We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Globus Hotel to your Saves list
Globus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Antonino 24, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

best location and value for money. service went beyond expected. thanks to everyone including a special thanks lukasz at the desk for all the great recommendations and electric plug and to roberto for great breakfasts and the best hot chocolate ever. our room was kept very clean and had a great view of the bells (great to see and hear them ring), and dome. had the upgraded room so the computer was huge benefit. go to the free wine and cheese to meet other travelers. very quiet location and close to everything you need. only advice is to listen to the books that say 'dont drive in florence'!! take the train, and bus tours. getting lost in florence is not fun and very easy to do. even got lost leaving; so paid a taxi driver to get us to the highway signs. we spent a week here and would recommend it and will come back again but by train!!!

Room Tip: room 303 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear susan155004,

Thank you so much for your splendid review! The comments like yours that say our service is “beyond expected” really boost our morale up. And I’m also personally glad that you’ve mentioned my name in it (it’s me, Luca/Lukasz)!

We are very happy that you were able to enjoy your Superior Room with all its benefits (bigger size, extra laptop, limited free beverages from the minibar), the cleanliness, breakfast and our front desk service. And by the way, I completely agree with what your book says – leave your car somewhere else and just take a train/bus to come to Florence! Really, driving in the city center is mostly prohibited or very confusing, and since everything major is located within walking distance from our Hotel. Still, if you decide to arrive by car, you can find a helpful map on our official website pointing you to our place. Plus, there are a few garages (extra charges apply) in our area where you can leave your car safely.

Once again, let us all thank you for your stay, hopefully it won’t be your last one!:)

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    333
    85
    48
    11
See reviews for
147
376
74
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is a nice, well kept hotel. The breakfast buffet was nice with a good selection. The location was great for walking anywhere in Florence. The best thing about this hotel was the "happy hour" in the evenings with free snacks and drinks. This hotel had the best front desk staff of any hotel where we stayed in 3 weeks. Nick was so helpful! This hotel has the slowest elevator in all of Italy, so we just took the stairs. This was a great experience. This hotel does not have it's own parking, but there is a parking garage a block down the street at 26 euros per day. You are about 3 blocks from the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear tagan,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your valuable contribution to the TripAdvisor community!

We’re very proud that you describe our staff as “the best front desk staff of any hotel where we stayed in 3 weeks”. It’s things like these that give us the energy to go on and to provide an even better service! It’s a pity though that you had to create a total contrast in the next sentence, saying that our elevator is “the slowest (…) in all of Italy”, which is very plausible by the way:) Unfortunately, there is not much we can do about it at the moment, given that, as you understand, we’re located in quite an old building which, despite the recent complete refurbishment, still has its limitations. Nevertheless, as soon as we can we will certainly do!

As for the garage, you’re right that we don’t have our own one, but as you correctly pointed our, there are a few very close to our location (ranging between 25-30E for 24h, depending on the size of your car).

Well, let us thank you again for the stay and for the great review! If you ever plan to be in Florence again you know where to find us!:)

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife & I stayed in late August 2012. We thought Hotel Globus was a good location in Florence, w/ a decent breakfast buffet and a nice happy hour daily. Most of all we thought the service was fantastic by the front desk staff. In particular, Niccolo (spelling?) went over the top to make our stay enjoyable. He deserves a raise!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear EDAJ14,

We’d like to thank you and your wife for staying with us and for writing your great review. It’s always important for us to read that we did a good job by providing good, if not great, service to our guests. And the guy that helped you is called Nicola, so you were very close with the spelling:)

Again, thank you very much and (hopefully) see you next time! Please take care.

Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have just spent 3 fantastic nights in this lovely little hotel. Its location is perfect just minutes from the station, and most of the historic sites, markets, shopping areas and galleries. My room was small but very chic and modern with everything you could need for a short stay. It was comfortable, very clean (cleaned daily) and quiet, There was air con, free wi fi, in room safety deposit box, and a stocked fridge. Each night the hotel had a free happy hour with drinks and nibbles - a great way to meet other guests. Breakfast was good continental style fayre with lots to eat and attended by a great guy who made the coffee. The hotel has not got a restaurant but there are dozens of great bars, cafes, trattorias, pizzerias, geleto bars etc all on the doorstep. All the staff were exceptional, friendly, helpful and happy. They all seemed to love working there. Reception was staffed 24hrs per day.The only drawback was that the reception was on the first floor only accessible by a flight of stairs which might be a problem if you are infirm or not fit to climb. I loved the Globus and hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear PaulFM_12,

Grazie mille, we’re very happy that you were able to fully enjoy your stay at Globus and that you found time to write your review.

It’s great that you liked your room and appreciated the overall level of our service, our location, staff, breakfast and the happy hour. And talking about happy hour, you’re right that it gives you a great opportunity to meet and chat with other guests. I often see people, complete strangers, sipping wine together and exchanging experiences, tips and observations. In short, it’s a great extra service to offer!

Concluding, please let us thank you again for staying with us, we too hope to see you again some day!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, HI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in this place last night for our 1 night side trip to Florence from Rome. We almost didn't because of the recent reviews. We are glad we ignored them and went with the high rating and good website. No decor? Are you kidding me? It's like the W in there. If you like contemporary decor you will like this place. Prices are good considering how weak the dollar is and how central the location is. Loud? You're in the main tourist area of a city. Bring ear plugs! People complaining about having to climb 1 flight of stairs. Jesus you aren't in Walmart. You are in an old city and it is amazing there is an elevator at all. The staff were great. The Wifi was spotty, sure, but we were at an end room so I'm sure like Wifi on every inch of the planet there are good and bad spots. You had to hold a button down to go up an elevator in an old building? Are you kidding me? Don't climb Il Duomo, no elevator at all!!!!!! We got a superior Triple room. The bed was beds put together but was King size and comfortable. I slept well. I loved the decor. I loved the location. The staff were all great. If you are a total ignoramus, please don't travel in Europe and definitely don't stay at this hotel. Just stay home and watch movies about it instead.

Room Tip: The triple superior room isn't much more, so just spring for that. Decent sized and nice big bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear punaRob,

I will be short – if there was a “review of the year” contest, yours would definitely win it! Seriously, thank you very very much for staying with us and let me tell you that travelling around the world with an attitude like yours is so much easier, bravo.

We really hope to be able to welcome you at Globus again to personally shake your hand, and until then please take care.

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room is a little bit small but modern, but the location is great, the staff is super friendly and helpful, the service is good, the breakfast is delicious! pretty worthy it!
but the stair is really killing me even only have one lugguge, but the staff did help me when i checked in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Nikitafaye,

Thank you very much for your stay and for your valuable comment. We’re really glad that you were able to enjoy what our Hotel has to offer.

For what regards the stairs, we understand that it may be a little off-putting having to climb them with a heavy suitcase. Fortunately, we are always there to help you as you noticed!

Again, we’re happy that we had a pleasure of having you as our guest and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Located near the Florence train station and only 10 minute walk into the center, Florence isn't very large and is pedestrian friendly. Globus Hotel is basic and clean, ideally located for exploring this small city.

Clean room, free wifi, free continental breakfast, in-room mini/bar/fridge, air conditioned rooms, and very friendly staff, It serves its purpose and is excellent value for Florence.

There are a few things that did lower my score, but I can't complain about my overall stay. My room (208) was at the back of the building and when the central air system turned on was like a rocket taking off, though after a few loud burst soon adjusted to the sound. The in room TV was small and the sound poor and tinny - however your visiting this fabulous city so staying in your room is just for relaxing - this is not a city to be watching TV.

Overall it met my needs for a short break, and for the price was a real deal for a stay in Florence. It is no frills but clean.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is where central air unit is, it is loud when it turns on and therefore may not be sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Globus Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear JoeJourneys,

Let us thank you for your stay at Globus and for considering the price paid a very good deal for Florence.

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our services, grazie mille! I just have one thing to say – Florence is only pedestrian friendly in the city center, you still have to fight your way through once you go outside:)

As for the a/c system outside, you’re right that it makes some noise when it kicks in, but fortunately it’s only for a couple of seconds and you can hear it only if you have your windows open. Nevertheless, we will try to find a way to reduce it or maybe even eliminate it.

Concluding, thank you again for your stay, we hope that there will still be many more to come! In the meantime please take care.

Best regards,
Luca – Hotel Globus
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globus Hotel

Address: Via San Antonino 24, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
#104 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located 5 min. walk from Firenze S.M. Novella train station and Duomo, contemporary, intimate boutique hotel offering free WI-FI, free buffet breakfast, free Happy Hour, complimentary coffe and tea in lobby, laundry service (extra), major Credit cards accepted, Garage nearby (extra charge). 23 rooms offer : air conditioning/heating, SKY TV, minibar, safe, hairdrier,WI-FI, superior rooms with laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.