sure if he is still there. Normally I would love going back to this hotel but we have fallen in love with the Four Seasons in Florence because of the property (beautiful gardens, pool, and spa). If it wasn't for that, this would be our home in Florence. If you are looking for a well located, downtown Florence hotel that is intimate and beautiful and a great base to explore the city and its treasures, this is a very smart choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    48
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
56
257
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

JK place is a small luxury hotel with first class amenitites and first class staff. Marina was very pleasant and efficient with her emails. She provided us with a fantastic tour guide of which we spent 5 hours on a walking tour! Nadia was outstanding. We took her for lunch to her favorite local pizza place and enjoyed the day immensely.
The rooms and comfort of the beds was terrific. I asked for laundry to be done and they had it ready the same day-totally unexpected.
First class place in the heart of the city.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at JK in the beginning of June as part of our honeymoon in Italy and it was an amazing experience. I would say that this was one of the most service oriented hotels I have ever stayed at. Upon arrival we were greeted with cold drinks and something to snack on. Throughout the day they are at your disposal for drinks/food/recommendations etc. They assisted me with car rental trouble I was having and also helped my wife find a few items she was hoping to buy to take home.

The hotel itself is absolutely perfect. The rooms were clean and welcoming, the lobby is charming and chic and the hotel offers a great roof deck to relax and have a few drinks. Only downside, depending on which room you get, they can be rather small. That being said, it did not detract from the experience.

Overall strongly recommend and am already planning another stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved our stay at the JK Place Firenze. The service was superb. We were greeted with cold drinks and snacks immediately upon arrival. Our room was absolutely perfect and ready when we arrived. It was extremely comfortable, modern, beautiful bathroom, complimentary mini-bar, slippers, robes, and very clean. It was like staying in your own personal studio in Florence. The hotel was amazing- drinks and appetizers always available, wonderful and delicious breakfast buffet with made-to-order eggs, and superb service. It is beautifully decorated with delightful touches everywhere. On our last evening, we celebrated my birthday. The hotel made a special Italian birthday cake that was fantastic! We loved our 3 night stay. Beautiful location, beautiful hotel, and wonderful service...worth every penny!

Room Tip: We stayed in the JK special- the most basic room. It was small but very quaint and had everything w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was our third trip to Italy and second visit to Florence. Our first trip to Florence was a total disaster as it was our first visit to Italy and we, like many other naive North American travelers I'm sure, thought we could make a "day trip" to Florence - by car! Big mistake, but that's another story...

So we decided to give Florence another try for our 12th anniversary and we had the best vacation yet. This hotel really made the difference.

You never quite know what you are going to get when you visit Italy. Unlike in Canada, where hotels are new-ish but somewhat sterile, buildings in Italy are OLD. Guess what? You are going to notice that things are not quite what you are used to. Spaces are compact, it is crowded and noisy and you have certain bothersome smells. It part of the package when you visit the "old world" and in a strange way it is part of the charm once you relax and go with the flow of Italy. If you can't get past this don't come to Italy.

So... the other travelers' pictures are accurate. This hotel is charming, completely spotless, recently renovated and elegantly decorated. The rooms are functional and the cleaning service was prompt and efficient. We stayed in the junior suite which was unique with its two floor design. We appreciated having two bathrooms with great water pressure! We have been to other Italian "high end" hotels where the water barely trickled out. The bed was extremely comfortable and the view of the piazza SMN very entertaining. During our visit we enjoyed watching the morning clean up crew (including the garbage collection that empties a giant underground box from a tiny unassuming above ground receptacle), some kind of protest rally blaring Arabic pop music and a slightly creepy candlelit midnight procession for corpus christi - all from our window.

We appreciated that there were no incidental charges. The price of the room includes all taxes and also daily breakfast and wifi. We had bottles of water delivered to the room several times and weren't charged at all and enjoyed having a custom breakfast served in our room each day. The brioche were amazing. We had a free dinner included, fresh fruit in the room that was replenished daily, a beautiful bouquet of flowers when we arrived and a gift of a bottle of room fragrance (perfect re-gift for the in-laws) for our anniversary.

It's my biggest pet peeve when you are nickle and dimed for every bottle of water or for wifi. One time in a different country I was charged 22 euro for a waffle that "wasn't included in the breakfast buffet". I think that's really tacky. When I paid my bill at JK Place there were zero extra charges - ZERO - and I think this makes this hotel unique in my experience.

Best of all were the staff. Because the hotel is small you got to know the same people as you saw them doing various jobs around the hotel. The waiter at the restaurant delivered our breakfast a couple times, for example. The staff were helpful when approached but respected your privacy. We booked all our own restaurants so I could practice speaking Italian but I was too intimidated to book a private visit to an artisan factory that was only by appointment. The lady at the front desk arranged this for us efficiently on the spot upon request. We liked the fact you have to buzz in at the front door to get in. We think this is a good security feature.

I could go on and on about how amazing Florence is but then this review would be too long (best gelato ever - Vestri, Borgo degli Albizi 11R). The hotel's location allows you to visit all the main attractions within a few minutes walk. Long story short: we had a fantastic and romantic vacation at this intimate hotel. I would say over all it was one of if not the best hotel experience we've ever had. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Buon viaggio!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We thought about staying on the river but later realized it got very buggy there at night. The location of the J K Place proved very good as it is lose to the station and all of the major sites. We travelled on foot our entire visit. The service was hugely helpful and always friendly. The hotel has an understated elegance while still being relaxed and comfortable. Our room was two levels with a loft bed/bath above the living room and desk. Not ideal for lounging in front of the TV bu that is not what we came to do. We faced onto the square which can get noisy, especially with morning deliveries. Overall, the breakfast was adequate and the two-course meal included with the room turned out to be surprisingly good! In summary, a private retreat that feels like a family home in the heart of Florence! Grazie!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The JK is a 5 star nugget in the midst of the Florence "flea market". The service was excellent and the amenities were first rate. The hotel was quiet and attentive, and the rooftop deck was very comfortable. Our waiter Ariel was excellent. The JK is an oasis and made our trip to Florence a very comfortable experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JK Place Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JK Place Firenze

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella, 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#14 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#28 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JK Place Firenze 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, sophistication, style and value right in the heart of Florence. J.K Place has carved out an exceptionally pleasant niche for itself, a niche that’s just seconds from the door of the stunning church of Santa Maria Novella. All the major sites are within easy walking distance. The rooms: Just twenty of them, snazzy, characterful, no two are alike, and all with signature soft furnishings in creams, granges and neutrals offset with contrasting piping in an effortlessly chic Anouska meets Ralph love-in. The glass covered courtyard and roof terrace beckon on warmer days whilst winter afternoons are best spent huddled by the fireplace in the J.K Lounge with a thick slice of cake and a steaming hot cioccolata con panna. Add very friendly, discreet service plus probably the city’s best Concierge and you are just asking for a good time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JK Place Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jk Place Firenze Florence
Jk Place Firenze Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JK Place Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.