We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puzzled” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Lounge Bar

Brown Sugar Lounge Bar
Piazza Di San Firenze, 5r, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 217031
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Brown Sugar Lounge Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $29 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Florence, Toscana, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Puzzled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited this place for the first time in Oct 2012 and loved the food so much that I decided to write a review and gave this restaurant a 5 star!

But, to my astonishment, I was back at this restaurant in February 2013 and the food was awful. I mean really awful. We both ordered pasta dishes and couldn't finish both of our dishes. The pasta came with just noodles and tasteless sauce. Very very disappointed. The menu was also a lot more limited as compared to the first time.

Could it be that this restaurant change its chef?

I really liked the food on my first visit and I really hope that they gain back their quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    61
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This review is long overdue, but has been etched in my mind and memory of our great Italy vacation in the summer of 2012

We had lunch here as a break from shopping. The manager Bessi welcomed us very warmly and made sure we were happy with the food, which was simply delicious by the way. A great restaurant in a great convenient location. Highy recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,094 reviews 1,094 reviews
808 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
607 helpful votes 607 helpful votes
“Breakfast bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Brown Sugar is part of the San Firenze Spa and open for food all day however we sampled the their excellent breakfast. All fresh as the morning croissants cappuccino freshly squeezed Orange juice York ham mortadella and local cheese, top drawer!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“They don't do DINNER??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Am confused after having just visited Brown Sugar, because they do not do food. I read all the good reviews of this place and the nice food they do but the only thing on offer was booze. If you want dinner, this is not the place to visit. Don't get me wrong, it is a very nice place with lovely staff, and i did stay and have 2 beers, but if you're hungry, go to the Chinese restaurant next door, it's pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth Finding - Absolutely Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant over the summer with 2 kids in tow. The people were lovely, the food was fantastic and the service was stellar. I'd highly recommend if you are looking for something a little more upscale.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Sugar Lounge Bar also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Brown Sugar Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Lounge Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.