We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Regina, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The absolute best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

What an elegant, sophisticated, friendly and perfectly located hotel. We stayed 5 nights and were loathe to leave. The incredibly high-ceiling rooms, beautiful breakfast, and excellent staff make this choice outstanding. We had a room overlooking the slow market and a marble bathroom that I longed to retreat to at the end of each full day. I never take baths in hotels but I happily soaked in the deep tub surrounded by marble and dreamed of recreating this bathroom at home. On all accounts, an incredible stay and worth the extra bit of expense. A special thanks to Simona at the front desk for being so gracious, accomodating, and absolutely lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    273
    46
    4
    11
See reviews for
187
624
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed here the last week in April. The hotel was absolutely superb! The room was amazing, great view of the Santa Maria Novella, our windows opened up to the plaza and it was absolutely beautiful. Everything was within walking distance, and it was convienently by the train station. The bed was super comfy and we LOVED the plush robes and slippers. The shower was unbelievable. Best shower ever. It's great to go out and see Florence and come back to the hotel before dinner and shower, so relaxing.

The hotel staff was extremely accomodating. Anything we needed the hotel staff was there for us. They told us great restaurant locations, definitely eat at Buca Mario. Pricey, but worth it. You have to get the Florentine Steak, it's enormous and delicious! The breakfast staff was sweet and friendly and the spread was amazing. We never had to wait for a coffee and it was such a pleasant atmosphere.

Definitely my favorite hotel that we stayed at in Italy on this trip. A must stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for the beginning of our honeymoon and it was wonderful. I have been to Florence twice before and this was the first time I stayed over in this part of the city and I loved the location! You are literally steps away from the train station and an easy walk to the Duomo and beyond. Breakfast was wonderful and the hotel amenities were great. We couldn't have been more pleased! Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent hotel. Booked a junior suite that was quite spacious. Linens and towels were top quality, usually found at more expensive hotels.. Great breakfast. Very centrally located and can walk everywhere in Florence. Stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent 5 nights here as part of a leisure trip. Staff were helpful and welcoming - and had already responded very promptly to a pre-arrival query by e-mail. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with a great view. Fixture and fittings very impressive, as was the bathroom. Excellent breakfast provided to set you up for the day. Hotel location is good - handy for the station and trains,buses etc to other locations and airports.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights in Florence during our Italian honeymoon, 4/24-4/28. I planned and booked our entire two week trip, and relied heavily on TripAdvisor for booking the hotels throughout our trip, including this one. I am so happy we did!

I had booked a Junior Suite, and when checking in, we found out we were upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. The walk to our room was a bit crazy, since we had to take the elevator up to floor 2, then walk down a hallway and take another elevator to floor 6...but, it was WELL worth it. Our suite was beautiful, you walked into a sitting room with a balcony off to the side, and then walked into a large bedroom with a king bed, a large walk-in closet, a large bathroom with a huge tub fit for two (which we loved soaking in every night after walking all day long), along with a balcony that ran alongside the front of the room overlooking the piazza.

We took the train from Venice to Florence, and it was a quick and easy walk with our luggage from the train station over to the hotel. Everyone was very friendly at the hotel, and the breakfast was great, lots of fresh cheeses and meats that my husband enjoyed, along with pastry, cereal, eggs, juices and helpful waitresses bringing us coffee.

The piazza has food/wine/cheese booths all set up throughout, it's almost like a mini farmer's market. We ended up having dinner there twice because it was so beautiful to sit out there and enjoy different treats from the different stands. We didn't notice any issues with loud noise keeping us up at night. We walked a ton and we were close to all the major sites.

Overall, there is nothing we could find fault with, it was a perfect stay for us, and would definitely go back to both Florence and this hotel!

Room Tip: The hotel controls the air conditioning downstairs, we had to call down for them to lower the temper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our room was large and lovely with a great view. However, to get to and from our room you had to use 2 elevators AND climb a flight of stairs. This made "coming and going" very time consuming. Every traveller needs and wants different things - we didn't find this hotel "perfect" for us but it has many good features - the primary one being the location and the views. The breakfast buffet was ample (although the bread/pastries were the worst we had in 3 weeks in Italy). The breakfast room could get crowded since there were several different tour groups there during our 4 day stay - the staff worked hard but it was difficult for them to accommodate so many people. If the price had been less I would be more complimentary ... Again, we had a large room with a good bathroom - and that can be difficult to find. The views from the roof terrace were terrific - we brought a glass of wine up there 2 evenings - and had the terrace to ourselves.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.