We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, friendly and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Cavalcanti to your Saves list
Relais Cavalcanti
Via Pellicceria 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap, friendly and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The B&B is clean, light and friendly, which is pretty much everything I want from a hotel. We stayed here because it was the most reasonably priced place we could find and the location was good, near the river and within easy walk of the main museums and galleries.
The rooms were big (we booked a double and a single) and the bathroom was fine. The rooms in fact are simple but very nice, high ceilings, shuttered windows and above all quiet, despite our rooms facing out onto the road with all the restaurants. The only slight downside was that the double bed was in fact 2 single beds pushed together.
There are about 20 steps up from the main door until you reach the lift and then a further 3 or so steps. The lift is also quite small and 4 people without luggage was a very tight squeeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    54
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
38
105
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A fantastic, family-run hotel/B&B in the exciting. center of Florence. The rooms were comfortable and so beautifully decorated. Love the well supplied breakfast room where we met interesting folk from around the world. Anna, Francesca, and Junco were the most helpful hosts!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Anna and Francesca were fabulous hosts.The rooms were immaculate and extremely well presented and beautifully decorated. Although breakfast is not provided a variety of food and drink is on offer in a lovely dining room area, complete with kitchen essentials should you need them. Everyone was extremely helpful especially Anna, providing maps, recommendations and local information. We had a fabulous stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Florence, basing ourselves at Relais Calvacanti. We recieved a very warm welcome and were immediately given lots of information about the surrounding area. When you book it says that 'no breakfast is served' however you are provided with a beautiful breakfast room with plenty of breakfast goods, pastries, drinks and cakes which can be accessed at anytime of the day.
Our bedroom was gorgeous, very clean, spacious and welcoming. This B&B is in the perfect location to get around all of Florence. Very close to the Ponto Vecchio, the Duomo and much more! We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose this place because of other TA reviews and couldn't have been happier. Great location in the very heart of ancient Florence. Building is not well labelled but it's right next door to the Irish Pub. You just need to read the door sign carefully - Relais is identified on the list of occupants.

Rooms are very good size (biggest on our short European tour) with great bathroom attached. Staff are great and very helpful. We even got given a great map of Florence with restaurants, supermarkets and places of interest all identified - very helpful, we used it the whole time we were there. Staff also helped book a taxi when we left and were very happy to do so. Nothing was too much effort.

Only minor disappointment was that no breakfast was available but so many places nearby, it's not an issue.

Prices are a definitely not budget but worth every cent / euro. Will definitely stay there again on our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

5 nights in this hotel was more than enough to sing its praises. Great location, clean, very friendly and casual services. The help yourself kitchen facility and sitting rooms made you feel that were in a friend's home and not in a hotel. Very recommended

Room Tip: Side rooms are a little cheaper as they offer less of a view but the views are very minimal anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by how much we really liked the Relais Cavalcanti after reading some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. The place was beautifully decorated. The central location was fantastic, it was a short walk to anywhere. Although there was no official "Breakfast", breakfast type snacks were available 24/7. Owner was very accommodating and pleasant. The air conditioning was comfortable and the shutters on the windows ensured darkness and quiet until we were ready to awake each morning.

The Wi-Fi reception was spotty due to unplugged modems. The recommended restaurant we attempted to visit required reservations weeks in advance. It was hard to find and get into the building when we arrived.


Concerns addressed:
Stairs: yes, you must climb a few stairs to get to the elevator, really was not a problem.
Oder: yes, a slight musty odor in a few areas, but this place was built in the Renaissance.

These slight problems were more than overcome by the location and other benefits. I would return. Don't worry about the lame criticism.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Cavalcanti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.