We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had! Staff is exceptional.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 hotels in Florence
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had! Staff is exceptional.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel value in Florence. Close to everything. Staff goes out of their way to help. One even walked us to our new hotel when we had to move. They had our luggage sent ahead. Perfect. Only two minutes from train station.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    725
    263
    41
    6
    12
See reviews for
174
589
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Of our 2 weeks in Italy, this hotel on Florence was our favourite. Our room was very spacious, air conditioned, with a gorgeous marble bathroom and enormous shower (note: the string in the shower does not turn out the light - it's an help alarm!) The rooftop terrace was the perfect place to watch the sun set or sip some wine with friends. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station and an easy walk to everywhere else in Florence. The beds were super comfy with fluffy pillows and nice linens. The breakfast buffet was great and served in a lovely room. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. I don't think I would ever consider another hotel in Florence. We loved it that much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We LOVED this hotel. We called ahead and pay a little more for a room a few floors up (not on ground floor) and with a view of the Santa Maria Novella Church and Square... it was worth every penny!! What an amazing view and room we had. The square is always busy, and it was great to look out our window and see Florence in full swing. The room was perfect! Clean. Elegant. And the staff was helpful, friendly at all times & made us feel a home (no pretension.. even though this is not one of the cheapest hotels). Very nice to see. The location was perfect. Below us was a late night Irish Pub... that was perfect after a long day of sightseeing. It was a great experience & I would recommend to anyone who wants to stay somewhere special in Florence.

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms above first floor & get a view of the square... worth the money for upgrade!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My two daughters and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It is a beautiful small hotel with a friendly professional staff. The included breakfast buffet was a particular delight, many good choices to eat in a gorgeous breakfast room. We loved the top floor terrace (once we found out how to get there) and enjoyed the drinks bartender Daniel made for us to sip there each night. The rooms were cool and comfortable with attractive decor and sleek marble bathrooms. But best of all was the location, looking out on the dome of the Duomo and the beautiful plaza and church of Santa Maria Novello. We found it an easy walk to the Duomo, the Uffizi, Oltarno across the river, the market and all the other sights. Best was coming back to the piazza after a day's touring and sitting at one of the outdoor cafes on the piazza for an aperitivo and people-watching. Va bene!

Room Tip: Ask for a piazza or Duomo view room! We got two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days while traveling through Italy
It was a very central location for walking around Florence and getting tours and trains
The rooms while not large we're clean,comfortable and well appointed.
The buffet breakfast was situated in a beautiful room and they worked hard to make sure everyone got as much breakfast as they wanted! Very nice!
Staff were helpful and friendly
I would stay again if in Florence
We were not aware of a roof top terrace

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

While checking in a woman was shouting complaining that her room had no balconies,the front desk assured her that no rooms had balconies. We were on our honeymoon and as wee were checking in behind the lady the desk clerk gave us a smile and them led us to our room. The "led us to our room" is the only problem we had with the hotel. It is a warren of rooms in two building and our room required to elevator rides and several twisty corridors. We arrived in our top floor room that had not one, but two balconies. One overlooking the church and square, the other Florentine rooftops. The room was quite large and the bathroom was beautiful. The square can be a bit noisy late into the evening. There is a self catered rooftop where we spent a really fun evening with other guests. The breakfast in the morning was quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I had been saving for quite a while to go to Italy to celebrate my 50th Birthday. The hotel is really lovely. The rooms are spacious with good air conditioning. The bathrooms are really nice - all marble with lovely fluffy white towels. The bedding is top quality. Although many areas within Florence are quite noisy, once inside the Santa Maria, you cannot hear anything. We had some really lovely nights sleep whilst staying there.The hotel is exceptionally clean. The roof terrace is a nice extra touch for chilling out and watching the world go by. The only downside we found with this hotel is that some of the staff are quite stuck up. They appeared to make a fuss of any of the guests who they expected tips from, i.e. people from the US. We did have some queries about public transport, i.e. trains and bus times. We were told that it would be better if we took a taxi everywhere. Unfortunately, our budget did not stretch to 60 mile journeys. Also, at breakfast, the waiting staff would make a bee line for the American guests, asking them what drinks they would like with their meal. On each morning, we had to seek out the staff to make our drinks request. Overall, you cannot fault this hotel as a building, but, from our experience, unless you are prepared to leave tips for everything, do not expect any great service from the staff.

Room Tip: We witnessed a man asking for an upgrade to a room facing the church square. We asked for an upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#24 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.