We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel at reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colomba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colomba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colomba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 461 hotels in Florence
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good hotel at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, shower hot. Very convenient for duomo etc.

It's quiet and the breakfasts are good.

Staff are friendly too! (they speak v. good english)

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    195
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
195
294
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welches, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

spotless, basic, delightful staff and owners. Great location. Small rooms and baths, European cloths instead of thick towels, limited amenities. Would return because of it's staff and location. I would recommend this for those just needing a place to sleep that is convenient and clean. The staff was always available to share suggestions and ideas.

Room Tip: We were right across from the front desk and were not bothered by any noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Read these words to us are additional motivation in our daily efforts in trying to always give you the best possible stay. Courtesy, cleanliness and availability are our commandments newspapers and find confirmation put us in the right motivation committing ourselves every day more.
Thank you very much, we hope to be able to count again soon here at the Hotel Colomba in Florence as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is located in a perfect location for walks around Florence. The rooms were of decent size. The breakfast spread was good . The staff was extremely friendly and gave good insights about shopping areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you on behalf of all the staff of Hotel Colomba the wonderful review. I take this opportunity to wish you a happy 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel was a great find (thanks Tripadvisor people!) - central, comfortable, clean and our room was large and airy... and warm when it needed to be. We were close to a myriad of different attractions and restaurants - the whole family made us feel welcome and spent time to make sure we had everything we needed including directions and general information. The kids were well looked after and genuinely treated like guests not noisy intrusions that were being tolerated. Thank you so much for your sincere and warm hospitality - we would recommend you to anyone wanting a great value and family-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Cleaning, availability, and cosdialità attention to the family are our main commandments in trying to make you spend some time in Florence the best holidays in our ongoing daily commitment. Thank you on behalf of all the staff of Hotel Colomba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel Colomba is a fantastic family run hotel. The staff is wonderful and helpful with everything we asked. They had recommendations for dinner, instructions on where to find local markets and even where to find a good value for olive oil and vinegar. The rooms are very clean, the maid, (I didn't get her name, and I hate to call her the maid,) even left wine glasses in the room when she noticed we had a bottle of wine. She also ran and got us an extra chair when we were using the computer. She anticipated our every need. Rosanna, and Sabina were very attentive and helpful as well. In addition, the hotel is centrally located to the Accademia, Doumo and an easy walk to the Uffizi Gallery and other local sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to accomodate. Hotel Colomba Florence Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel Columba is an excellent value. Room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were great and but out an excellent breakfaste every morning. The hotel is in an excellent location within a short walk of everything you likely want to see in Florence. My only complaint was that the room was a little noisy at night. Some sort of machinery was running somewhere nearby. It wasn't so loud that it would wake you up, but it did make it a tiny bit difficult to fall asleep at times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to accomodate. Hotel Colomba Florence Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It is a family-run B&B and it has a great location with 5m walk to the centre, 2m to the Museo Academia (Statue of David-however i highly doubt if it is woth to give 11 euros for just to see one statue) and 10m to the train station. We had a warm and informative welcome and we were given a room upstairs in the apartment of the family. The room was facing backyard so we didnt suffer from any noise from the Street. The room was very clean. There was a variety of toileteries and they were put in abundance. The breakfast was continental and sufficient. The staff would even anticipate your need (new coffee, new plate) before you ask.
However, the stone floor was left bare without any carpet so it was too cold to step on it bare feet and it made the room quite cold as well. It would be better to have more than one electricity outlet too. The bathroom was a bit tiny and i didnt like the towels made from piece of cloth, I would prefer regular towels.
I would recommend it but i am not sure if i would visit again. The staff and location were great but they could invest a bit more in the rooms i think

Room Tip: A room facing backyard would save you from the noise of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Colomba, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to accomodate. Hotel Colomba Florence Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Colomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colomba

Address: Via Cavour, 21, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#40 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colomba 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colomba prefers the familiar look and aims to make travelers feel at home. the hotel staff is well prepared and ready to respond to all the needs of travelers. located in a central area of Florence, this hotel is also famous for its cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Colomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colomba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.