We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colomba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colomba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 461 hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great hotel, great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Italy and our stay at Hotel Colomba was the best. The hotel is located on the second floor of a period building. It felt strange, a little scary but once we walked in the recption all our worries vanished. We were welcomed by a charming lady, Roseanna the owner. We had a quadruple room. The room was spacious by european standards, the beds were very confortable and it had air conditionning. The bathroom is on the smaller side, but it did not bother us since none of us spends hours in it. The continental breakfast is excellent, lot of choice and the best is the fresh coffee , capuccino by the cup. The dining room is also a bar in the evening so you can get drinks. The staff and owners were very attentive to our needs. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    191
    43
    12
    5
See reviews for
200
298
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
n ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Again it didn't disappoint. It has a great location, 500 yards from the Doumo. Do not be put off by appearances. The hotel is on the 2nd floor above a museum. Once in the hotel you are treated very well by Roseanne and her staff. The hotel is very clean and breakfasts are excellent. We will return for another wedding anniversary in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean and the service was very good. Everyone was really helpful and nice. The facility is modest, but serves your needs assuming your goal is to get out and see the city! There are books left there by other travelers if you need to grab one.

Observing we had purchased a bottle of wine, the cleaning staff left us wine glasses without being asked. They also replaced the towels. The satellite tv was very good...the best we have had during our 1 month trip. We would come back here again!

We had the handicap room which was larger than average (based on me poking my nose in some empty rooms). The shower did spray on the floor, though, so things did get a bit damp in the bathroom. The fan dried it out eventually.

The building lift was small and the doors will crush you if you push the floor button too quickly (sorry honey!), and the grates and the stair are dirty, but that is the issue of 1) Florence and 2) the building landlord.

There are multiple small hotels in the building. As this is a three star hotel it isn't very glamorous, but it is clean and pleasant and well run. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: The handicap room seemed larger than others, with a large bathroom, but the shower did seem to get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

An extremely friendly, family-run hotel, within easy strolling distance of the historic centre of Florence.
Spotlessly clean and the towels were changed every day.
Our room was spacious and comfortable with effective and quiet air conditioning.
The mini bar was well-stocked and very reasonably priced
Breakfast was the standard continental, with delicious coffee.
Down sides are the rather small lift or the long climb up two flights of stairs, and the erratic wi-fi.
Come here for the warm welcome, the helpfulness and the fact that you can pop back for a siesta in the afternoon, so you are recharged for the balmy Florentine evenings.
Don't forget to visit the market just round the corner. There are lovely restaurants at the edge of the leafy market square

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A small hotel but a very nice staff. The room has a good space and the bathroom is good. It is near the "Duomo" and other interesting places, including the train station (Santa Maria Novella).
There is a free wi-fi internet (could be faster), a good breakfast. I certanly would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Florence itself is a beautiful city. I personally find this place better than canal-after-canal Venice. Staying at Hotel Colomba just adds to the special experience. Rossana was ever so helpful and responsive to all of my many emails prior to arrival. Sabina was also very nice and helpful - she would always be strict and judgemental of me (and super nice to my wife!) but it was all in good fun as she was always very willingly helpful also.
The lift is reaaaally small but hey, it came with the building which itself is pretty old and quaint so nothing to complain about really. Location is excellent. less than 10min walk from the Firenze SM Novella station, and quite literally on the northen edge of the busier, noisier central area. All the sights and attractions (except Michaelangelo's lookout.. which is far from everywhere really) are easily within walking distance.
What's so unique abt this hotel also is their towels.. don't let the appearance (like a serviette and as thin) fool you.. it's actually excellent at absorbing water!
They were lovely and kind enough to offer us the room upstairs, which was huge and had a nice open view.
Breakfast: food was quite gd - the works of pastry, nutella, cereal, fruits, and cold cuts. What helped lots was the freshly brewed coffee to order. Cappucino, latte, hot chocolate.. nice.
Stayed from 07-11 May'13, when the weather was a perfect 16-21 deg C.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor is spacious and has a nice open view unobstructed by walls/other rooftops. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Sabina and Rosanna made our stay a perfect one in Florence. This hotel is located near all the sites you would want to see in Florence. The hotel was comfortable, but the service was over the top. The staff could not have been more helpful from restaurant recommendations to the best sites to see. When we return to Florence we will definitely stay here again! Thank you Sabina for being so helpful!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Florence
#49 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. the hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colomba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.