We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colomba to your Saves list
Hotel Colomba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Hotel Colomba is perfectly situated just a couple of blocks from the Duomo and a short walk to every other major site in Florence. The breakfast was satisfying, consisting of hard-boiled eggs, cereal, rolls, cheese, juices, and made-to-order coffee. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. They helped us plan our routes to various sites and even helped us book an afternoon tour in the Chianti region. Great location, service, and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    219
    48
    12
    5
See reviews for
223
325
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virgil, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here due the ratings, which I disagree with now. The lady who runs it is wonderful, Rosanne. She is quite helpful and charming. However during our stay the man who I assume is her husband was usually in what is considered the dining room with his friends and we felt as if we were imposing. Hence the B&B comment. We felt we could not order a coffee which was available during the day as we would be interrupting. The location is excellent, the breakfast is ok. The coffee is superb. The room was fine, however we could not figure out the TV nor could the afore mentioned gentleman in the evening. It should be known before you stay there that the owners use the kitchen as a home kitchen and serve their own meals during the day in the hotel dining room. Their prerogative as they own it but not what I was expecting in a "hotel". Awkward. We also smelled smoke as it appears smoking is allowed, perhaps by visitors or staff, despite the No Smoking sign by the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel during a 9 day tour of Italy. It is a basic, nice hotel with excellent and friendly customer service. It is 2 blocks away from the Duomo and 2 blocks from The David which makes it a perfect spot in Florence.

The breakfast was basic with bagels, boiled eggs, juices, and various cheeses. The staff will make you coffee or cappuccino and they are very attentive.

If you like quaint and pleasant service, this will be a good place for you. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is a bit old but the rooms are large and comfortable. The location is very central, 5 minutes walking from piazza del Duomo. The manager and the lady at the reception are very kind. They speak perfect English and they help you with any matter. The price is high but in line with most of the hotels in the center of Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is a very nice, clean and family lead hotel in the heart of the center. The location is absolutely perfect, only 5 min walk from the cathedral. The rooms are simple, but very clean and with very comfortable beds. The hotel is extremely quiet. The family who owns the hotel is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast is rich and delicious. We were there for two nights and were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A very enjoyable five day stay at Hotel Colomba. Hotel is situated very close to all the main landmarks, museums and galleries of Florence. Staff at the hotel are extremely pleasant and make you feel at home as soon as you walk in. Unlike most hotel rooms on city centres, our room at Hotel Colomba was very large and spacious. Although furniture and style are quite dated, all amenities are found in the room - including a mini bar, satellite TV,etc. The room was also one of the cleanest rooms I've ever been in when travelling abroad with lovely white linen and equally white towels.

Breakfast was basic yet always very fresh. It included cereals, fruits, ham, cheeses,yoghurt, pastries, juices and lovely unlimited capuccinos!

Staff was extremely helpful when I encountered a small problem with my luggage and recommended a specific shop where I could purchase what I required.

Together with my wife we highly recommend staying at Hotel Colomba when visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room not too close to the reception area since occasionally it may get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I really would like to thank for a wonderful time that we spent at Firenze – and it was also because we stayed at Hotel Colomba. The staff was excellent – very nice and helpful. We mainly appreciate the personal approach which we prefer more than being “a number” in a big hotel.. The breakfast was great and they do very good coffee. We could recommend this hotel to everybody who prefer the home atmosphere more than a “luxury mirrors”. Rooms were clean, and the hotel is only 5 minutes from Duomo.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3rd floor. Very quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Florence
#60 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. the hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colomba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.