We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gelato in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sorbettiera

La Sorbettiera
P.zza T.Tasso, 11/r, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 512 0336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,973 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: "Vi mostriamo come si fa" è il nostro slogan. Gelateria artigianale di lunga tradizione, produciamo giornalmente nel nostro laboratorio a vista un gelato di qualità, anche senza glutine. Il gelato alla frutta è privo di lattosio e derivati del latte, preparato prevalentemente con frutta fresca di stagione. Ogni gusto è studiato nei minimi particolari. E poi.....Frappè, frullati, semifreddi.....e tanto altro. Cono o coppetta? Specialità: Crema antica, Catrame (cioccolato fondente), cacio e pere, ricotta, caprino, pistacchio, nocciola e tanto altro!
Sheffield, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This gelateria is a 5-10 minute walk from the Palazzo Pitti and Santo Spirito but worth it (think of it as burning off some of the calories from the ice-cream!). The piazza it's on was buzzing with locals chatting and kids playing football late afternoon, but don't let the atmosphere distract you or you'll miss the gelateria which is just a hole in the wall type place. The gelato was lovely and creamy - our favourite in Florence. The Salted Caramel is as tasty as everyone says it is, but also very good are Cookie and Chai Tea Latte (which my husband says was a genius idea!).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    28
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Setubal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“best ever, no doubt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

last year we went to rome and then i said: best gelato ever!!!
nothing like coming to Florence and realizing how wrong i was!!
La Sorbttiera is the place i will recomend to anyone traveling to Tuscany and hopefully we will come back one day!
Salted Caramel is one you can't miss, but they are all great and you can even ask to try a spoon of one or 2 flavours... i even tried asking in italian, but english was fine too. (chocolate is so tastyyy... and mulberry - gelso in italian nhammy) Nothing to compare with those artigianale on the streets os firenze! Believe the reviews... it's really THAT good! (this coming from a lactose intolerant that is willing to take risks once in a while...)
What we did was, got on the bus nº13 back to town from Piazzale michelangelo and exited on Piazza T.Tasso. When facing the garden - your backside to the main road) it's on your right side then just go along the sidewalk. It's a tiny winy counter with such tresors inside! We enjoyed ours seating in the garden and went for a repeat!!! it was our last day in firenze!!!)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in Florence (maybe all of Italy?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Well, technically it's tied for the best with Cantina del Gelato, but it turns out both establishments have the same supplier and serve the same ice cream. The owner at La Sorbettieria is very friendly and speaks excellent English, and part of the fun of going there is seeing what new flavors are available, as a couple of the flavors change daily. La Sorbettieria was our local haunt while we lived for three weeks in Florence, and on an academic trip a bit later, I brought a group of 20 college students there to taste it for themselves. Every single one of them proclaimed it the best gelato they'd found in Italy. Friendly service, generous servings, fair prices, and incredibly good ice cream—it's the total package. Try a waffle cone with salted caramel, caffe and buontalenti as your three scoop combo.
One note on location: Google Maps has it wrong, so if you're looking for it on your iPhone, note that it's along the wall on the Tasso square, right between two of the trattorias. Look for the awning directly across from one of the soccer courts and you've found it. Closed on Wednesdays.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Total delusion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm a great fan of ice creams and her products. and so i decided to look on tripadvisor what are the best places. i wish i couldn't do it after walking for 30minutes we found it. Was nothing special the same think or maybe better for sure u can find it in a lot of places.
Nit even economicly.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Brilliant gelato & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

If only this gelato store was closer to our hotel we would be here twice a day! Instead we visited it after Gusta Pizza & it topped off a lovely meal
The guy serving was fantastic & we sampled a few flavours before making our choice. My boyfriend said the banana flavour was his favourite. The caramel salt, hazenlnut & a special Firenze cream flavour were the others we chose & we did not regret it. Brilliant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sorbettiera also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Sorbettiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sorbettiera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.