We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisima” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 Hotels in Florence
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bellisima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great 4-star hotel that felt like it was refurbished within past month. We had a room overlooking the piazza that was huge. The bed was so comfortable I've contacted them to find out if I can get one here. Staff was terrific and had the most stylish uniforms I've seen. Check out the roof terrace!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    282
    48
    4
    11
See reviews for
189
641
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family of 4 (2 teenage children) just stayed at this beautiful hotel last weekend. Everything about this hotel is first class. The rooms are large, clean and beautifully decorated with an Italian flair. The rooms are quiet and over look the Santa Maria Piazza where there can be live music at night. We stayed in 2 connecting rooms and this was perfect and convenient. The breakfast has a wide variety of food - cereals, cheeses, pastries, eggs, bacon, fresh juices etc.. Very large for an Italian breakfast. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect. It's a 5 min walk from the train station, 10 min to the Duomo, and is very convenient to delicious restaurants. We never had to take a taxi. The Santa Maria Novella hotel is our favorite and added a special touch to the end of our 10 days in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was at this hotel for three days.From the time we checked in everyone was helpful and curtious.We had an up graded room with a 'view".The view was of Santa Maria Novella Square.It was very pretty and quiet.Breakfast was very good and who doesn't love Florence?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Everything about this hotel was beautiful. The rooms so well furnished, the location just perfect and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay again in a heart beat. The square just outside was so lovely and there were enough outdoor restaurants to suit most tastes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Be sure to find out if a single room is a a twin to double size bed or a French bed more cot/couch. My room was nice enough with an average sized European bathroom. My friend's had a tiny French bed and a huge bathroom. Nice bed linens. Towels? Not really. We paid close to the same price. Otherwise, breakfast was beautiful, service was great. WIFI access was spotty depending on where we were in the hotel. Best place for me, while the least desirable, was in the breakfast room...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Horrible wifi. It's free but every 1200 seconds it kicks you out. Weird. Large rooms excellent location but then anywhere in florence is excellent. It's not that big a city. Free breakfast included. We did not get our boys a view room so their room overlooked the garbage. They could not open the window because of the smell! So make sure you state that in the reservation

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We selected this hotel because of the reviews here and because we were able to use AMEX points to pay for it. We spent two nights here. We took a train from Milan to Florence and the proximity of the hotel to the train station is fantastic. A very short walk to the square. The room was very large and we had a king size bed. The decor is antique and beautiful. Lovely fixtures in the bathroom. There's a terrace on the roof with great 360 views. One night we got cheese, bread, wine, etc. and brought it up there to enjoy. If you're going to do that, buy some paper plates and plastic utensils and a wine opener! The bartender opened our wine for us but we were pretty primitive otherwise. We hope to return to Florence someday and we'd absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think our room faced a street but we didn't spend much time in it. We spent our time in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.