We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room, tiny toilet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colomba to your Saves list
Hotel Colomba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spacious Room, tiny toilet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel was in a excellent location, near to the duomo and very near to the accademia, where the statue of david was.
The room was very spacious, but the bathroom was tiny.
There was no coffee maker in the room, but you could request hot water from the reception.
The room key was a heavy key that had to be left with the reception when we went out. It could be inconvenient if we wanted to just pop out to buy some stuff and get back to the hotel again quickly.
The lift was the tiniest one I ever seen, it accomodated just 3 people. It was a tight fit for 2 people and luggage.

The owners spoke excellent english. Breakfast was good, the coffee was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    207
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
215
307
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Perfect location, close to the main attractions. Warm welcome by the owner who speaks excellent English. The room we had was spacious, sparkly clean, with a comfortable king bed (too single beds joined together in fact, but that's common in Italy). Large restroom too with a good shower and plenty of soap and shampoo. Great tiled floor. For breakfast (included), we had a good choice of pastries, yoghurts, fruits and cereals. Eggs, ham and cheese too. And you are offered a second cup of cappucino (or latte), which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Staying at this hotel was a pleasure. The location was amazing, 2 minutes walk from the Duomo and the Academy - less than ten minutes to Sante Croce and the Palazzo Vecchio.

The hotel is deceptive from the outside, it is one floor on a large building and we walked past it a couple of times before we saw it. Once you get up the hotel itself it is bright and clean and the owner was very welcoming. The hotel is a small one that is famiy run - overall the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and were always available for advice.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable, we had a double room which was average size and and adapted bathroom which was more than adequate. Breakfast was the usual spread you would expect in a european hotel - bread, cheese, cold meats, fruit, cereal etc. What was there was fresh and there was plenty of it.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again - I did not have one bad thing to say about the place. The main things that I consider important in a hotel is location, cleanliness, comfort and friendly staff. This hotel had them all in spades.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Scot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed here, tried another hotel but it's just not the same. The location is fantastic for sightseeing. We requested a quiet room and mum and I slept like babies! The staff could not have been more helpful when I needed a document printed off their computer. You get value for money staying here, it's basic but even so, has everything you need and is very clean and well presented. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Family run hotel in Florence, just a short walk to all major sites. The hotel staff were great, very accommodating and helpful in every way. We had a very good time during our long weekend in Florence, and Hotel Colomba was a big part of the experience. Felt like a home away from home, and would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was rather dingy and the bathroom tiny! No view at all and the hotel is one floor of a building run by an older couple who were not the friendliest of people; breakfast was sort of sad and do not expect to sleep in at this hotel - you can hear the coffee machine, people banging doors, etc. The positives: the location is great - 2 mins the academia, 5 max to the duemo, 10 to the museum and 20 to palazzo pitti. Could not hope for a better location so if you don't care too much about your room this is great value for money/location. Overall, clean and decent but no frills.

Room Tip: The views from anywhere are not going to be exceptional - spend your money on other thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colomba, Owner at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. I am sorry if you found it 'dingy', normally it is simple, clean and reasonably comfortable. Breakfast seems to be more than sufficient for many guests who often appreciate the offering. Running the risk of repetition, yes our bathrooms vary in size, and as Florence is on the World Heritage list, it is not possible to knock out walls!! I think it a great pity that nothing was said to us, given that we are here all the time and there is no language barrier!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were impressed with this B&B from the time of our arrival. We arrived after I had my wallet picked on the train to Florence ( a very intereting story for another day) . The woman who greeted us at Hotel Colomba was extremely helpful in making available a telephone to call my credit card company and generally soothing our emotional upset, including providing coffee to us.The owners and staff continued to be a friendly and reliable source of assistance throughoiut our whole stay. The B&B is very nicely located and within walking distance of all of Florence's lovely sights.We had a large room with a comfortable bed. The breakfast offered a variety of foods and was delicious. We truly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#77 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. the hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colomba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.