We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Panama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Panama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Panama
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre, 80, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Chilton, Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A fantastic short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Panama Hotel is a perfect place to stay for a visit to Florence. It is situated close to but not insinde the old part of the town. It takes about 10 - 15 minutes to walk to the main train station and to reach the Palazio Vecchio it takes about 20 - 25 minutes. The location means it is quiet and peaceful. The hotel itself is very, very well kept. The room was clean, tidy and well equipped. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. There is a great breakfast buffet with many choices: cold meats, preserves, toast, pastries, cereal and marvelous coffee. The hotel consists of a main building and a separate annexe building. It is definitely a very good choice for a stay in Florence and I would certainly stay there again.
I arrived at around 12.20 in the afternoon and the room was already prepared and available. Staff at reception were really helpful, providing a map and other information. Their command of spoken English is really amazing. I recommend this hotel very much. It is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for spending your time in a so lovely review. We do appreciate when travellers share their positive experiences at Hotel Panama in Florence.

Your comment is a great source of motivation for all of us to offering our best services and improving every day a little more.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    120
    35
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
150
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from the 11th to the 18th of December 2012 for our week's holiday in Florence. This was the second time that we had stayed in this great little hotel, so we knew that we would receive excellent service.

We were not disappointed. The accommodation as always was excellent, the buffet breakfast was filling, the hotel facilities were good. This time I particularly enjoyed the use of the free wi-fi provided, enabling me to keep in touch through my tablet computer. The hotel staff spoke excellent English and were always ready with helpful advice.

Our room was a good size with a small balcony over-looking the rear courtyard and an excellent bathroom fitted with a shower. It was all cleaned to an excellent standard each day.

On our next visit to Florence we intend to return to stay at the same Hotel and thoroughly recommend it to all visitors. The distance to the main railway station is an easy 15/20 minute walk which we regard as a short stroll.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your precious time on a so nice Trip Advisor review.

We are glad to know your second stay with us was great again and we do appreciate you shared your extremely positive experience with other travelers and with us.

Florence is plenty of wonderful things to be visited! So start immediately planning your third visit, we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had to complete a late booking, so I arrive here with no reservation. I got a suite for 60 Euros including breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I never had this happening in Florence. The room was very large with a little balcony and its own full restroom. The room was very clean and well appointed and so was the restroom. Breakfast was Ok, not a large selection in terms of choices, but you cannot ask for heaven at this price!! Over all I recommend this place, 'cause of it's location that is few steps away from Florence Down Town. Additionally the place is very quite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review.
We are glad you appreciated all our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again back in Florence!

Best regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights. Our room had a walk out patio, and considering we were on the main floor I was surprised it was so quiet inside our room. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly staff who provided us with a map of Florence and gave us information on where to eat and sights to see. We continued to have positive experiences with staff throughout the 4 days we were there, in my opinion going above and beyond to help us out and provide us with information.

The room was clean, tasteful decor and surprisingly spacious for Europe! The shower was small compared to North American standards but you really can't expect otherwise in Italy.

The breakfast was similar to that of other hotels during our stay. There was a server preparing hot beverages which was nice (and better than the automated machines used at most of the other hotels) and they had a nice variety of fresh fruit.

It was steps away from a few bus routes, one which goes to and from the train station (about 3-5 minutes) and the train station was about a 15 minute walk. The hotel isn't located in the heart of the city but in my opinion that adds to the charm because there is far less noise and chaos. It is very close to walk to the sights and restaurants. We never took a cab - there was no need and everything is within walking distance.

I would go back to this hotel and would strongly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review.
We are very glad you have appreciated all our services.

It was a real pleasure to have you here with us and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your staying.

This means that our hard work has been definitely paid off as we continously try to improve our service and is a great source of motivation for our whole staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to go on a last minute attempt at some summer sun and where better to do it than Italy. Neither of us had been before but had heard great things about Florence from friends and decided that it was the perfect get away! We did a lot of research on potential Hotel's and Hotel Panama came up trumps given the sparkling reviews on tripadvisor and it's convenient location to all the top attractions.

We found the staff to be very personable and helpful from first walking through the doors - offering us a map of the city and suggestions of where to visit and how to get there. Our room was huge and clean with a double balcony overlooking the courtyard where we enjoyed some lovely wine in the evenings, a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of Florence itself. Breakfast was simple but effective offering an array of coffee's, tea's and juices as well as cereals, pastries, meats and yoghurts. The only negative about the hotel I can think of is the showers aren't very powerful / modern but we'd seen this on other reviews and it wasn't a problem but for those looking for the more luxurious touches it's something to bear in mind.

Would definately go back, and recommend to anyone who asked for suggestions. Thank you Hotel Panama!!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard as you will have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Hotel Panama. We were referred by friends and were very happy with their recommendation here.

Hotel staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. Helping us book reservations, call cabs and the like, they really were exceptional. The room was the most spacious room we had in our whole Italian trip. Great space for hanging and unpacking our items. We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the back courtyard, so nice and quiet. Bathroom was spacious, clean and very nice as well.

We were thrilled to have great wifi connection as it allowed us to facetime with our family and friends back home during the middle of our trip. The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the train station, or a quick and cheap taxi ride. We opted for the taxi ride both for arriving to and leaving the hotel. It is about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the main sights in Florence, we were happy to be outside of the hustle and bustle of Florence and just a nice walk away.

All around a great stay in Florence!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Proprietario at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our staff, we are very delighted to hear that you appreciated our services and enjoyed our suggestions.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in Florence!

Warm regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Close to London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Hotel Panama and found all the reception staff particularly friendly and helpful. We didn't mind the 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Florence as it gave the hotel a peaceful ambience, and with the manager's advice we got a bus back to the station (and its efficient left-luggage office) with our cases after checking out on the last day. The room was spacious, comfortable, well-furnished, clean and quiet, being in the small block at the back across a courtyard / small car park. I did get the odd insect bite but my husband didn't, and as I also got bitten in Pisa I would not think of blaming Florence or the hotel. There were certainly no bed bugs and the bedding was clean and warm. Although we didn't use the mini-bar for drinks we were able to put our own water and milk in there which was a bonus; the efficient safe was also very useful. The bathroom was small, especially the shower enclosure, but made up for it with plentiful hot water - we did miss having a plug for the washbasin and bidet though and with hindsight should have asked for one, as well as for the heat to the towel rail to be switched on to dry our clothes after we were caught in a torrential rain storm one night! My only other suggestion is a greater variety of bread for the otherwise very good breakfast. We would recommend the hotel as friendly and good value for Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you prefer it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Régis R, Direttore at Hotel Panama, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

We thank you for your kind words and we are very proud to know that you liked your stay and that you loved our beautiful city!

It was a real pleasure to welcome you in Florence and we hope to see you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Panama Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panama

Address: Via XX Settembre, 80, 50129 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
#155 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panama 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REALIZED IN A TYPICAL BUILDING OF THE EARLY 20TH CENTURY, CHARACTERIZED BY THE “HARD STONE” FAÇADE, THE HOTEL PANAMA HAS TWENTY REFINED AND SPACIOUS ROOMS, ELEGANTLY FURNISHED AND EQUIPPED WITH ALL THE MODERN COMFORTS, ESSENTIAL FOR A REFINED AND UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAY OR SUITABLE WHEN FACING AN IMPORTANT BUSINESS MEETING.IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE HOTEL PANAMA, ALONG THE WAY LEADING TO THE BUTTON HEART OF THE CITY, THERE ARE MANY TYPICAL RESTAURANTS AND CHARACTERISTIC BARS. THE CAR IS NO LONGER A PROBLEM, AS THE HOTEL ALSO OFFERS A PRIVATE AND SECURE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Hotel Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panama Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Panama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.