We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 461 hotels in Florence
Geelong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel was fabulous. The room was large and beautifully serviced. Could have happily stayed in the bathroom and it was such a relief after a lot of travelling to have a generous bathroom. The room was right on the square and a food market set up in the square the day we arrived so as well as sampling fine local produce, we loved the atmosphere it provided. The hotel was steps from the main train station and chosen because we came from Venice by train and left for Rome by train. As well as being convenient to the Dome and the Ufizzi and the Ponte Vecchio and a host of other lovely spots, you walk through some very tempting shopping spots. As well it was convenient for a quick train trip to Pisa for the day. The tourist bureau is also nearby. Staff were professional...ie. helpful and pleasant without being obtrusive. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. Just go! We too, were fooled by the lack of signs but a small snag at the start very much outweighed by the facilities. Breakfast was also fabulous with beautiful local produce and freshly baked goodies. Also, felt very safe....important in Italy for two more mature women. Don't forget to visit the rooftop terrace. There is an ambulance station across the square but luckily people stayed safe and we weren't bothered too much by sirens.

Room Tip: View of Santa Maria Novella Square is great if you can have a room that faces the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    727
    263
    42
    6
    12
See reviews for
174
591
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

The staff are all very pleasant and courteous. The room had clearly been refurbished recently and although we found the decor a little overpowering for our taste it was very presentable and comfortable.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean and featured a lovely rainwater style shower. Our room did not have a bath which we missed.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the breakfast each morning was appetizing with cappuccino to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just steps from the train station, reasonably price, The Santa Maria Novella has its old world charm while being conveniently located. Duomo is your backyard and "David" a few blocks away. Fantastic restaurants surround the hotel. The staff was terrific in every aspect of our stay. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfrordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was a good choice to stay at and well located for all the tourist traps. We got there late one evening and it could do with a slightly larger sign as it was difficult to see a brass plate behind a shrub. Nice rooms. Tourist tax was a not a very nice surprise they should build that into the room rate. Very nice choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protaras, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It is a nice hotel, on the square, walking distance from the station, restaurants, shops.
The staff is very helpfull for restaurants and directions.
On may the weather was very good, quite hot except the last day was very windy and raining.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The restaurant recommendations by the front desk did not ever disappoint and being within walking distance to most of the attractions in Florence was a great bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Santa Maria Novella was our first choice for a return trip to Florence having stayed there three years ago. The staff could not be friendlier, the common rooms downstairs are luxurious and cozy. The rooms are clean and have wonderful fixtures and tiles in bathrooms. Staff is wonderful and all questions are answered promptly. The staff alone would make this hotel perfect but the location is central and convenient and charming looking right out over the small piazza. This is the best choice you can make in Florence. Bravi!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.