We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ruspoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Ruspoli to your Saves list
Palazzo Ruspoli
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via de' Martelli 5, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We originally wanted to stay at the Hotel Brunelleschi in Florence but when booking online we saw a great deal for their sister property, Palazzo Ruspoli. We paid 184 euros for 2 nights. The location was awesome. It was just a few hundred metres from the Duomo on the main street. It was a bit noisy because the street was a bus route but you sacrifice the noise for the great location.

We were concerned about the reviews on trip advisor as compared to the Hotel Brunelleschi but overall we were very satisfied with the Palazzo Ruspoli cause you felt like you were at home or visiting someone's place.

The room we had was roomy enough, with a king bed. It was an older building so floors were a little squeaky and a little bit of dust but nothing too bad. The bathroom in the room was very small by north american standards but you are in Europe so you get used to it. The shower was super tiny, you can't turn and it leaked a bit. One night that I wanted to shower there was no hot water but once we called the front desk they were very apologetic and sent someone to look into it right away. It wasn't a big deal.

Breakfast was great. It was the best breakfast we had in all the b&b's we stayed at during our 10 day trip to Italy. They had someone make you a fresh cappuccino or espresso and a large selection of croissants, buns, crackers, cookies, fruit, meats, yogurts and cheeses.

The staff were great. Lorenzo worked at both locations and was so helpful when we asked for directions anywhere or recommendations for where to eat in Florence. He actually arranged for us to hire a private driver (Sandro) who took us through Tuscany visiting Siena, San Gimignano, Chianti, Greve, etc. It was the best tour ever and great because we stopped and went as we pleased.

Fopr what we paid, Palazzo Ruspoli is definitely a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    105
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
38
114
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

All I can think is there must be some good rooms and some horrible based on the polar reviews. We must have gotten a horrible one. First, we got there at 11:30 am and lugged our bags from the train station and we were eager to drop them off and start exploring Florence but when we got there there was a sign on the door saying the staff was on break until 2pm. They gave an address of another hotel that we could check in with until they opened but no locals had ever heard of it and it took us nearly an hour to find. They had our key held at the desk there and then we had to walk back with our bags. We were put in a double superior room on the third floor and nothing about this room was superior. It was the same size as every standard room we've stayed in. It had two twin beds with dirty comforters and one pillow each that was about an inch thick with only a sham cover. No real pillow case. I ended up sleeping with a sweatshirt wrapped around it. The window looked out to the duomo. Great location. Wasn't noisy like we read in some reviews. The bathroom was gross. There was black mold and nooooo hot water. Breakfast was just Ok. The room was nice but the food wasn't as good as any other hotels. We were supposed to stay four nights but one was enough so we switched to hotel Pierre. It was a 4 star hotel and MUCH nicer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, general manager at Palazzo Ruspoli, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
I have had the opportunity to read the comments you have left online with Tripadvisor.com about the stay you have partially spent at Palazzo Ruspoli in the recent past.
This ancient noble Florentine residence has recently been reopened as bed and breakfast by the same Proprietors of the Hotel Brunelleschi, very well-known 4 stars Hotel located walking distance away from it.
The Palazzo Ruspoli online information, now available with the Hotel Brunelleschi website indicates very clearly its location and the location of the sister Hotel Brunelleschi ; as mentioned online, Palazzo Ruspoli Front Desk Staff is on duty part time and the Hotel Brunelleschi Front Desk Staff is of help to the Guests when Palazzo Ruspoli Staff is off.
Palazzo Ruspoli offers to the esteemed Guests a choice between comfort and superior rooms, some of those with spectacular City view, as well as buffet breakfast in the morning from 7 am to 10:30am. I regret to learn your comments about the room itself and its comfort . The comfort of the rooms and the amenities offered reflect the standard of the competitors of Palazzo Ruspoli and of course cannot be compared with the standard of 4 stars Hotels.
Anyway I have shared your comments with the Rooms Division Manager and the Housekeeper as your opinions are of importance to us to improve the quality of the service.

I wish you could decide to come back to us sometimes in the future to experience in full the comfort and the hospitality of our Properties in Florence

Best regards
Claudio Catani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

I had a lovley experience at this hotel. The location is excellent and the room I was given was HUGE. I awoke to beautiful views of the Duomo and the Medici Chapel. I spent 5 nights in this room and enjoyed every minute. I don't ask much from hotel staff- i was traveling alone, so I was only there to sleep. The service from these folks was friendly, but didn't wow me.
Florence is a city. Therefore yes, there was noise, but nothing major.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Stayed for the weekend in this charming hotel. I chose this hotel because it looked charming, centrally located at the same time easy to get to from the ring road. You can park your car for a few minutes in front of the hotel when you arrive and check in. Then they will call the garage to pick it up. When you enter the city center, you will see street cameras because the zone is ZTL zona traficco limitato - the hotel will take your plate number and they will call the ZTL authorities to cancel your 'ticket' for entering the city. The 24 hour parking is about 25Euros which is standard for most Florence central hotels, you can extend for a few hours where they charge about an additional 2.5Euro per hour. Our room was nicely decorated - like an old palazzo and we had a view of the cathedral. I liked the interior of the breakfast room as well, breakfast was basic. The most I liked about this hotel was the service staff. They were also very nice to let us keep our room free of charge until 3PM since it was still the low season. If you are sensitive to noise, do ask for a room at the back, you wont get a view but it will shield you from the street noise and from the bar across the street. Regarding the 'smell' in the elevator foyer from other reviews, it never bothered us as it was hardly noticeable. If I had not read the reviews, I wouldnt even know it was there. Location was also great, right beside the duomo, close to everything. Overall, great value, nice experience.

  • Liked — Location, charm, service
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

The entrance is through the ground floor of an office building that smells very bad. You should take the elevator to go to the third floor, where is really the entrance of this small hotel.
The rooms and breakfast are good enough for the price. The noise is terrible, specially for the rooms with views to the street.
Main advantage: just at 100 meters of the Cathedral.

  • Liked — LA UBICACION
  • Disliked — EL RUIDO
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

The Palazzo Ruspoli is, as mentioned in the other reviews, the top two floors of a commercial building with a medical clinic and offices. Its best and worst feature was its location. For the best part, you can walk anywhere in Florence in a half hour, and it's a half block to the Duomo. However, since traffic is routed around the Duomo, it is routed onto the street that this hotel is on, so it's quite noisy until about 11pm. Lots of buses, emergency vehicles, motorscooters, etc.

My double room was stylishly furnished and spacious. On my last night I figured out how to secure the shutters, which cut down on the noise and light. There are some back rooms - probably much quieter. Some singles share a hall bathroom.

The breakfast room is pretty but small and the fine breakfast consisted of yogurt, rolls, juices, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, etc. Staff was helpful, and they were able to book a museum reservation as well as a taxi for my flight home (leaving at 5:30am before the front desk opens), which was very helpful.

This is a good choice if you want a central, walkable location and don't need an extremely quiet room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — get directions to hotel before going to Florence - a bit hard to find from train station
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

Dirty dirty dirty, no pillows and stains of I-don't - want to know what it was- really--Horrible. Disgusting. What else can I add. Don't go here. DON''T. the internet site was so different it looked lovely- worst hotel I've ever been in my whole life

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ruspoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ruspoli

Address: Via de' Martelli 5, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Ruspoli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Ruspoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ruspoli Florence
Palazzo Ruspoli Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ruspoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.