We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous, friendly, comfortable, well located.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous, friendly, comfortable, well located.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

It was unusually cold and raining when we arrived in Florence, it's a straightforward and quick walk from the station to the hotel but we were somewhat bedraggled on arrival at about 8pm on a Sunday. I appreciated guidance from previous reviewers to help find the hotel on the square by the Santa Maria Novella church - put your back to the SMN church doors and it is at 10 o'clock!

We have limited Italian (learned 50 words before we went) and tried our best in Italian (think the policeman out of Allo Allo) to introduce ourselves, confirm our reservation and be friendly and polite when arriving and I asked if we could have a quiet room. They upgraded us - free - to the rooftop junior suite with a large 270 degree roof terrace (exclusive to us!!!) with views across Florence to the mountains and hills - and to the Duomo. There was an oriel window cut into the wall by the bedhead which had a view across the roof tops to the Duomo and Campanile. We were delighted with it! The bathroom - as you might expect - was amazing. The bed was absolutely gorgeous, sooo comfortable!

You would think that we would say how wonderful it was given the upgrade, but we spent time with a number of other guests who also raved about their rooms and the quality of the hotel. So whilst we were extremely lucky, others were happy too. All the rooms have good facilities.

We had to ask reception to lower the temperature of the aircon, but this was a recurring theme in Italy.

Reception are helpful and friendly - I think more so if you are friendly and polite - and very tolerant of pigeon italian, they taught us some useful words! They offer great breakfasts and are in a really good location near enough to walk into town but not so near that it was congested. There is no restaurant, (although a lovely breakfast room) but reception recommended a good trattoria (La Trattoria al Trebbio) round the back of the hotel which was reasonably priced and which we enjoyed very much - we went on each of our three nights stay. It is not a gourmet restaurant, but it was always busy, full of Italians and we thought it was very good and very friendly. They also do excellent half bottles of a variety of chianti's.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    282
    48
    4
    11
See reviews for
189
641
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

So, this place is beautiful. great location,

After spending a week traveling around italy, this hotel was a pleasure to check into.
Everything about it was lush and comfortable.

My wife, especially loved the details, in the rooms as well as the wallpaper in the hallways.

Everything was spacious, clean and really beautiful.

We only got to spend one night, but wish we could have spent more time there.

I was also told about some sort of smoking room, but never found it.
maybe next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Santa Maria Novella hotel is located in a beautiful piazza of the same name and is in walking distance to all major attractions. Since the hotels is located in a mainly pedestrianized square, the location offers a bit more peace & quiet as compared to some other centrally located hotels I have stayed in Florence that are off a small but busy street.

The hotel is very inviting with decor having an old world and elegant feel. Staff is friendly and attentive. My room was very spacious with bed, small sofa, desk, table, wardrobe and even quipped with a tea kettle (which can still be hard to find in Italy). The room was quiet, clean with marble bathroom...other rooms offered at a lower rate tend to be smaller but are still spacious and well presented so still a great option to have the opportunity to stay in this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Actually, we don’t think there is anything more you could ask for!
We arrived in Florence by train and the hotel is situated only 2 minutes walk from the train station so, coupled with how central it was to most other things to see and do in Florence, it was the perfect location.
We were told at check in we had been upgraded to room 601 – the only room on floor 6. At the time of check in we didn’t really get that this was so great but when we got to the room we understood straight away. Not only did we have a portal style window that had a great view of the Duomo, we had a huge outside terrace that could have easily seated 18 people on 3 different tables with amazing views across the whole city!
The room itself was very comfortable and the bathroom had a huge glass roof that we could actually see when we climbed the cupola of the Duomo!
The staff were very pleasant although, to be very honest, apart from asking a few questions and check in/out, we didn’t really have any need to use them much.
Breakfast was basic but for us just right.
The only negative comment we can make about the hotel is that there is what can only be described as an ambulance station across the square. This meant that throughout the day, and sometimes night, the ambulance would put its sirens on full blast as it left the square. We always take earplugs with us but if we hadn’t of had them, this may have been a big problem, especially as we were there over the 2nd June Italian bank holiday so the city was full of revellers!
All in all we had a great stay in Florence that was made all the more special by staying at this hotel in room 601 with its great terrace and great views.
We had been recommended by a friend the Golden View restaurant on the other side of the Ponte Vecchio to the hotel. It was so good; we ate there twice during our 4 night stay! Sounds like a Chinese restaurant but it certainly isn’t. If you are a meat eater and want a treat, go for the Florentine steak!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Fantastic! We stayed in an upgraded room. It was large, quiet, exquisite, luxurious. The breakfast buffet was delicious.

It was close to the train station and walking distance to everything.

If there was a minus - it was that it overlooked a nondescript park on the edge of the tourist center.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I was concerned booking this hotel about how close it was to the station but it is actually in a quiet area and lovely piazza (Santa Maria Novella). Would absolutely book it again. Walking distance to everything, view of Duomo from room window and views from rooftop terrace excellent.
Very impressed with quality of rooms, gorgeous old world character to building and decor but still clean and roomy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have stayed before and love this hotel. Large comfortable rooms, friendly service and great help with extras such as airport transfers and booking museums and restaurants. (If you want to visit the Ufizzi get the concierge to book in advance and you bypass those queues!)

You can have great views over the Piazza SM Novella. But watch out for two things. Prices can double for a Saturday night. And there can be noise - especially if you shun the aircon and have windows open. Avoid lower rooms at the far end from the church and you should be fine. If not , you could be over The Irish Pub. We were - directly - and though there was no noise at all from inside the place itself, we were woken up at 3am on Sunday morning by a very enthusiastic party leaving the joint - even through the very good double glazing which cuts out most noise. Our other two nights were fine.

We would still return but be smarter about room choice and ask for something higher up and away from that end. Or go for the cheaper rooms overlooking a back street which should be quieter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.