We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa La Sosta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa La Sosta to your Saves list
Villa La Sosta
Via Bolognese 83, 50139 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had a lovely stay in Florence and stayed at Villa La Sosta for 3 nights. Antonio was really helpful in highlighting on the map he provided good places to see and nice places to eat and we followed his advice closely and ate really well the whole time. We quickly got the hang of catching the bus to town and back although we did walk on occasions, which was fine but tiring at the end of a long day. It was nice to come back to the villa and relax in the garden and we ate breakfast there every day as well. He also organised a brilliant walking tour for us with his cousin which we would highly recommend - really informative in a relaxed and fun way.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    35
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
76
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

A wonderful place to stay. This old Villa has everything. Stay in old fashioned style. The owners cannot do enough to help you. Room even had anti-mossie plugs. Use the bus to get to San Marco square and walk your socks off around Florence from there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Villa La sosta was a nice place to stay. We stayed only a night before moving onto our pre-booked hotel in the centre of town. Very pretty villa with a lovely garden and nice room with a view. Good continental style breakfast. There's a gorgeous enclosed terrace kind of room with large glass windows.

Downside - a bit far from town, about a 30 min walk. There's a bus stop right outside but no buses ply after 10 or 11 pm so we had to walk one night after a late dinner and it is uphill towards the last 10 minutes! So if you havea car, its better.

We found the siblings who run it to be a bit impersonal unlike the other B&Bs. But this may just be our experience and also since we stayed only 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at Villa La Sosta.

The villa is set on a hill a short distance from central Florence. It is easily walkable, although in the heat it is sometimes better to take the bus. The villa is easy to find and there is safe, free parking available on site.

Antonio was very friendly and extremely helpful during our stay. He provided a map with recommended restaurants all marked out for us and suggested places we might like to see. We were even invited to have join the party and watch the football with Antonio and his family when Italy was playing in the World Cup. Antonio speaks pretty good English, which made things a lot easier for us.

Our room was large, comfortable, and clean. We enjoyed taking breakfast in the garden and appreciated the water cooler that was provided for guest use.

If you are in Florence, with a car, Villa La Sosta is a very good option.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Villa La Sosta for 3 nights while visiting Florence and consider it the most comfortable of all the places we stayed over our 2 week vacation. Guisy is the owner, a warm and friendly hostess who makes you feel right at home. The villa is a beauty,nicely set back from the main road, with the family living space in the downstairs area and the rooms one floor above. On the top floor there is a "terrace", which is a lovely glassed-in room with comfortable couches, a large TV with international channels, and a great view of their garden and the surrounding countryside. Our room was very large and the bed very cozy, softer than the other hotel beds we encountered. We had plenty of space for our belongings, with a nice shuttered window overlooking a lush garden. The bathroom had a huge counter space with 2 sinks and a great shower. Someone freshened up our room and bathroom daily. The weather was cool and the heat, provided by radiators, was wonderful. Breakfast is the standard packaged meats, cheeses, and pastries, but plentiful and served at a huge communal dining table where we had the fun of meeting other quests each morning. Guisy provided us with a good map for our travels and was a friendly resource for us, even letting me use her own computer to contact home by e-mail. Her dining recommendations, 2 restaurants in the immediate area, were terrific. Excellent food. The location of Villa La Sosta is slightly outside of the city center, but is located right on a bus route (the stop is right in front) that takes you straight into Piazza San Marco, a short walk from major sites. It is also walkable, but we saved our legs on this part. Staying in this lovely and quiet spot outside of the tourist crush felt like we returning home every night - a warm and welcoming oasis.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Ditto to the other review dated October 2008 since we are the other couple who traveled with Bob & Renee. If you have a car it is one of the few places you have free parking within the city limits. This is an exceptional B&B and the hosts are the best!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Florence to stay at Villa La Sosta for one week. We had a great trip overall, so let us give you what we figured out over there.

We rented a car at the airport to drive around the Tuscany area, along with our trip to the Coast and Rome. The Villa has free parking with it, which is a huge plus for Florence.

The villa is located on the north end of Florence, up a slight hill off of a main street. You would not think it is there as it is behind a large iron gate, the villa is up a slight grade, and is back from the road surrounded by trees and plant life. This helps as you tend to forget you are in a big city. Also keeps the street noise to a minimum. However, getting to the center of Florence can be tricky. You can take the bus, which is on a weird schedule, and it will really only get you there half way, but only costs 1.20 euro, or you can walk about 20-25 minutes to the city center. We are young, so we did not mind the walk, but older folks may. You can get the bus from the city and get dropped very close to the Villa.

This is not your typical isolated out in the country type Villa you may be thinking of.

We had a room on the top floor, with a balcony. The room was large, had AC, but also very simple and plain which was nice. No tv, but there is one upstairs if you really need it. The bathroom was large, plenty of room and was cleaned up daily. Free wireless internet as well!!!!

Antonio, our host was great. When we arrived he got us dialed in on Florence, provided a map, and gave recommendations for dining in Florence.

Breakfast was provided each morning, again very plain, but it does the job, various meets, cheeses, breads, pastries, cereal, tea, coffee and juice. Menu never changed, but we ate it for a week and it was fine.

We did do the wine tour, with just us two and one other guest and it was flat out AMAZING. It is pricy, do not get me wrong, but we did the "non-touristic" day and it was amazing. We drank a ton of wine, had an amazing lunch, great views, great company, a certain highlight of our trip. We did book this in advance. We even stayed out late through dinner and got back around 1200am!!!!

We were able to see all of Tuscany for our week. Our hosts were so inviting and fun, we had an amazing time. We were given some very unique opportunities by Antonio, as we were staying for a long time and we got along well, that I cannot get into, but we were able to do more "non-touristic" and live life like the Italians stuff than probably most who who up, and this is all thanks to our hosts.

The Villa may strike you differently when you first get there as not being what you expected, but give it time, get to know the people and you will find it to be a special place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa La Sosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Sosta

Address: Via Bolognese 83, 50139 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Class Bed and Breakfast nearby the Florence historical center, located in a 19th century Villa immersed in the green of one of the most charming Florentine residential areas. Villa la Sosta is the ideal place for visiting Florence and its surroundings, staying in an atmosphere of tranquillity and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa La Sosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa La Sosta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.