We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home From Home In Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colomba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colomba to your Saves list
Hotel Colomba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Travelling Scot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home From Home In Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed here, tried another hotel but it's just not the same. The location is fantastic for sightseeing. We requested a quiet room and mum and I slept like babies! The staff could not have been more helpful when I needed a document printed off their computer. You get value for money staying here, it's basic but even so, has everything you need and is very clean and well presented. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    210
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
217
311
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Family run hotel in Florence, just a short walk to all major sites. The hotel staff were great, very accommodating and helpful in every way. We had a very good time during our long weekend in Florence, and Hotel Colomba was a big part of the experience. Felt like a home away from home, and would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was rather dingy and the bathroom tiny! No view at all and the hotel is one floor of a building run by an older couple who were not the friendliest of people; breakfast was sort of sad and do not expect to sleep in at this hotel - you can hear the coffee machine, people banging doors, etc. The positives: the location is great - 2 mins the academia, 5 max to the duemo, 10 to the museum and 20 to palazzo pitti. Could not hope for a better location so if you don't care too much about your room this is great value for money/location. Overall, clean and decent but no frills.

Room Tip: The views from anywhere are not going to be exceptional - spend your money on other thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colomba, Owner at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. I am sorry if you found it 'dingy', normally it is simple, clean and reasonably comfortable. Breakfast seems to be more than sufficient for many guests who often appreciate the offering. Running the risk of repetition, yes our bathrooms vary in size, and as Florence is on the World Heritage list, it is not possible to knock out walls!! I think it a great pity that nothing was said to us, given that we are here all the time and there is no language barrier!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were impressed with this B&B from the time of our arrival. We arrived after I had my wallet picked on the train to Florence ( a very intereting story for another day) . The woman who greeted us at Hotel Colomba was extremely helpful in making available a telephone to call my credit card company and generally soothing our emotional upset, including providing coffee to us.The owners and staff continued to be a friendly and reliable source of assistance throughoiut our whole stay. The B&B is very nicely located and within walking distance of all of Florence's lovely sights.We had a large room with a comfortable bed. The breakfast offered a variety of foods and was delicious. We truly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced, family run hotel look no further. The Colomba is ideally located for all of Florence's attractions, literally a couple of minutes from the Duomo. The rooms are quiet, spacious and spotlessly clean. The owners and staff go out of their way to be helpful and are so friendly. They also serve an excellent and healthy breakfast topped off with a fresh coffee of your choice. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, shower hot. Very convenient for duomo etc.

It's quiet and the breakfasts are good.

Staff are friendly too! (they speak v. good english)

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welches, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

spotless, basic, delightful staff and owners. Great location. Small rooms and baths, European cloths instead of thick towels, limited amenities. Would return because of it's staff and location. I would recommend this for those just needing a place to sleep that is convenient and clean. The staff was always available to share suggestions and ideas.

Room Tip: We were right across from the front desk and were not bothered by any noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Read these words to us are additional motivation in our daily efforts in trying to always give you the best possible stay. Courtesy, cleanliness and availability are our commandments newspapers and find confirmation put us in the right motivation committing ourselves every day more.
Thank you very much, we hope to be able to count again soon here at the Hotel Colomba in Florence as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#59 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#83 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. the hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colomba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.