We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room on the top floor with huge balcony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Novella Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Redding, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful room on the top floor with huge balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I returned to Florence to stay in this hotel a few weeks ago. I had a beautiful room with a view with a very large balcony with spectacular 270 degree views. The room was small but elegant and the bathroom was large with large jacuzzi tub. All in all a wonderful stay with a very warm hospitable staff. Excellent breakfast. Great hotel; my spot in Firenze for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    282
    48
    4
    11
See reviews for
189
642
41
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sale Cheshire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have just returned from our trip to Florence. Not impressed with city itself,but hotel made up for it. We had a lovely room, junior suite, which was spotlessly clean and overlooking the square. We were worried that it would be noisy, but this was not the case. Staff were most efficient and helpful. Lovely decor throughout. Very good breakfast choice.Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

What a lovely hotel in a fantastic location! a 5 minute stroll to the Duomo and right near the Leather Markets. Just a lovely place! It was close to everything but you didnt feel like it was cramped or too bustling - very laid back location.
We had a junior suite on the top floor which had a gorgeous view over Santa Maria Novella. The room was decent size with a beautiful bed and bathroom and plenty of light.
It has a traditional Italian feel however they also ensure you have all the comforts you require, including free wifi which was a lovely touch.
The service was good and the staff friendly. the one downside would be the quality of the breakfast. However given you are in Tuscany with amazing food this did not really matter. If open you must try the food markets outside the hotel in Santa Maria Novella - the best I have been to anywhere in the world!

All in all a lovely place to stay for our honeymoon and made our time in Florence the best of our trip. HOnestly, how can you not love Florence, but staying somewhere nice like this really adds to the experience!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We loved this hotel. It is a 2 block walk to the train station, the hop on/off bus, an art museum, designer shops & many restaurants.
The staff is helpful. We loved Vinicio, the bar man. He offered wonderful restaurant suggestions, great price shopping spots & interesting conversation. We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

The location of this hotel was convenient to everything. It was a 4-5 minute walk to the train station. Most of the rooms overlook the piazza located in front of the Santa Maria Novella church. The room was beautiful with soaring ceilings, hard wood floors and marble bathroom. Extremely comfortable and quiet. The staff was attentive, friendly and provided terrific advice. A lovely breakfast was provided daily. I would definitely stay at this beautiful hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the Piazza Di Santa Maria Novella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We just returned from 10 days in Italy. The Santa Maria Novella Hotel in Florence was a gem of a place to stay. It is located in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, a few blocks from the train station. It was easy to find and get to, after traveling by train from Rome. The room and bathroom were large by European standards and very clean. The bed, extremely comfortable. One can easily walk from the Hotel to all the sites in Florence. Not only were the hotel amenities A-1, the staff was extraordinary. They assisted us with directions, booked a day trip to Sienna, found phone numbers for us and translated when we had issues with our airline booking. Always with a smile!! On as scale of 1 - 5, we give them a 10. :) We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

excellent room 609, spacious with hugh bathroom, brillant view over piazza, quiet and comfortable room, excellent breakfast, 2 lifts to get to room not to everyones liking but adds to the charm of the hotel, staff friendly and helpful, central location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Novella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Novella Hotel

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Novella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the rooms are furnished with air conditioning/heating, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi internet connection or lan cable connection, hair-dryer, minibar, bath or shower, electric safe, flat screen tv, courtesy set of "Officina Santa Maria Novella," vanity mirror, sleepers, tea pot with herb tea. Superior room with view has a splendid view over the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, flat screen TV, mini-bar and a splendid marble bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Maria Novella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Novella Florence
Hotel Santa Maria Novella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Novella Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.