We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great location, fantastic view from the room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 460 Hotels in Florence
northern california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great location, fantastic view from the room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and loved it. The view of the Church and piazza was fantastic. Be sure to get walking directions to the hotel if you take the train -- there were no signs on the exterior of the hotel but the directions they gave us made it easy to find. The hotel is comprised of several buildings so it is a little challenging finding your room (multiple elevators), but that just added to the charm. Although it is within walking distance to the train station, the hotel itself is quiet and has a calm atmosphere. It was a relief each night to come back and relax there. We never took a taxi the entire stay in Florence, everything was within walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    273
    43
    4
    11
See reviews for
184
615
39
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After a poor experience in Venice I started having doubts about our travel agents understanding as to what we were after. My mind was put at rest when we checked into this hotel. Fantastic location especially given how close it was to the train station. (We'd caught the fast train from Venice to Florence) The hotel is with a cluster of hotels surrounding the Piazza Santa Maria. Only had to walk out of the hotel door to get a great meal or sit in a Piazza bar people watching while we had a good red and those skinny crisp Italian Pizzas. Great sized room, walk in robe, lounge area, internet, great breakfast included in room rate. Really friendly and helpful staff, especially at the reception. Easy walking distance to all the things to see and do. Really enjoyed this hotel, even the tiny antique rattly lift that opened at both sides!

Room Tip: We had a room with no view at all but the room was so nice we didn't care. That said if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good location especially if you're arriving by train. The hotel is situated in delightful square and if you are lucky enough to have a room overlooking this you can soak up the Italian atmosphere. Our standard room was at the side and less opulent than our friends, but reasonable.
Breakfast is very good, set in a lovely room.
Everything you want to see in Florence is within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for room overlooking square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. We we were upgraded to the sixth floor room with a terrace. It provided a fantastic view of Florence as well as some great opportunities for photos. The room was very nice with a beautiful circular window that allowed the morning sun to enter the room opposite the bed.
The staff was excellent and provided several great suggestions for dinner.
When I return to Florence I will definitely stay here again. Easy walking distance to all of the churches and other points of interest.
Great choice!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent location - short walk from train station, Dumo, Uffizi, bridges, dining, shopping, etc. We had corner room on second floor with view of piazza and entry way. Decent amount of space in room, big bathroom, and bedding very comfortable. Piazza is noisy from early morning to 10ish at night, but it is part of city environment and really did not bother us. Common area in hotel nicely appointed. Exercise room adequate and open early a.m. (unlike our Venice or Rome hotels), and roof top patio nice place to chill and soak up sun.

B'fast buffet was typical Italian, served in pleasant rooms and sufficed to keep us full till early afternoon. Front desk staff very cheerful and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I really love this hotel and try to stay here each time I come to Florence. The staff is truly amazing and very professional. The breakfast is terrific with many fresh items on the buffet. The bar is intimate with great atmosphere. The rooms are very comfortable with good size all-marble baths with rain showers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

very nice hotel, nice rooms and hotel feel, being on the edge of the square made it feel airy and open (yes, yes, a room with a view), though the square can be noisy at night. Good location for walking to everything.

Room Tip: rooms over the square have a great view, and an "openness" unusual in Florence, but the sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.