We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Globus Hotel to your Saves list
Globus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Antonino 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Everyone here was so kind & helpful. We had to extend our stay in Florence by one night because our luggage was lost and it was to be delivered the next day - our current hotel was booked. Our first hotel was a Marriott, and they were not helpful or friendly. We had to find a hotel on our own and do all the luggage "business" ourselves. When we arrived at HG we were greeted so friendly, i immediately felt so much better about our decision. (I have completely forgot the gentlemans name) The man at the desk was extremely helpful in organizing our trip to the airport, even offered to call himself and talk to the luggage desk... we unfortunately cannot speak Italian... it was just such a delight staying there because of how nice the people there were. we arrived early, our room wasn't ready but he "sped up" the cleaning and we got in within the hour. breakfast was very yummy.. one of the best coffee's we had in Italy to be honest. its in a great location.. walking distance to train station and other great sites. I think staying here helped ease our anxiety about our luggage (we had to spend so much more $$ because it was lost). The room was a good size, but had a very bad smell to it. however, I felt Florence in general smelled because of the rain. we didn't mind too much because we were only there for one night. maybe if we were there longer, we may have complained about the smell. having said that, i would definitely stay here if I was to come to Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Proprietario at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Phanatics,

thank you very much for your kind and complete review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, our staff, our location and our coffee. We are very happy toy choose Hotel Globus for your extra day n Florence! Best regards,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    332
    85
    48
    11
See reviews for
147
374
74
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent short walk from the station and only a short distance from the cathedral within walking distance of all the major attractions. The staff are friendly and fall over themselves to be helpful. Our room was small and from taking to other guests during the free happy hour a lot of the rooms are on the small side, that said it was immaculately clean and well appointed. If you intend spending a lot of time in your room this is not the hotel for you but if you intend to 'walk' florence and want somewhere clean, comfortable, friendly and above all convenient you will find Globus hard to beat, would certainly stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Proprietario at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Rob W, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
We are very proud to hear that you appreciated our location, services and happy hour, about the size of the room, yes, our economy rooms are on the smallest side, but we do have also Standard Rooms and Superior rooms in particular that have plenty of space for guest who wish to spend more time in their room. We really hope to have a chance to welcome you in Florence again some time.
Best regards,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located, minutes from the train station and literally right next to St Lorenzo square. Perfect for exploring the city and nothing is too far away. The room was very clean, newly refurbished, good size and comfortable. The staff were a ray of sunshine and always made us laugh, very helpful and smily :) We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Proprietario at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear AnnaS, we are very proud to read your review and to hear that you appreciated so much our services. We hope to welcome you in Florence again some day.
Best regards,

Serena-manager Hotel Globus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Recently spent almost a week at the Globus. Great location, within walking distance of so many destination points plus the train and bus stations. Breakfast was very nice, with impeccable service. A wonderful bonus was happy hour each evening... how can you go wrong with a glass of prosecco to start the night! Our room was on the 3rd floor (facing the street) and knew in advance that hotel had a small lift, expected to use the stairs. Helped prepare us for the steps in the Duomo :-) The room was a bit noisy as it was warm out and more people on the street late, however the a/c fan completely blocked the noise. Room size was typical for a small, European hotel but was clean and had an updated bathroom. The staff definitely made us feel welcome and we also met quite a few other pleasant guests during happy hour. We had no problems finding the hotel from the train station, followed the directions and looked for 24 Black. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear OffToWalk,

Thank you very much for your stay, it’s great to read that your week in Florence was a success and that we could contribute to that!

It also seems that you did a bit of researching before coming here, as you knew about our little elevator and about the double street numbers in Florence, red and black, good job! It definitely helps to have some extra information about the place you’re going to, so you can spend less time figuring it our when you arrive, and more time on the sightseeing:)

Please take care and come stay with us again if you ever get a chance!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I love this little boutique hotel, although it took us little while to locate the hotel. Love the gentleman who made cappuccino and espresso at the breakfast buffet every morning! He was fast and hardworking! Reception desk was friendly and helpful!!! They helped us to make phone call to local business, recommend good restaurants nearby! Although my room was little small, but this place is welcoming and safe! Buffet breakfast helped us to get our morning start fresh, which was a great plus!! Also the happy hour drink and snacks were great start for our evening in Florence! Although my room was small, but service and the friendliness of everyone at Globus Hotel overshadowed their weakness! (It would be great if the single bed is bigger, like standard American size) Will come back again!! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: bring your own ear plugs just in case if you are a light sleeper :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear jenjenq,

We are very happy to read your impressions on our Hotel and greatly appreciate the input! As I always say, guest satisfaction is our priority and we always try to do our best to make your stay in Florence a unique experience.

I personally think that the best part of your review is where you say that our Hotel is “welcoming and safe”, thank you for that. We’re also very grateful for appreciating all our services and efforts!

So, if you ever happen to be in Florence again you know where to stay. And if we happen to be full, don’t hesitate to drop by!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room was very modern, clean, and spacious. Close to San Lorenzo church, outdoor market, and indoor Mercato Centrale (food market). Close walk to the train station. Overall noisy experience. Tile floors in room and hallways make voices carry within the hotel. Room facing the street was noisy during the day with lots of stores opening and closing metal doors, plus construction noise. At night, the weather in October was warm, and people stayed outside bars talking - also loud! The breakfast room is very tiny and runs out of tables, so eating early is a good option. Nice selection of breakfast foods.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear webtitle,

Let us thank you very much for your recent stay and for your contribution, it is much appreciated.

We’re glad that you liked your room and the vicinity to the main train station (plus other attractions). In fact, being located in the very heart of the city can have its drawbacks if you’re sensitive to noise and keep your window open during daytime (night-time is usually dead quiet). The easiest solution to that issue is keeping the window shut, but I understand that not everyone likes having just the a/c on without the fresh air coming in. As for the tiles, it is a purely practical and hygienic choice.

All in all, we hope that you had fun in Florence and that you’ll be able to come and visit again! Please accept our best regards and take care.

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is one hotel I was a disappointed with during my Europe tour, for the simple reason that while it has a good rating on Trip Advisor and I was confident that I had done the right thing by booking this hotel...however unfortunately my personal experience didn't turn out to be as great....

we stayed at Florence for a day before moving to Venice. Since it was a one day stay we decided to stay at a hotel which would be centrally located with easy access to city center and main attractions...

The hotel location is good in the sense that you can walk to it from the train station, however do note that its not easy to find the hotel as its located in one of by-lanes and there are a lot of hotels with small signage boards everywhere....Its took us about 15-20 minutes just to figure out where the hotel was.

We checked into the hotel around 4 PM in the evening. The room was small but clean with a teeny tiny television and 2-3 English channels. The sad part was the washroom - the toilet faucet was damaged - meaning it was leaking water everywhere!!! The whole washroom would clog up with water and it was just messy all around.

We stayed there for 1 night and hence did not even bother to complaint about the same...so cant comment on their customer complaint service.

Breakfast spread in the morning was decent. Hotel rate is also very economical. Be your own judge when you are considering this hotel as a long term stay option.

Room Tip: Check the washroom for leaky faucets and stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Proprietario at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear traveller t,

while I thank you for sharing your opinion with us I'm also sad that we didn't deserve a chance to offer you a more comfortable stay in our hotel: should you have told us about the problem in the bathroom we could have it repaired within less than one hour or, in the worst of the cases, change your room.

Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we always try to go the extra mile to mantain our guest's expectations.

Thank you for appreciating our central location, near to all the main attractions in Florence.

Once again thank you for the time you took to share your feedback.

Best regards,

Serena
Owner and manager.
Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globus Hotel

Address: Via San Antonino 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
#95 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located 5 min. walk from Firenze S.M. Novella train station and Duomo, contemporary, intimate boutique hotel offering free WI-FI, free buffet breakfast, free Happy Hour, complimentary coffe and tea in lobby, laundry service (extra), major Credit cards accepted, Garage nearby (extra charge). 23 rooms offer : air conditioning/heating, SKY TV, minibar, safe, hairdrier,WI-FI, superior rooms with laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.