We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Welcoming & Homey Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Berna to your Saves list
Hotel Berna
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Largo Fratelli Alinari, 11 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #182 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Very Welcoming & Homey Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After Rome, our next stop was in Florence, Italy. I was impressed by the great location of this hotel. It was highly accessible from the train station so it won't be a problem for you and your huge luggage. Plus, you have a great view from the room's balcony. We were greeted warmly by one of the hotel's receptionist Francesca! I love the staff here at Hotel Berna which makes your stay in Florence more unforgettable.

I love their generous serving of buffet breakfast. Great service!

However, I am not that pleased with the room's interior deco. The bathroom is not that spacious. And I don't like the room fragrance. But who cares, you're in Florence, Italy, and you're there for the great experience, exploring the beautiful city! :)

P.S. There's a nearby famous 'mercato' for leather products, only in Florence! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We always try to make your stay special for our customers, because your smile and your satisfaction rewards us for every effort and every sacrifice.
Your kindness and your joy may still accompany our memories! ...
interesting ... not to mention the coffee breaks :-)

Know that you have appreciated our work is rewarding and encourages us to get better and better.
We always try to make the stay of our guests a special experience and knowledge to have achieved this goal makes us really happy.

PS for the scent, I promise we will change the fragrance :)
A super hug
Francesca & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    88
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
42
110
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I had a very small window to visit Florence as we were traveling from Paris to Civitavecchia for a connection with a cruise.

Fortunately, we had booked our stay at the Hotel Berna. We were so impressed with Francesca and her excellent staff. On arrival, we were treated like welcome guests rather than customers. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful stay. Our room was well equipped and comfortable. As we were train passengers (arriving and departing) the closeness to the station made the Hotel Berna a logical choice. We will definitely stay there again when we return for a longer visit to Florence. Many thanks again, Francesca!

Room Tip: There are a very limited number of rooms. From our discussions with others in the (marvellous!) bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Woew! Many thank's for your kind words!
So you must be back...and we will look forward to see you sooner...


Bye Bye
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay close to the train station, by chance came across this location. Fabulous hosts, had a Boutique hotel feel to it, extremely friendly, cozy but not crowded, and inviting. Hotel is an a building that looks like a office building and the hotel is located on the third floor of the building, so was a little "hard to find" but once we found it we felt like we were at home. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many many thank's!
It's always a pleausure to know you feel at home. Our Hotel is like a 2ns house for everybody.

So you must be back soon....

Arrivederci,
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked with Hotel Berna three weeks before arriving on Feb 13. because their pictures online really attracted my attention and the location is very good. When we arrived in Florence Central Station, we found everything true. The distance to the train station is just as described online. The rooms are more beautiful than the pictures. And the lovely Francesca(receptionist) brought us more sunshine! I immediately decided to stay for two more nights till 18th, and Francesca helped us with it and we only had to change room for once. The breakfast was another bonus. The food was fresh. The service was warm. And the tiny breakfast room was so cozy that made us feel like home. Even till today, I cannot forget about this lovely experience. I think I will go back and I will definitely choose to stay with Hotel Berna again!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms...but I cannot remember the number. First in a triple, but used as double. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, RECEPTION at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
....and excellent customer!
It's always nice to meet new people, and know that you did a god job.
It was a pleasure for us and we really hope to meet you again in a future .


Arrivederci,
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel Berna is in an excellent location if, like us, you only have a one day stop in Florence. It was a very short walk from the train station and an easy walk to the main sights of Florence. It has a little lift to take you up (only one at a time with luggage) and the Hotel only takes up one floor of the building, so it is a cosy little place. You are greeted like an old friend by Francesca who made us feel very welcome and helped us negotiate the lift with our luggage storing it for us while we set out to explore the city until our room was ready. The room was very brightly decorated, with perhaps a little bit too much furniture as there was not a lot of room for the four of us in the family room (we did have a lot of luggage though!). There were lots of thoughtful touches, such as slippers, toothbrushes and all you might need for your stay. The breakfast room was small and cosy and the breakfast was very good. Francesca was probably the highlight for us though, we appreciated her local knowledge, her willingness to help and her excellent sense of humour!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, receptionist at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Many many thnak's for your kind words!
We always hope to do a good job and for us it is very important that you feel at home.
We are a small family structure, where you can find all...good friends, good atmosphere, good breakfast....

See you soon....
Francesca & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakkum Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel Berna is a very comfortable hotel with unique old world charm in furniture - when each room is unique. It offers value that is similar to a 5 star hotel and as such it has a superior value for your money. Francesca was very kind and helpful. We enjoyed our stay a great deal and are very happy to recommend this hotel. It is located within a walking distance to Florence main train station, a great plus if you are on a short visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are very happy to know that our new hotel she loved it and, even more, that the kindness and helpfulness of our staff to have left a sweet memory.
In the end this is our goal to make your experience special.
A gentle hug,

Thank you again!
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Berna is very close to Florence train station and historic center, walk distance. The owner is very helpful and can tell where to find the best gelato, the best places to visit, etc... Hotel Berna is a very good value hotel. I will be back to this hotel.
The external view is not great, do not worry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest ,
thank you so much for your review and for your kind words.
It has been a great pleasure for us to welcome you during your honeymoon.
This is a special moment in the life and we are very pleased that you have chosen us for this.
We wish you a wonderful life and look forward to welcoming you again in our b / b.
Kindest regards.
Francesca & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari, 11 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's easy to fall in love with Florence, and it's inevitable that you will fall in love with the 2-star Hotel Berna.It will be the lovely rooms and friendly hospitality; it will be its convenience to Santa Maria Novella train station; it will be because this hotel makes a stay in Florence for work or pleasure even more pleasant.Whether your favorite sights are the fascinating Galleries of the Accademia, or the fun boutiques on the shopping streets of the town center, Hotel Berna in Florence makes them easier to reach than ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.