We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Panama to your Saves list
Hotel Panama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre, 80, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great hotel in an excellent location for exploring Florence (1 mile from the main centre). Room was clean and comfortable and it was nice to have use of a balcony (we had a room overlooking the courtyard). Staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the coffee and pastries at breakfast, although there was quite a limited choice if you didn’t have a sweet tooth!

Only two niggles: the shower in our en suite was tiny – it was a squash for me to shower, let alone my 6ft 3” husband! The rooms on the entry floor were very close to reception which meant that you could hear everything going on there. It wasn’t a major problem for us, but we were disturbed once or twice early morning and once late at night. Despite this, we would definitely be happy to return here on future visits, although would probably ask for a room on a higher floor!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard have a balcony. Rooms next to reception can be noisy, dependant on other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    126
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
156
34
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A clean, nice little hotel about two miles away from the city center. I had the room in the main house right next to the check-in counter, which could be loud in the mornings, but wasn't much of a problem. The bad part of this hotel is the big street going by out front. My room was facing the side alley and when the Italians go to work the like to honk quite a bit which caused me to wake up every morning around seven. So if you're thinking about staying there, which I would overall recommend (nice breakfast on the outside balcony), make sure to get a room facing to the courtyard. If the hotel is booked out as in my case and cannot offer you a quiet room, I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

On our third visit, having left my keys in London, it took Egino (Rossi) only two hours to trrack down a duplicate key to a 1980s Delsey case. We thoroughly endorse everything your other reviewers have written. The staff were incredibly helpful and even affectionate and the fact that they have been there for the last two years says everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in April, and encountered almost everyone working at the hotel, everyone without exception were extremely courteous and helpful. The house keeping was faultless. The city centre was a 10 minute brisk walk or a 20 minute stroll. Breakfast had a wide range, fruits, croissants, pies, cold cuts, cereals and juices. Might seem like asking for a lot but would have been great if they had some eggs. The owner Mr. Rossi who is sometimes at the desk is very accomodating and helpful. On the whole would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de David, Chiriqui, Panama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great attention, staff is very nice. Breakfast is included, free wifi . Rooms are espacious. Good location, a 20 min walk from downtown, There is a park in front of the hotel in case you want to go jogging, and an awesome restaurant at 200 meters

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your positive staying with us. Hotel Panama is located in a residential area long a small river and a jogging path. We are thrilled to know you loved it!

Looking forward to welcoming you back in Florence.

Kind regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilton, Oxfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Panama Hotel is a perfect place to stay for a visit to Florence. It is situated close to but not insinde the old part of the town. It takes about 10 - 15 minutes to walk to the main train station and to reach the Palazio Vecchio it takes about 20 - 25 minutes. The location means it is quiet and peaceful. The hotel itself is very, very well kept. The room was clean, tidy and well equipped. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There is a great breakfast buffet with many choices: cold meats, preserves, toast, pastries, cereal and marvelous coffee. The hotel consists of a main building and a separate annexe building. It is definitely a very good choice for a stay in Florence and I would certainly stay there again.
I arrived at around 12.20 in the afternoon and the room was already prepared and available. Staff at reception were really helpful, providing a map and other information. Their command of spoken English is really amazing. I recommend this hotel very much. It is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for spending your time in a so lovely review. We do appreciate when travellers share their positive experiences at Hotel Panama in Florence.

Your comment is a great source of motivation for all of us to offering our best services and improving every day a little more.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from the 11th to the 18th of December 2012 for our week's holiday in Florence. This was the second time that we had stayed in this great little hotel, so we knew that we would receive excellent service.

We were not disappointed. The accommodation as always was excellent, the buffet breakfast was filling, the hotel facilities were good. This time I particularly enjoyed the use of the free wi-fi provided, enabling me to keep in touch through my tablet computer. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were always ready with helpful advice.

Our room was a good size with a small balcony over-looking the rear courtyard and an excellent bathroom fitted with a shower. It was all cleaned to an excellent standard each day.

On our next visit to Florence we intend to return to stay at the same Hotel and thoroughly recommend it to all visitors. The distance to the main railway station is an easy 15/20 minute walk which we regard as a short stroll.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your precious time on a so nice Trip Advisor review.

We are glad to know your second stay with us was great again and we do appreciate you shared your extremely positive experience with other travelers and with us.

Florence is plenty of wonderful things to be visited! So start immediately planning your third visit, we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panama

Address: Via XX Settembre, 80, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALIZED IN A TYPICAL BUILDING OF THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY, CHARACTERIZED BY THE “HARD STONE” FAÇADE, THE HOTEL PANAMA HAS TWENTY REFINED AND SPACIOUS ROOMS, ELEGANTLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE MODERN COMFORTS, ESSENTIAL FOR A REFINED AND UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAY OR SUITABLE WHEN FACING AN IMPORTANT BUSINESS MEETING.IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE HOTEL PANAMA, ALONG THE WAY LEADING TO THE BUTTON HEART OF THE CITY, THERE ARE MANY TYPICAL RESTAURANTS AND CHARACTERISTIC BARS. THE CAR IS NO LONGER A PROBLEM, AS THE HOTEL ALSO OFFERS A PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.