We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 461 hotels in Florence
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is an exquisite little hotel that is on Santa Maria Novella in Florence. It is everything you'd want a hotel in Italy to be. It's a modern hotel decorated in turn off the century style. The location is wonderful...5 minutes from the train station and close to restaurants, shops and the wonderful museums and cathedrals....and, the breakfast is delicious. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    264
    42
    6
    12
See reviews for
174
592
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A little outside of my price range, but my girlfriend at the time convinced me to stay there. Absolutely loved it. Helpful staff arranged museum visit reservations, moved our baggage. Best breakfast I had in Italy. Just an absolute delight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel, in a convenient location near the train station. The first room we checked into would have been quaint for a couple, but for two sisters we needed to switch rooms. They immediately found another room, and it even had a better view so it was worth upgrading. That being said - once we were shown to our room, it was difficult to get back there. Two elevators, through a number of buildings, over the river and through the woods and there we were again. They do say it's all about the journey.
The room itself was beautiful, with nice furnishings and comfy linens. Marble bathroom with heated towel rack was good, but was a little disappointed after seeing photos of the bathtub rooms that we only had a shower. Still, it was nice and had great lighting.
Since the room was right on the square, the view was amazing. I was worried that it would be noisy, after our debacle in Rome on a loud piazza, but we never heard a thing.
The front desk staff were great. Always there, good with directions and even remind you to take one of their umbrellas when it's raining. We wanted to ship some things home and asked about a UPS store, the woman at the front desk could not be more helpful. She told us to just bring down our things and fill out a simple form and they would take care of everything else. Next day we received e-mails verifying our shipment. Made life so much easier.
Loved the breakfast buffet. Will agree the breakfast staff concentrate more on the tables and food than the guests, but it wasn't so bad.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel. Easy to get almost anywhere from the location and a nice place to come home to after a long day of taking in the sights.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of taking a room on the piazza because of noise - the bar downstairs closes earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We had requested a room with a bath but were shown to a room with a shower, however the staff dealt with the problem quickly and offered us a lovely room with a beautiful marble bathroom.
Everything was incredibly clean and the complimentary toiletries were good quality.
The location and views were wonderful, it can be noisy at night, we were unlucky in as much as our room was over the Irish bar, and it was St Patricks night!!!
The other negative was that the floors carry the noise & we were under very noisy people who walked over the hard floors with hard heeled shoes, so request a top floor room is quiet is important
The breakfast was really good with lots of choice

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location is perfect as it is central to all activities. Less than a five minute walk to the train station. We had tours booked every day with meet-up locations 2 minutes away. Shopping and restaurants are plentiful from the hotel.
Negatives were the front desk personnel could be more friendly except for one of the nighttime male managers; he was so wonderful and helpful. Daytime staff was curt, short-tempered and annoyed. Maybe because we were Americans? Don't know.. I do have to say on the positive side that any request was dealt with lighting speed.
Rooms are large, beautiful and clean. Pick your battles I guess.
You also have to look carefully for the hotel sign. We couldn't find it. Hotel name is on the welcome mat.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor facing the front. The view was interesting as it faced the Santa Maria Nove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was great. The staff were all very friendly. The room was nice with a good view of the Santa Maria Novella piazza and Basilica. The location of the hotel was excellent as we had travelled there by train, it was only a 5 minute walk from the train station. It was also in walking distance of the sights that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Returned today from Florence and feel compelled to write a very short review.

Location is outstanding, and we had a view over the Santa Maria Novella Cathedral... it was also convenient for us as we were arriving by train from Pisa airport. It is a good choice if you want somewhere with some character rather than a generic business hotel... all the staff were absolutely charming and they were very pleased to arrange flowers from a local florist to be delivered to our room for my girlfriends birthday. They recommended restaurants and seemed to get a lot of enjoyment from knowing we were enjoying our stay. The breakfast was very nice but what stood out was the beauty of some of the rooms in the hotel including the breakfast room... So good choice for character, atmosphere, location and comfort.. it isn't the cheapest option but I felt staying there was a special treat and will stay in the memory for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.