We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Dali to your Saves list
Hotel Dali
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dell'Oriuolo 17, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and we couldn't have found a better hotel in Florence. This was our first time in Florence and we were looking for something in a good location for a decent price and this hotel was far beyond our expectations. The location is amazing, just down the street form the Duomo (1 min walk) and easily accessible to all other sites in this amazing city. We stayed in 2 different rooms throughout our stay. For the first night we stayed in a room without a bathroom and the next 4 nights in a room with a bathroom. After staying in both rooms its clear the hotel has put a lot of effort in the small touches that go into making this hotel the value that it is. If you are in a room without a bathroom there are 2 shared bathrooms, which were both extremely clean and well kept. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the windows do a great job of keeping out the outside noise (the street can get a bit noisy on weekend nights). As great as the rooms were, the hotel staff are truly what made our stay as wonderful as it was. Peter and Marco are extremely attentive and kind. They assisted us in booking reservations for the Uffizi Gallery and to see The David, they gave us suggestions on how to get around the city and of some things to do that may be off the beaten path, and they gave us the best suggestions for restaurants in Florence (I have never eaten so good in my life). If you're looking for a hotel in Florence and have come across Hotel Dali, just stop and book this hotel.....now! I couldn't imagine a better stay! When we return to Florence (hopefully soon) we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    156
    51
    13
    3
See reviews for
71
262
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A nice and cheap place to stay with a great location in Firenze. The people at the front desk where helpful and welcoming. There is no breakfast, but you don't want to waste time in the hotel when there is so many good places to eat in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is an affordable and comfortable option for a stay in Florence. We came directly from Venice and the vibrant heart of Florence was almost shocking and yet invigorating. Steps from the famous Duomo is Hotel Dali. This was a Rick Steeves pick and I noted that as well as being less expensive, the proprietors were very helpful to guests. Both sounded good to me.
Both husband and wife are lovely but we saw more of Marco. Before we arrived, he booked tickets for us to the Acadamie and the Uffiz Gallery. This is a must if you plan to see these wonderful galleries as they sell out. There was no charge by Hotel Dali for this service. It is just part of what they do. He also provided train information for Naples and alerted us to an open cellar weekend in the Chianti region which were both very helpful.
The big obvious disadvantage to Hotel Dali is no ensuite toile/shower. Every room has a sink. They only have ten rooms and two bathrooms. We stayed three nights and never had to wait. So it was not bad at all. The other potential negative is no breakfast provided. The Hotel Dali is much too small to start preparing and serving breakfast although there is a coffee maker and goodies in a basket in your room so you can make do with that.
Marco sent us to one of his favourite local cafes where mainly Florentines came for their morning cappuccino. Affordable! Coffee and pastries were great. This turned out to be one of our fave times of the day. Florence has lots of nice cafes. We had a few we expecially liked in the short time we were there and showed our preference by returning. We were always rememvbered.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room away from the traffic as Rick Steeeves suggests. We did not do that and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Marco was extremely helpful, location is absolutely perfect and hotel had a fabulous Florence charm. No hesitations in recommending this hotel. Just use the mosquito zappers in your room and also, if you are driving, make sure you let them know your registration as the hotel is in the Limited Traffic Zone. Car park entrance is extremely tight so make sure you have a small car.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel but welcoming and friendly. Well organised with Marco sorting our permits for driving into central Florence zone immediately on our arrival. Entry to parking very narrow so hire a little car if you're not great at manoeuvres! No breakfast but very well located and we would definitely recommend this place to budget travellers with high standards!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel is within a stones throw of the Duomo and also offered private parking. Service was fantastic and very friendly, showing us all the best places to visit and super helpful in returning a left mobile phone (Marco you're a saint)! Family room was good, comfortable and quiet and overlooked the courtyard. A very nice and memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel Dali is central to the Duomo and is a fairly easy walk to the major sights. The elevator worked the first time we used it but didn't for the rest of our three-night stay, and with luggage that would be an awkward climb up two curving sets of stairs.

Our room was large with a desk and wardrobe. The bed was a bit stiff and the pillows quite thin; even with two underneath our heads, the sleep quality wasn't great. There is no A/C so it gets a bit warm, even with the provided. There is a minifridge but ours had a bit of a rotting smell. The bathroom was about a standard size for Europe. It was decently clean, though not impeccable and smelled a little odd.

On the second night, about 9:30 p.m., someone started knocking on the front door of the hotel. When the knocking didn't get an answer (the receptionist leaves at about 7?), the knocking turned into pounding...then ringing the doorbell...then kicking...and more banging. It was annoying at first and then it got a little unnerving. This lasted for about 20 minutes. There is a sign on the door for patrons to phone Marco if they are locked out or arrive after hours, so I'm not sure what the incident was about.

The breakfast was disappointing, to say the least--packaged croissants, packaged toast and instant coffee. If I'd known about the breakfast and bathroom, and the incident, I would not have chosen to stay here. It was fine for a short stay and for our budget, but I wouldn't stay again or recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room next to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Dali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dali

Address: Via Dell'Oriuolo 17, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Florence
#98 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dali 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dal� is located in an old palace owned by the Marquis Frescobaldi, renowned by name to Italians and to wine producers worldwide. The hotel's peaceful setting is centrally located within old town Florence on Via dell'Oriuolo ("The Clock Road" in ancient Florentine). This little cobblestone road is still filled with "botteghe" (artisan shops), where carpenters, jewellers and frame-makers can be found at work. Marco and Samanta, a very nice couple native to Florence and experts in providing unparalleled comfort and service, manage the hotel. Their welcome will make you feel at home. They will be happy to help you by offering nice suggestions that will enhance your experience of the true Florentine style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dali Hotel Florence
Hotel Dali Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.