We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A near perfect hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 461 hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A near perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was great. The staff were all very friendly. The room was nice with a good view of the Santa Maria Novella piazza and Basilica. The location of the hotel was excellent as we had travelled there by train, it was only a 5 minute walk from the train station. It was also in walking distance of the sights that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    720
    258
    39
    6
    12
See reviews for
172
581
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Returned today from Florence and feel compelled to write a very short review.

Location is outstanding, and we had a view over the Santa Maria Novella Cathedral... it was also convenient for us as we were arriving by train from Pisa airport. It is a good choice if you want somewhere with some character rather than a generic business hotel... all the staff were absolutely charming and they were very pleased to arrange flowers from a local florist to be delivered to our room for my girlfriends birthday. They recommended restaurants and seemed to get a lot of enjoyment from knowing we were enjoying our stay. The breakfast was very nice but what stood out was the beauty of some of the rooms in the hotel including the breakfast room... So good choice for character, atmosphere, location and comfort.. it isn't the cheapest option but I felt staying there was a special treat and will stay in the memory for a long time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennistymon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon - we travelled from Rome by train and were travelling onto Venice to meet a cruise. The hotel was very near the station and was an ideal base for exploring Florence. the hotel was lovely and we had a room overlooking the square outside. They had left wine in the room also. It was very clean and the food was good. There is a pool on the rooftop with lovely views across Florence. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definitely return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at this property in February 2013 and I have to say that my wife and I really enjoyed this luxury hotel. It sits in the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella, and within about a 2 minute walk to the train station and a 5 minute walk to the street market! The rooms were ample sized with nice bathrooms and rain type shower heads. The towel heaters were a nice perk as well since it was very cold during our stay. The staff were more than helpful at every chance they saw us, and in fact we probably would have never even found the hotel if it wasn't for the directions they gave us. We were told the hotel was completely sold out, but you would have never known it. We were 1 of 3 couples at breakfast one day, and were completely by ourselves on another morning. I've seen some so-so reviews about breakfast, but it was typical of what you would get in other european cities; including coffee, juices, pastries, cereal and oatmeal, a few hot choices such as eggs and bacon, bread and some italian meats and cheeses. We actually enjoyed it very much and the staff in the dining area is very quiet, and does not bother anyone, so don't expect them to serve you. However, they WILL politely and quickly do whatever they can to assist you should you ask. The beds were very comfortable, and decor very classy that even included the name of the hotel embroidered on the sheets! I would recommend this hotel to anyone that was interested in staying somewhere in the city of Florence. The location was so central that we were able to see more than we thought possible.

Room Tip: While we didn't have a view of anything since our room was on the inside of the hotel, I can ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 night stay in this delightful hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful during our stay. We had a superior room which was large and stylishly decorated with a view of the square and the church. The location was excellent for walking to all attractions and the bus and train stations. Lovely marble bathroom , big comfy bed and good wardrobe space. Also the room was nice and quiet.
The only slight negative point was the buffet breakfast. The cooked selection every morning was always overcooked scrambled egg and bacon. Also the orange juice was from concentrate. All the other choices were fine though and it certainly wouldn't stop us from returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and there is not one negative thing to say about this place. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are comfy, everything is so clean!!! The front desk has to be the most helpful front desk we have ever had. We love Simona, she was fantastic!! The breakfast here is delicious, fresh fruit every day! We would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a wine buying trip. Have known Florence for many years and this is in a superb location just off centre in a small peaceful piazza about 5 minutes walk from the train station for those arriving by train, and only 10 minutes along the river to the Ponte Vecchio or the Duomo. Nice spacious lobby/reception area, and the quirky corridors and having to change lifts on the second floor to get another lift that went to the 6th floor all added to the fun and the charm. Was upgraded free to a larger room on arrival, which has a huge spacious room on the 6th floor with a wonderful view of the piazza and church. Even better was there was a chocolate fair on in the piazza so all the tents added to the charm of the square. Bathroom was also spacious, as was wardrobe, and rooms were kept spotlessly clean every day. The in room safe was good,(& free to use), and there was also a gym/pool/sauna. Breakfast was good, nice variety of meats,cheeses, fruit, cooked food, breads, pastries, yoghurts and drinks. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and it was a nice touch that they always remembered your room number on returning for your key!! All in all, a very pleasant, stress free and relaxing experience. Probably in the top two hotel stays I have ever had in Florence. I would easily reccomend this hotel to anyone, & if you get bored of the culture, food & wine of Florence, there is even an Irish Bar next door run by a Scotsman..!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#17 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.