We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is close to the Santa Maria Nouvella station. About 10 minutes walking distance from the station on cobbled roads. Once you're in the square- it can be challenging to find the place as there are no boards giving directions. The lobby is small but the front desk is very helpful and welcoming.
We took 2 connecting rooms which were spacious and beautiful with a nice view of the Piazza. Decorated in a traditional manner, the white and gold bathrooms, the beautiful bed and stunning furniture gives the rooms an old world (yet modern) ambience. The bathrooms are beautiful, luxurious and clean with good quality toiletries. We were very happy.
Location is excellent. All major sights are a close walking distance.
Breakfast is fab. A big spread made the morning pleasant and set us off happily. Lots of restaurants and amenities nearby. No complaints.....
Rooms cleaned regularly

Room Tip: We were were very happy with our rooms facing the Piazza and our rooms were large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    278
    46
    4
    11
See reviews for
187
634
40
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon over New Years. The location is fantastic. It is close to the train station and walking distance to all other major attractions in Florence. We stayed in a deluxe room with a view. It was typical drapery/canopy bed decor. The rooms were a little small and the lay out made it difficult to settle in. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly with the exception of the owner. During our five night stay my husband was yelled at for filling his water bottle up in the gym. To add injury to insult, the woman who yelled proudly proclaimed she was the owner of the hotel. Needless to say when we returned to Florence on the same trip we stayed across the piazza at Grand Hotel Minerva. The Minerva was by far our favorite hotel in Florence.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were in Florence between Christmas and New Year's with our two teenage daughters. We chose this hotel because we could get a family suite (two adjoining rooms), and we were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious (by European standards) with nice bathrooms, and the view out over the piazza was beautiful. The hotel is a short walk from the train station, although it can be a bit tricky to find (it's right on the square across from the church, but their signage is not particularly noticeable, at least not to us). Breakfast was very good, and the service was always friendly. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A nice hotel with friendly welcome. Not that easy to find though as every other hotel in the square has its name emblazoned on the front, while at this hotel the only sign i could see was eventually a little brass plaque by the door. I had to ask where it was twice. I only stayed one night on business, and the room was a bit cramped with a mini double bed, and a shower that was ideal for a wafer thin supermodel. Impossible to use without soaking the floor. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked into this hotel over new year 2012/13. The hotel is in a great location with all the major attractions easily walkable. The staff were very attentive and helpful. I would definately return to this hotel when I return to Florence. Breakfast had a wide choice of foods from fresh fruit/ cereal/continental breakfast and cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: No restaurant in the hotel but loads of places nearby for food. We watched the New yEar fireworks an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Walked from train station and to the Duomo and all over. Best breakfast ever included in room rate . Careful with rental car ..... Only negative We rented a car for 3 days touring and was given a 100 euro ticket by mail 6 months later for driving in a historic section even though valet parked the car and we only drove directly in and out city. Not sure who and where got tocket . Hertz charged us $50 just to give contact info to police !?! But the Hotel is fabulous. Be sure to find the Santa Maria novella Pharmacia!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The best hotel we have stayed in during our two week tour of Italy! Beautiful hotel, great service, friendly staff, good breakfast and convenient location. Very close to the train terminal. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.